Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

Dennis I believe Mary was worse than Craig Young. Albert really was a poor coach with a shit team and poor roster. Mary is below bog average with a decent team filled with Representative players and a mountain of assistant staff to deflect blame.
Poor Albert just copped all the blame back in the old 80's.
I am happy to change my ranking.
You make total sense.
I forgot how bad McGregor really is.

RedV Resurgence

As I watched the sharks play tonight, and I saw Dugan pass the ball a number of times in both directions ( Left and right) when he was with us he couldn't pass at all.

So the question I have is, why can the sharks teach Dugan to pass but we could not managed that? Mary had 4 years with Dugan and could teach him and the Sharks manage to do it in less than 2.

WepnutV

We are stuffed whilst Mary and his mod are at the helm
I know mary is no Wayne Bennett.. but there's only 3 maybe 4 coaches in the nrl that you could be 100% certain they would do a better job, and chances any of them coaches signing with dragons are slim to none.. Mary has done a better than expected job for us and I truly believe he saved us from a wooden spoon

getsmarty

I know mary is no Wayne Bennett.. but there's only 3 maybe 4 coaches in the nrl that you could be 100% certain they would do a better job, and chances any of them coaches signing with dragons are slim to none.. Mary has done a better than expected job for us and I truly believe he saved us from a wooden spoon

You are kidding...seriously....arguably one of the poorest coaches in the NRL with the roster he has at his disposal....add to that tactics...playing forwards at halfback -DeBelin...Centres in the forwards ..Mann..lomax..etc...misuse of the bench...inability to change the tide of the game when we get behind...

Stick and pick..aitken..etc...use of journeymen over Juniors...there is plenty more but I won't bother wasting my time.

epDragon62

I beg to differ. Mary falls short in so many areas and it is apparent to any supporter with a modest grasp of the game.

getsmarty

Relax, we all have our own ways of dealing with grief. He is just one of those still in denial.

Yep..and unfortunately with plenty of people who still go and watch the games and support the club, they ( the Club ) will point to this as vindication for the success we are currently seeing,,,,,,,,, 20 K plus members....

Personally I don't blame McGregor, but the Board who have helped to facilitate this whole mess.....anyway, getting to the place where caring about it is almost pointless....get little pleasure in watching our side go around these days...At least the positive is it frees up more hours on the weekend.

rednwhites

Yep..and unfortunately with plenty of people who still go and watch the games and support the club, they ( the Club ) will point to this as vindication for the success we are currently seeing,,,,,,,,, 20 K plus members....

Personally I don't blame McGregor, but the Board who have helped to facilitate this whole mess.....anyway, getting to the place where caring about it is almost pointless....get little pleasure in watching our side go around these days...At least the positive is it frees up more hours on the weekend.

You're not alone. These are unprecedented times in the club's history. We, the Dragons, have mostly been highly competitive over history, and expect winning or to be in hot pursuit of success. Sure we have been bad before, had ordinary teams, but for as long as I have been involved with the club, we have never been so weak, so ready to roll over and accept defeat, to accept mediocrity as success.

The damage being done may just end up being irreversible. I'm sure my young kids will end up going for Dragons simply because daddy does, but I am already having a hard time convincing them that the red v is a historically proud and legendary club. Legions of fans will be lost when they witness the Dragons don't have a heart.

WepnutV

I beg to differ. Mary falls short in so many areas and it is apparent to any supporter with a modest grasp of the game.
I think I have a modest grasp of the game.. well I played for 25 years have been watching rl since I can remember and have now started coaching , i watch every game and spend a lot of spare time analysing dragons games.. can you tell me/explain to me the areas Mary falls short in?

RED73V

I think I have a modest grasp of the game.. well I played for 25 years have been watching rl since I can remember and have now started coaching , i watch every game and spend a lot of spare time analysing dragons games.. can you tell me/explain to me the areas Mary falls short in?
YOU ARE SCARING ME !!!! Any fool can see where Mary falls short yet you can’t?? To say you have played the game for 25 years & watch all games & are coaching is quite funny :grin:. Who do you coach?? The magpies McGregors old team that would explain it ......

WepnutV

You're not alone. These are unprecedented times in the club's history. We, the Dragons, have mostly been highly competitive over history, and expect winning or to be in hot pursuit of success. Sure we have been bad before, had ordinary teams, but for as long as I have been involved with the club, we have never been so weak, so ready to roll over and accept defeat, to accept mediocrity as success.

The damage being done may just end up being irreversible. I'm sure my young kids will end up going for Dragons simply because daddy does, but I am already having a hard time convincing them that the red v is a historically proud and legendary club. Legions of fans will be lost when they witness the Dragons don't have a heart.
Mate the dragons will always have heart, St George's last wooden spoon was 1938... Now we recently got close to repeating that awfull year of 1938.. let me explain**** Now Wayne Bennett has alot to do with us struggling after he left and why we came close to the WS, see our team turned to shit because some players followed him, some players went elsewhere and some players retired, and during his time there was no thought to the future of the club except for Wayne annoiting Steve price as his replacement.. if he thought price was any good he would of dragged him to the knights.. anyways So in 2012 we started building a new team, we had a rookie coach in price that was being assisted by inexperienced rookie staff.his team was uncompetitive,disorganised, boreing and gained a reputation for being soft. Players didn't respect him, didn't listen to him and didn't seem like they wanted to be coached by him, we also struggled to sign any big names during his tenure.. he was on the Outer with a struggling team that had more potential in a Wooden spoon then a premiership. He got the flick and Mary came in 2014.. and the team Mary inherited was a team that needed a lot of changing, from culture to player management, game plan, training regimes, some players needing the flick, and some big names needed to be signed, he had to install belief back into the playing group, he needed to rebuild as well as keep us competitive at the same time. First he got rid of our soft tag. Then changed our attack so we were no longer labbeld boring. After two years of Marshall and mcrone
He made it a priority to sign a classy specialist half back, he knew mcrone was not up to the standard needed for a premiership competitive team so we poached Ben hunt, who would of signed elsewhere if not for Mary.. he was able to realise that removing him self from player contracts would stop friction between him and his players so he ask drag management to remove him from them duties. He was not demoted or stripped of these duties like some are led to believe.. and after 4 years of change came the refreshment of Last year. The first year since 2011 that we had a team that was capable of challenging for the premiership.. if we didn't have Mary and his selfless team first way of doing things I reckon that Wooden Spoon would of made its way to this still current great club.. so tell your son about 1938, then tell him how we have never cheated like Melbourne have, peptides like the sharks did, we don't pay players under the table like the South's and chooks, we don't don't intentionally go over the cap like dogs, manly or parra.. we have the highest integrity in rugby league and always have...

WepnutV

YOU ARE SCARING ME !!!! Any fool can see where Mary falls short yet you can’t?? To say you have played the game for 25 years & watch all games & are coaching is quite funny :grin:. Who do you coach?? The magpies McGregors old team that would explain it ......
I can name a few areas Mary could work on or improve. But I can also name a few areas where he excells.. But you first.

SpecSavers as soon as possible...

Mate the dragons will always have heart, St George's last wooden spoon was 1938... Now we recently got close to repeating that awfull year of 1938.. let me explain**** Now Wayne Bennett has alot to do with us struggling after he left and why we came close to the WS, see our team turned to shit because some players followed him, some players went elsewhere and some players retired, and during his time there was no thought to the future of the club except for Wayne annoiting Steve price as his replacement.. if he thought price was any good he would of dragged him to the knights.. anyways So in 2012 we started building a new team, we had a rookie coach in price that was being assisted by inexperienced rookie staff.his team was uncompetitive,disorganised, boreing and gained a reputation for being soft. Players didn't respect him, didn't listen to him and didn't seem like they wanted to be coached by him, we also struggled to sign any big names during his tenure.. he was on the Outer with a struggling team that had more potential in a Wooden spoon then a premiership. He got the flick and Mary came in 2014.. and the team Mary inherited was a team that needed a lot of changing, from culture to player management, game plan, training regimes, some players needing the flick, and some big names needed to be signed, he had to install belief back into the playing group, he needed to rebuild as well as keep us competitive at the same time. First he got rid of our soft tag. Then changed our attack so we were no longer labbeld boring. After two years of Marshall and mcrone
He made it a priority to sign a classy specialist half back, he knew mcrone was not up to the standard needed for a premiership competitive team so we poached Ben hunt, who would of signed elsewhere if not for Mary.. he was able to realise that removing him self from player contracts would stop friction between him and his players so he ask drag management to remove him from them duties. He was not demoted or stripped of these duties like some are led to believe.. and after 4 years of change came the refreshment of Last year. The first year since 2011 that we had a team that was capable of challenging for the premiership.. if we didn't have Mary and his selfless team first way of doing things I reckon that Wooden Spoon would of made its way to this still current great club.. so tell your son about 1938, then tell him how we have never cheated like Melbourne have, peptides like the sharks did, we don't pay players under the table like the South's and chooks, we don't don't intentionally go over the cap like dogs, manly or parra.. we have the highest integrity in rugby league and always have...
If you have a long history playing the game and now you are a coach, please explain to the forum how McGregor was even considered for the FG job in the first place?
Look at his CV and tell us what criteria did the club use to appoint him?
He never had the credentials to coach FG and still doesn't.
You can window dress the last 5 years any way you like but seriously, when is McGregor going to be held accountable for his results?
Blaming McCrone and Benji and pointing to 2018 as a successful year, is just delusional.
Ultimately we finished 7th.last year. But maybe that's our benchmark for success these days.
We were certainly never in the hunt for the title.
This year we have not been afforded the luxury of a rampaging start to the season and we are wallowing at the wrong end of the table.
Our defence is atrocious and our attack predictable. We are soft right now - under McGregor.
Capitulation after capitulation - how do you explain that?
Bennett delivered us a premiership and somehow it is his fault for the club's poor planning in lieu of his departure.
You sound like Brian Johnston and all his rationalization in advance of extending him.
0 and 5 since that announcement.
You are entitled to your opinion but McGregor is one of the worst coaches in the NRL and always has been.

Como Connection

If you have a long history playing the game and now you are a coach, please explain to the forum how McGregor was even considered for the FG job in the first place?
Look at his CV and tell us what criteria did the club use to appoint him?
He never had the credentials to coach FG and still doesn't.
You can window dress the last 5 years any way you like but seriously, when is McGregor going to be held accountable for his results?
Blaming McCrone and Benji and pointing to 2018 as a successful year, is just delusional.
Ultimately we finished 7th.last year. But maybe that's our benchmark for success these days.
We were certainly never in the hunt for the title.
This year we have not been afforded the luxury of a rampaging start to the season and we are wallowing at the wrong end of the table.
Our defence is atrocious and our attack predictable. We are soft right now - under McGregor.
Capitulation after capitulation - how do you explain that?
Bennett delivered us a premiership and somehow it is his fault for the club's poor planning in lieu of his departure.
You sound like Brian Johnston and all his rationalization in advance of extending him.
0 and 5 since that announcement.
You are entitled to your opinion but McGregor is one of the worst coaches in the NRL and always has been.
Bennett sacked him as an assistant as soon as he was appointed.
Paris tomorrow!
CC