Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

Crush

Try the Lord Nelson, Sydney’s oldest pub, just up from the Orient Hotel, at the Rocks.

They’ve been making various types of specialty beers for years.

Use to end up there when doing a pub crawl from Central Station on George st and stop off at the Covent Garden pub at Chinatown, also the Star Hotel and then go across to the BBQ King Chinese for a great cheap feed..... then stop off at all the pubs on the way to the Rocks, ending up at the Harbour View Hotel, under the Harbour Bridge...... ahhh, hose were the days!
Some quality establishments in that list OKB. I always thought that the fortune of war was Sydney's oldest pub though?

Old Kogarah Boy 1

Some quality establishments in that list OKB. I always thought that the fortune of war was Sydney's oldest pub though?

Love the Fortune of War, Crush.
That tiny little horseshoe bar, it really displays its age and style.

The Lord Nelson states on its website the claim Of the oldest pub, so l can only go by that.

The Star Hotel in Chinatown, as previously mentioned, was owned by a little old white haired lady who worked the bar daily.

She had an old male friend / partner who l remember seeing there. He’d clean the beer lines etc.

One day, in the nineties l think, he decided to kill her and did so, for whatever reason l don’t know. I remember seeing it on the news.

There was another pub down at the Rocks, The Ship Inn, it too was a very old pub which was demolished in the early eighties l think.

Let’s leave memory lane and get back to the rumour mill. However I will say my pub of choice was the Edinburgh Castle cnr Pitt and Bathurst. So here is two rumours I saw today.
Corey Oats is being looked at by the Dragons. I know he has said he wants to play second row.
We apparently still looking at Daniel T from the eagles. That’s it now back to the hotels thread

Who remembers the Elephant & Castle or The Sussex or the Dumbarton?
All great pubs for me in the early 70’s
That’s when pubs were either Tooths or Reschs and the occasional Tooheys or Miller’s
The Newtown Leagues had just about the best Reschs in town and even though it is Greek club these days the Reschs is still excellent
Bar humbug to all the boutique beers.

Crush

Love the Fortune of War, Crush.
That tiny little horseshoe bar, it really displays its age and style.

The Lord Nelson states on its website the claim Of the oldest pub, so l can only go by that.

The Star Hotel in Chinatown, as previously mentioned, was owned by a little old white haired lady who worked the bar daily.

She had an old male friend / partner who l remember seeing there. He’d clean the beer lines etc.

One day, in the nineties l think, he decided to kill her and did so, for whatever reason l don’t know. I remember seeing it on the news.

There was another pub down at the Rocks, The Ship Inn, it too was a very old pub which was demolished in the early eighties l think.
Yeah, I see that the Lord Nelson claims to be the oldest 'continually licensed' hotel whereas the fortune of war was established first. They must have lost their license at some stage.
The Ship Inn was rebuilt and is now owned and run by the Ryans Hotel Group, along with The Orient, Paragon, Convent Garden Pub, Republic Hotel, Miranda Hotel.
Big groups run plenty of pubs these days mate!

Coffs dragon

I spent many a time in the Allawah Hotel drinking icy schooners of Reschs in the 80's & 90's and could virtually roll home..... Sometimes we'd kick on over the railway at Hurstville to :
The meat market at Stallions Pub or Grab a Granny at Hill Street Tavern on a Wednesday night. Gotta love the old days before social media!!

I spent many a time in the Allawah Hotel drinking icy schooners of Reschs in the 80's & 90's and could virtually roll home..... Sometimes we'd kick on over the railway at Hurstville to :
The meat market at Stallions Pub or Grab a Granny at Hill Street Tavern on a Wednesday night. Gotta love the old days before social media!!
Most likely crossed paths then as I lived just around the corner from the Allawah 82 - 84.
I was well known for a few schooies of Reschs and a game of pool and then roll down the hill to the little house I lived in with couple of mates (tucked in amongst all the units) grab a quick shower and down the the Taj
That was until I met Mrs. OT and then it was goodbye Allawah and hello Lakemba (FMD what was I thinking of but beggars couldn't be choosey) but it turned out ok as I used to drink in good old Vic Patricks pub in the main drag.
They used to run a great meat raffle there and I always brought plenty of tickets but unfortunately I fell out of work for a few months but the boys would pick me up take me down to the pub on Friday and always made sure that I went home with a meat tray even if it was only sausages and a rissole or 2, god bless them they were great days and luckily all the pubs I drank at were full of characters.

Frank Facer

I just read on Foxsports that Oates is being offered as much as 700K a season by other clubs. I do think he will make a good secondrower if given the chance, but I think we are well stocked for secondrowers. 700K a year for Oates to play wing sounds a bit much to me.

Coffs dragon

I just read on Foxsports that Oates is being offered as much as 700K a season by other clubs. I do think he will make a good secondrower if given the chance, but I think we are well stocked for secondrowers. 700K a year for Oates to play wing sounds a bit much to me.
Mary would utilise Oates off the bench for his versatility and give him 13 minutes.....:smile:

Coffs dragon

Most likely crossed paths then as I lived just around the corner from the Allawah 82 - 84.
I was well known for a few schooies of Reschs and a game of pool and then roll down the hill to the little house I lived in with couple of mates (tucked in amongst all the units) grab a quick shower and down the the Taj
That was until I met Mrs. OT and then it was goodbye Allawah and hello Lakemba (FMD what was I thinking of but beggars couldn't be choosey) but it turned out ok as I used to drink in good old Vic Patricks pub in the main drag.
They used to run a great meat raffle there and I always brought plenty of tickets but unfortunately I fell out of work for a few months but the boys would pick me up take me down to the pub on Friday and always made sure that I went home with a meat tray even if it was only sausages and a rissole or 2, god bless them they were great days and luckily all the pubs I drank at were full of characters.
More late 80's for me OT, but can certainly relate. Many of my old mates shared a unit near the back of Allawah pub that we all used as our headquarters for drinking and partying. I loved the old days of the Taj wondering down to see a great live Band or show. I cry these days driving past the old relic. Now it's like a cross between Chinatown meets rundown.

Great analogy.
Prawn cocktail, Roast Lamb, Applie Pie and up to see Gene Pitney, Neil Sedaka, Tom Jones, Roy Orbison but to name a few and of course for all those in the blue rinse set the King of Cardigans Val Doonican, Winifred Attwell, Barry Crocker, Don Lane and the one & only Liberace.

Coffs dragon

Great analogy.
Prawn cocktail, Roast Lamb, Applie Pie and up to see Gene Pitney, Neil Sedaka, Tom Jones, Roy Orbison but to name a few and of course for all those in the blue rinse set the King of Cardigans Val Doonican, Winifred Attwell, Barry Crocker, Don Lane and the one & only Liberace.
Wow that's a blast from the past OT!! Just for nostalgia, my ex Father in-law played trumpet in the resident Warren Carr Band. Heard many a story about the Taj being the Mecca of entertainment & shows in Sydney!

merahputih

What about the way they hold their beer bottle nowadays ? Went to a end of year ‘ par- tie ‘ in the city and most of the in crowd held their bottle by two fingers around it’s neck and by the side of their bodies - how very chic !
When I lived in Darwin most people held a *stubby" with two fingers and a thumb around the neck (if it wasn't in a cooler) so it didn't get warm from your hand in the tropical heat, but in an air conditioned chic bar maybe not.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

Who remembers the Elephant & Castle or The Sussex or the Dumbarton?
All great pubs for me in the early 70’s
That’s when pubs were either Tooths or Reschs and the occasional Tooheys or Miller’s
The Newtown Leagues had just about the best Reschs in town and even though it is Greek club these days the Reschs is still excellent
Bar humbug to all the boutique beers.

As an old Kogarah boy, the Kogarah Hotel in the Main Street, just down from Kelly’s bottle shop, l believe sold the coldest beer in Sydney.
After downing the first schooner rather quickly, l’d have to go face down on a hot water bottle so not to get frostbite of the nose.
Anyone else have that problem?

Wow that's a blast from the past OT!! Just for nostalgia, my ex Father in-law played trumpet in the resident Warren Carr Band. Heard many a story about the Taj being the Mecca of entertainment & shows in Sydney!
In fact at times The Warren Carr Orchestra or the Warren Carr Trio.
Mum & Dad used to go dancing a lot at the club, so they loved WC in his various forms.
The middle brother & I used to frequent the snooker a room a fair bit where the Mangelsdorf brothers (Les & Herb) ruled the roost.
There was an ex pommie boxer (huge bloke with a thick accent) who worked for the club who used to organise who was playing on what table and when and we referred to him as "the nod" because when it was your turn he would just look over at you and nod his head, a lovely bloke and a real character once you got to know him
Back then the club was not only powerful as a footy club but in entertainment, travel, affiliated and fully sponsored sports clubs (bowls, camera, cricket, chess, darts, squash, table tennis etc etc) FMD it even had its own gym, sauna, masseurs and resident barber.
Well done Doust Jnr & Co you need to be congratulated in respect of how far you managed to scuttle the place.

As an old Kogarah boy, the Kogarah Hotel in the Main Street, just down from Kelly’s bottle shop, l believe sold the coldest beer in Sydney.
After downing the first schooner rather quickly, l’d have to go face down on a hot water bottle so not to get frostbite of the nose.
Anyone else have that problem?
Going down on a water bottle, that's novel OKB.
Mrs OT and I had our engagement party at a French restaurant in Bay St and purchased all the grog from Kelly's.
Typical of our lot the grog bill was always bigger than the food.

merahputih

Try the Lord Nelson, Sydney’s oldest pub, just up from the Orient Hotel, at the Rocks.

They’ve been making various types of specialty beers for years.

Use to end up there when doing a pub crawl from Central Station on George st and stop off at the Covent Garden pub at Chinatown, also the Star Hotel and then go across to the BBQ King Chinese for a great cheap feed..... then stop off at all the pubs on the way to the Rocks, ending up at the Harbour View Hotel, under the Harbour Bridge...... ahhh, hose were the days!
You probably would would have had one in the Tattler on the cnr of George and Market Streets. A few of the Dragons and Souths players (Raper, Langlands Bob McCarthy) used to drop in there in the late 60's before I left Sydney A good place to have a beer. Reg Hayes a former middleweight boxing champ was the "bar useful" there so you could have a beer in peace without any brawls.