Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Adam Blair. Gerard Beale.

Meth

Discuss.

Much has been said about Blair. I'm cautiously optimistic. I'm not sure he can be the prop leader that we need and I am sure that we're paying him too much money. But I've heard good things about his off field conduct...maybe he could help with the culture of the club.

Beale is a bit of a weird one. Who is he going to replace? I'd imagine Ayshford, not Kata. I've never really got him as a player. Seen him play a couple of surprisingly good games for the Kiwis.

Benek

Blair > Lillyman
Beale > Kata
Harris > Hoffman
Pulu > Gubb

It's a step forward at least
Except knowing the Warriors, this is more likely Beale in for Ayshford, who has been one of our most consistent performers for the past two years. Not sure if that's really an upgrade.

BUT more competition in the backline is good. Kata needs pressure on him to perform. With CNK and Beale trying to oust Kata and Maumalo, our backline is looking a lot better.

JoeD

Yeah nah.

Beale MIGHT be an ok signing if we got him reasonably cheap, but I doubt we did. Blair though is just a horrible signing no matter how much he cost. Goes ok when in a team full of stars but his tigers stint inspires no confidence that he can inspire others to greatness.

Worse of all these two, as has been mentioned, have "history" with Kearney. I.e. They're mates. Pretty hard to drop your mate from the team when they aren't performing. And for the same reason for Kearney these are 'safe' signings, these two guys aren't going to rock the boat and challenge him if he comes up with a shit gameplan. In a dynamic setup the players would be getting challenged by the coach and vice versa. Hard to do when you are a 'family' full of bros

JJ

Blair is a myth, horrible horrible signing

Beale, well he gives depth but can't play centre

We're strengthening our case for the spoon

JJ

Had to laugh at the 'big' signing headline.

Two squad depth journeymen, biggest signings since Matt Elliott

Rich102

Yeah nah.

Beale MIGHT be an ok signing if we got him reasonably cheap, but I doubt we did. Blair though is just a horrible signing no matter how much he cost. Goes ok when in a team full of stars but his tigers stint inspires no confidence that he can inspire others to greatness.

Worse of all these two, as has been mentioned, have "history" with Kearney. I.e. They're mates. Pretty hard to drop your mate from the team when they aren't performing. And for the same reason for Kearney these are 'safe' signings, these two guys aren't going to rock the boat and challenge him if he comes up with a shit gameplan. In a dynamic setup the players would be getting challenged by the coach and vice versa. Hard to do when you are a 'family' full of bros

Gameplan? Do you know something I don't?

Rich102

I think the biggest think influencing their signings is:
A. They would come for the money.
B. They are recognisable names.
C. They would come for the money.

Iafeta

My concerns are...

1. Who stands up to replace Lillyman and Matulino carting the ball forward? I remember an ex boss saying to me the best evaluation of a person is how they work in their period of notice. I firmly believe Ben was putting in. I'd say he had a 12 month lull post some injuries but he's always been there or thereabouts in the clubs player of the year awards and I think as much as he is maligned he's a critical component that we underestimate.

2. Actually let's just stick with number one at this point.

I think it was playdaball who said in his article that we have at least another season of pain to come but these signings will be beneficial to push the club forward and I tend to agree. The three things we must improve are defence, ruck speed so Luke is compelled to run because there is no doubt when he does run we are at our best and thirdly second phase. I think the likes of SJ and RTS can be at their best against defenders out of alignment and having to double up on defence due to offloads. As much as Jazz copped it against Manly for a couple of errors, a couple of his offloads were very effective. It's one way also to drag edge defenders in for someone like Fusitua to get some space against.

Benek

Yeah exactly Iafeta. Blair is not the answer to our forward pack. I'm tired of hearing about backline signings until we've got at least one more high performing forward to replace Mutts. Otherwise, no matter who's behind them we are going backwards next year.

JJ

While Lillyman is not Matt Scott or Paul Gallen, I'm bewildered that anyone would think Blair is better than him (not to mention Matulino)

Bull is strong, no mistake. And for his faults and he's a popular target, but Matulino IS an elite prop, Blair was a good backrower 8 years ago

I just can't see Blair being a good signing for the warriors. Attitude wise would be the only positive I see, and looking from the outside and seeing how he was at the Tigers I wouldn't see that as a great plus over someone like Lillyman

If we look at what they offer on the park per game

Blair 10 runs, 85m, 24 tackles, 2 missed tackles, 50mins

Lillyman 13 runs, 126m, 25 tackles, 2 misses, 47mins

Matulino 12 runs, 120m, 29 tackles, 1.5misses, 49 mins

I don't see any area Blair is an upside

Iafeta

Gameplan? Do you know something I don't?

I actually think there was. It was all about ball control. I honestly think though we overplayed that. If we had a big pack that creates heaps of space it's a good tactic because you may wear the opposition down into mistakes. But not for us. We need second phase for our small men to play off the back of it.

JJ

I just can't see Blair being a good signing for the warriors. Attitude wise would be the only positive I see, and looking from the outside and seeing how he was at the Tigers I wouldn't see that as a great plus over someone like Lillyman

If we look at what they offer on the park per game

Blair 10 runs, 85m, 24 tackles, 2 missed tackles, 50mins

Lillyman 13 runs, 126m, 25 tackles, 2 misses, 47mins

Matulino 12 runs, 120m, 29 tackles, 1.5misses, 49 mins

I don't see any area Blair is an upside
Needed a haircut guy?

Meth

Blair was a dud at the Tigers. He's been fine at the Storm and the Broncos.

Then again, we're more like the Tigers than the Storm or the Broncos