Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

FlameThrower

Also OKB
They made a lot of money from the pokies in the early year.
Now with pokies tax there is less around.
Down at the club yesterday night after training and the only people in the place are Asian about 85%.
Not much happening.
We need to some how engage them as well.
Not sure how.
Matey Canterbury Leagues was surrounded by old Aussie working class folk. The Europeans then moved in, followed by the Lebanese. And now the Koreans and Chinese are moving in. The Club is packed with people - all over Sydney the demographic has changed a few times. Our Club needs to get out of Kogarah and see how other successful clubs are being run. Exhibit A - Bankstown Sports, Canterbury Leagues and West’s Ashfield. Also on a side note Canterbury Hurlstone Park RSL has been renovated twice in last 10 years . Yet our Club can’t even market to its members on game day!!!

dragonssamy61

Matey Canterbury Leagues was surrounded by old Aussie working class folk. The Europeans then moved in, followed by the Lebanese. And now the Koreans and Chinese are moving in. The Club is packed with people - all over Sydney the demographic has changed a few times. Our Club needs to get out of Kogarah and see how other successful clubs are being run. Exhibit A - Bankstown Sports, Canterbury Leagues and West’s Ashfield. Also on a side note Canterbury Hurlstone Park RSL has been renovated twice in last 10 years . Yet our Club can’t even market to its members on game day!!!

Agree mate.
Just down at IGA south hurstville and the rabbits are down selling tickets.
The telegraph pole in the old St george area along king george road are advertising the next sharks game.
Not one for the dragons game.
Our club is so far behind its a joke.

redVinme

Keep getting excited for signing news.
Can we have new thread for this reminiscing and try to stay on topic

Agree mate.
Just down at IGA south hurstville and the rabbits are down selling tickets.
The telegraph pole in the old St george area along king george road are advertising the next sharks game.
Not one for the dragons game.
Our club is so far behind its a joke.

dragonsammy61 - mate that absolutely amazes me , I am stunned ! Good luck to the bunnies for using their heads , but hell what are our people doing when it comes to promoting our games ? As both yourself and Flamethrower have said , this club needs a breathe of fresh air and move into the 21st century .

Warabrook saint

It's called the NRL grant.
People say it's the salary cap money, buts it's not, that grant, which matches the salary cap, can be used on anything, including keeping your head above water.
Which may explain why we keep missing out on players.
Yes I get what you mean BGB but I was implying it seems our management know very little about anything, or just don't give a f**k

J.moz

Work finally being done to old sizzler on site at st George league's hopefully for us dragons supporters for game days and we urgently need a massive new st George leagues sign out front its been outdated cant even see it .Maybe something like the maccas M or kfc bucket we could have the st.george emblem up in lights so all the fish fingers sharks fans back over the bridge can see it

That old Sizzler should have been turned into a garden bar/ bistro the moment the old joint shut.

J.moz

Mary next coach to be sacked why not steve price was moved on during the year .Lets not waist this year bring in hasler and waiting.Plenty of experience to finish the season even if it is for this year only.

I just received news just a rumour at this stage. That sharks coach Flanagan not happy and has been approached by close mate with in the dragons club for next year on a long term contract.
We can dream. Maybe our new CEO who has been active in A Grade in the shire might persuade Flanagan to get on Board