Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fav 80's Saints Player?

1st and 10 and Frank Facer - I did not realise that it was Geoff Selby , as you said , far too young .

Getting back to that 85 decider were a couple of incidents that still rile me . Andrew Farrar coming in late to knock the daylights out of Michael O'Conner , very late indeed .
As our goal kicker he was a marked man unfortunately . And the way that Craig Young just could not get into stride . A direct result of some heavy marking by the Canterbury prop
* * * * Kelly . But as you mentioned with no fresh reserves we were up against it from the start .

1st & 10

Thanks mate - I love history.

I recall dad said something similar about Sheridan stand and there were a lot of protests at the time.

The old SCG scoreboard should be in a museum (lord knows there's enough crap in them) - now that scoreboard ....that is a real monument with real memories - Bradman, Saints 11 in a row etc etc to Name a few Australian sporting moments to have graced the old lady.

Unfortunately it is now a concrete jungle. Take those beautiful old stands out and its horrible

Frank Facer

When at the scg, we had a team song, sung by a female "we tackle hard we tackle strong"......
We tackle hard we tackle strong and
When at the scg, we had a team song, sung by a female "we tackle hard we tackle strong"......
I just thought of another one. Say if we were beating Easts well

Can you hear the Roosters sing

No, No

Can you hear the Roosters sing

I can't hear a f***ing thing.

gregstar

Billy Noke was killing it in 1985, but he never regained that kind of form
Because he loved food. His nickname was "box" because he ate the pizza & its box.

In '86 he turned into a fat merkin.

A real shame because he was tremendous in the lower grades in '84 & was dally m second rower of the year in '85.

1st & 10

Because he loved food. His nickname was "box" because he ate the pizza & its box.

In '86 he turned into a fat merkin.

A real shame because he was tremendous in the lower grades in '84 & was dally m second rower of the year in '85.

Noke played well with the Broncos in 1988 and even goal kicked

Greame Wynn playing for wests reserve grade was weird looking in the early 90s

In 1988 -89 we did our Qld and Country drive via the external and internal draft

It was billed as the external draft CLEAN out

From the country and QLD players picked up from the external draft

Chris Cordner (boyds dad)
Bert Gordon.
Clinton Mohr
Trevor Crow
Trevor Bailey
Shane Kelly
Jason Hoogerwerf
Mark Coyne
Peter Gill
Rex Terp
Colbert brothers
Peter Gentle - England

From internal draft
Paul Upfield Illawarra
Mick Potter Canterbury
Gary Longhurst Penrith
peter Spring Illawarra
Brett Clarke Wests / England
Sean Townsend Manly
Shaun o Brien. Wests

The 89 Presidents cup team was very good with Cameron Wade, Kurt landers, Paul Danes, Troy hodges etc

Some good players came out of this crop. Obviously Coyne, but Gill, Crow and Bailey were the goods . Mohr great pace, Bert Gordon reliable winger

Then came the turn of the decade and the signings of Offiah, Gourlay, Bradley,Barnhill, the coming of age of Priddle and addition of peter Coyne and Goldthorpe. You have a two time grand final side on your hands.

The 1992 SG ball side, which I love bragging beat all who came forth and smashed the Dogs 22-0 in the GF as the curtain raiser to SOO 3 in Sydney

A slow reconstruction, based on looking under rocks no one else looked under. The result was 4 GFs in the 90s, two we should have definitely won

Sheridan Stand

yep.

he was head-hunted by them in '84.
he said he stayed because he was offered the kicking - but it was the import rule.

i posted this a little while ago;

michael o'connor was a devastating loss in my books.

however we lost so much reliable lower grade talent from 83-85 who went on to perform wonderfully at other clubs.

in 84-85 our club was head & shoulders above the others by a country mile in depth.
if it hadn't been for an eric grothe try in the final, we would have had all three grades in grand finals 2 years in a row. As such, parra rolling us in that 84 final robbed the lower grades of their regular players who were ineligible to play.

over the next 2 years (86-87) there was a steady flow of retiring experienced players & talented players leaving who could have helped develop the lower grades coming through. we lost so much reliable lower grade talent who had their best years in front of them.

an example; we had the gun player of the presidents cup in marc glanville & let him leave. we kept graeme wynn who by the end of '86 was a semen stain.

the heart of the club was torn out. the players signed (such as steve robinson) did not in any way compensate for this. players such as linnane, noke, funnell, kinchella, burgess etc were unable to reach the heights they could have because the experience of gearin, rogers, johnson, walsh, jarvis, o'grady, morris, haddock & stone retired or left. and the likes of gavin allen & johns who were tremendous young first graders went on to shine at other clubs. or in chris guider's case, went to la la land.

subsequently, 86-90 were the gomer years. the disappointment i felt was paralyzing. in fact i still get sad at the memory of it. we went from such strength to pure geniuss.

however, last year under jowls was the single worst year of footy i have ever witnessed by our club
Great post

2011-16 equals the 86-90 era for mediocrity and further decaying and crumbling of our mighty empire.

2017 - we will see. The passion last week was long overdue and let's see if they hold it together now and at least make the play offs

Wow just making the playoffs now seems to be success.

Saint_JimmyG

Great post

2011-16 equals the 86-90 era for mediocrity and further decaying and crumbling of our mighty empire.

2017 - we will see. The passion last week was long overdue and let's see if they hold it together now and at least make the play offs

Wow just making the playoffs now seems to be success.

As the period 1986-'91 was played under the old "final five" system, I'd strongly argue that 2012-2017 is every bit as bad, if not worse considering the Dragons haven't looked close to finishing that high up the ladder.

denis preston

Masters a great motivating coach but that can get you so far. He got outfoxed by Warren Ryan in 85 big time. Their backline offside all day and just asking for a couple of diagonal kicks over their heads for the speedy Morris , but not one.

blacksafake

I remember that 1984 semi final of Saints vs Souths. I was sitting or standing at the top left hand corner of the Sheridan Stand with the St George outlaws. The way I recalled, Craig Young uppercutted (if there is such a word) Craig Coleman as he played the ball. Next thing, one of the best all in brawls I have ever seen began. Players were punching on all across the field. I think Graham Wynn was fighting 2 Souths players at once. The St George Outlaws got the St George chant going and we were all cheering like mad. It is one of my fondest memories of being at a game. We went on to win the game too. Souths did have a tough pack back in those day, players like Davidson, Fenech, Tony and Dean Rampling were probably playing that day. The next day the newspapers reported that the crowd was booing the fight. That was BS.

I would love to get a recording of that game. If anyone can direct me as to how or where to find one, it would be much appreciated.

While on the topic of old games. I would like to get a hold of a few or a lot other games from 83 to 85. The St George v Balmain Anzac day at Kogarah game in 84 or 83 is one I would like to get. At this game, at the end of the minute silence, Skull yelled out "Let the war begin", people could hear it from the other side of the ground. We went on to rack up 40 plus points against Balmain that day. Any of the games in 83 when we went on a massive winning streak to make the play off for 5th spot and the play off against Easts I would like. I think it was the last premiership game of 84 we smashed Parra, scoring 30 plus points. I think it was 32. There was another game against Parra around that time, it could have been an Anzac day game at Kogarah, the place was packed to the max. I think crowd was 23 000 or so. People were sitting on top of the toilet blocks, that is another I would like to get. The game against Balmain at Leichardt is another game I would love to watch again. It was a top of the table clash and Leichardt was packed to the max, I am pretty sure the crowd figure was around the 23 000 mark to and that was not counting everyone that jumped the fence. I think a lot of younger fans will have trouble believing that they got 23 000 people into Kogarah or Leichardt. I recall Brookvale oval having crowd of 28 000 or so in the early to mid 1980's too. Probably Many v Parra. Those were good times.
Thanks for that Frank, I've always wondered who called that out after the minute silence.Should have known it would of been him lol.

blacksafake

Souths actually had brawls in 3 consecutive games in 1984. lol First against Canberra in the play off for 5th spot. Then against Manly in the first week of the semis and then against St George, where they got knocked out of the semis.

Check these ones out on Youtube

INSANE FIGHT Newtown and Manly all in brawl.

The Fibro's and the Silvertails. This is a great video, everyone should watch it. I am pretty sure you will all get a laugh out of it too.

Rugby League BBR 1980

If someone would like to provide links that would be even better, but I don't know how to do it.
Souths starting fights in the eighties, who'd have thought that:)

blacksafake

I'd say with a fair amount of certainty that Larry Cowora had Morris covered for pace.

As Roberts has already rejected overtures to join SGI, It's most unlikely he will change his mind.
Larry would have him covered after about 60 metres but up to there i reckon slippery. I remember playing against Larry one day & took an intercept on halfway on the other side of the field & he had me covered in about 20 metres with his long strides lol.

1st & 10

Masters a great motivating coach but that can get you so far. He got outfoxed by Warren Ryan in 85 big time. Their backline offside all day and just asking for a couple of diagonal kicks over their heads for the speedy Morris , but not one.

I remember my father saying we will loose, as soon as Kevin Roberts was announced referee during the week prior

I don't believe masters was outfoxed, mistakes made with no fresh reserves (victim of our own success). However the dogs were very dirty that day and were not punished by Roberts

Frank Facer

Jason hoogerworth
Personally I thought Craig Young was a bit over rated. He did not look to to too many hit ups, his tackle count was hardly ever that high. I will say that he was playing very good football in 1985.

I remember Hoogerworth, he was a very good young tough prop. I recall there was a time when Craig Young was out injured and we had Jason Hoogerworth and Paul Osborne as our two props, Hoogerworth was a rookie and Osborne may have been a rookie too or in his second year of first grade. Well I recall Hoogerworth saying that they played a team and the opposition forwards put it over Hoogerworth and Osborne, but when they played the same team again later in the year with Young in the team, the opposition forwards were much more well behaved. So there is obviously a lot that goes on, on the field that myself and others don't see or notice.

I remembers seeing footage of Young in the 70's, he was slimmer and more agile and was very good then. He went on 2 Kangaroo tours. In 1982/83 he was regarded as the King of props. I think that is what the 1982 or 83 footy card said about him.

Frank Facer

I have to include Graham Wynn and Chris Walsh in my favourite 80's players.

Wynn could be devastating on his day, but he used to give away a lot of stupid penalties and make some silly mistakes too.

Walsh was a big lose, when he went to Illawarra.

Personally I thought Craig Young was a bit over rated. He did not look to to too many hit ups, his tackle count was hardly ever that high. I will say that he was playing very good football in 1985.

I remember Hoogerworth, he was a very good young tough prop. I recall there was a time when Craig Young was out injured and we had Jason Hoogerworth and Paul Osborne as our two props, Hoogerworth was a rookie and Osborne may have been a rookie too or in his second year of first grade. Well I recall Hoogerworth saying that they played a team and the opposition forwards put it over Hoogerworth and Osborne, but when they played the same team again later in the year with Young in the team, the opposition forwards were much more well behaved. So there is obviously a lot that goes on, on the field that myself and others don't see or notice.

I remembers seeing footage of Young in the 70's, he was slimmer and more agile and was very good then. He went on 2 Kangaroo tours. In 1982/83 he was regarded as the King of props. I think that is what the 1982 or 83 footy card said about him.

I recall Craig Young when the wiley Harry Bath first introduced him on a unsuspecting public back in 77 . I wish I had a hundred dollar note , for each time he busted through the opposition defence , with raw power .

He was almost unstoppable , once he got those legs of his moving , a great sight indeed . ( not his legs ) As much as I liked him , he always came across as one of those players, who never realised just how damaging he could be, if only he would put all of his energy into it .

Still one of the best of that era and certainly done his bit in securing the Dragons 2 premierships .

Dragonbaal

My faves:
Slippery Morris then daylight!
Ricky Walford awesome except when he missed a goal from in front vs scum at sesspit park, and we lost by a point
Brad Mackay, what a champion
Stoney, dragon through and through and could fight with the best of them
Micheal beattie,great captain a real leader
Wayne bartrim
Brian Johnson, poetry in motion
Brian johnston
Loved watching the great teams of the late seventies and into the eighties, what a time to be alive!

Dragonbaal

I remember my father saying we will loose, as soon as Kevin Roberts was announced referee during the week prior

I don't believe masters was outfoxed, mistakes made with no fresh reserves (victim of our own success). However the dogs were very dirty that day and were not punished by Roberts
Yep good old Sgt bilko had it in for the dragons given his dislike of craig young I knew we were on a hiding to nothing in that gf with that grub roberts

gregstar

Craig young was an absolutely fantastic prop! And he was a fantastic leader on top of that as well!

He had every skill that a prop should have & more. He even had a kicking game courtesy of his soccer background. He was masterful at offloading in traffic either through the line or before it. He was a virtual playmaker when he passed before the line.

And he was as tough a prop as there has ever been in rugby league. Ask Peter Kelly or Steve Roach what they thought. Ask Peter Sterling who he thought was the toughest prop!

He was the player of the tour in both '78 & '82. He came back from the '82 tour busted and struggled with injury for the next 2 seasons. In '85 & injury free he rediscovered the form & he was the prop of the year. He had retired from rep football but all comementators called for his inclusion in the state & national teams.

After 1985 he certainly wasn't the player he had once been. But he was certainly worth every single wrap he was ever given. He would be one of the finest props to ever lace on a boot.