Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

zg5vcwr.gif

Watching my parents grow old is the worst f**king thing ever.

My old man used to be a f**king machine - career soldier,strong and sharp of mind. Now he's 70, the drinking has caught up with him and he's a totally different bloke.

It has absolutely changed the way I see life and it's shit.

My old mans 74. Still walks 5kms each morning, digs his veges, can work all day building things. And thats after a tripple bypass 11yrs ago.
He drinks about 3-6 beers a year.

Delboy

What I don't understand , is that moron Shorten jumped up and down after the Irish plebiscite shouting, how good is this.. we need to do the same

Then politics got in the way. Wish these idiots would support the public vote, get it over and move on, I dont want politicians voting on people's personal opinions, they can't even get agreement on obvious things as they all want to score political points , idiots

What I don't understand , is that moron Shorten jumped up and down after the Irish plebiscite shouting, how good is this.. we need to do the same

Then politics got in the way. Wish these idiots would support the public vote, get it over and move on, I dont want politicians voting on people's personal opinions, they can't even get agreement on obvious things as they all want to score political points , idiots

Because it's unnecessary. Consecutive polls show that the greater majority of Australians are in favour of SSM. In the past parliament have voted with their conscience on abortion, the morning after pill, human cloning and euthanasia. But not about the definition of marriage?

Because it is devisive and the no vote will cause anguish those those people in our community who are already given a tough time.

Because its a non binding plebiscite. So after the whole excercise of holding $200m opinion poll, many of the merkins in Canberra have already said that they don't give a toss and will vote no.

So if the right are fair dinkum about it and this exercise is not designed to fail, fix the problems above and find a compromise.

Ridiculous.

Because it's unnecessary. Consecutive polls show that the greater majority of Australians are in favour of SSM. In the past parliament have voted with their conscience on abortion, the morning after pill, human cloning and euthanasia. But not about the definition of marriage?

Because it is devisive and the no vote will cause anguish those those people in our community who are already given a tough time.

Because its a non binding plebiscite. So after the whole excercise of holding $200m opinion poll, many of the merkins in Canberra have already said that they don't give a toss and will vote no.

So if the right are fair dinkum about it and this exercise is not designed to fail, fix the problems above and find a compromise.

Ridiculous.
If some pollies have said they will ignore a plebiscite, why would a conscience vote alone pass?

It may not theoretically, but the yes vote crew have done the numbers and have said that it will pass with a 70% majority. Unfortunately the churchies in the LNP are roadblocking the free vote bc they have the PM by the balls. If there is a leadership spill, them PM needs their votes to survive.

Delboy

Gronk, please explain why other than for political purposes that the Green/Labour alliance oppose the plebiscite, when they were cheerleaders for one after the Irish vote

All this tosh about about the avoiding the extremists applies to both sides of the argument, it's politics pure and simple. Even hetero white Anglo Saxon males like me understand it's all about the spin, nothing to do with actually getting a vote on the issue