Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd23: Parra v Bulldogs LIVE GAME DAY thread 22/8/19

Just watched the game. Browns indiscretion has been coming for a few weeks. Hardly surprising. No doubt Tepai will be BAs choice to replace him. I thought our D was pretty good.
Waka has quickly become our number one center.
Mennings has lost condition and looks like 2018 Mennings. Two more years? No thanks.
Lane was great.
Gower has hit the wall. Also predictable.
Evans was also great but how his minutes are used is a mystery to most.
The Mahoney / Gutho experiment is only ok in BAs mind. Almost laughable now.
Sivo was enormous especially in the air.
Drown seemed to be crowded all night. I think he and Lane could offer so much more but I dont think thats in BAs plans.
Atkins does what Atkins does. Again no surprise.
I agree with most that once Paulo, Evans and Reed are off we go into a boring holding pattern.
Why we cant just do it when great opportunities present is so dissappointing. Its why fans refuse to believe the hype. Average performances are always just one game away. Im more convinced than ever that the players need a different voice. At the very least we need to update our coaching assistants. Probably unlikely though.
Go Parra.
Pretty much spot on Gazza, it always happens. This club talks big in the media during the week and then comes out game time and absolutely shits the bed.

Take the two weeks. Gets off pretty lightly IMO
One of the times "contesting it" is not even worth considering

Nrown was deadset off his rocker last night .... Makes you wonder if any baiting went on during the game. Cos this incident was just one in a string of shit

Noise

One of the times "contesting it" is not even worth considering

Nrown was deadset off his rocker last night .... Makes you wonder if any baiting went on during the game. Cos this incident was just one in a string of shit
Yep and if I’m the opposition I’d be baiting him every game.

Happy MEel

Playing Salmon 10 minutes a week in a position you don’t view him ever playing long term is a waste of development time. He’s a better player than Smith but I’d prefer he matured more in reserves than for sake of handful games in a season where no ones expecting us to do much
We’ll be playing finals mate, there’s everything to play for. It’s a new competition come September and all we need to do is string a couple of wins together. This is exactly the time to be thinking about short term success over long term development. Having Salmon play finals footy is probably the best development he can have.

We’re no guarantee of playing finals next year (just look at 2018).

84 Baby

JT,Jake,Funcane,Frizzel,Sutton,Arrow, Radely,Matterson, Burgess,JFH

My top 10 lock forwards. But JFH is now at 10 and Yeo lock.Id put Brown infront of Yeo
Frizell, Sutton and Matterson are as much locks as Hindmarsh was a 2ndrower at back end of his career

Just stating facts.
N.Brown is a good forward. I'd have him off the bench though to inject enetgy at the 25min mark.

My top 10 lock forwards. But JFH is now at 10 and Yeo lock.Id put Brown infront of Yeo
Half of them arent arent playing #13 ... Sutton? FFS. Is there a Sutton i am not remembering? Or you mean the old codger from souths who is luck to get a bench spot lately

84 Baby

We’ll be playing finals mate, there’s everything to play for. It’s a new competition come September and all we need to do is string a couple of wins together. This is exactly the time to be thinking about short term success over long term development. Having play finals footy is probably the best development he can have.

We’re no guarantee of playing finals next year (just look at 2018).
True.
Now I’m going to sound like Gazzamatta or Glenneel but honestly I don’t think Salmon has shown enough to warrant the position. Even over Smith. I actually think in that 10 mins, the way we are currently playing Smith is a better option. If Salmon was utilising his running game better than it’d be a different story. But he hasn’t so far

IFR33K

Just watched the game. Browns indiscretion has been coming for a few weeks. Hardly surprising. No doubt Tepai will be BAs choice to replace him. I thought our D was pretty good.
Waka has quickly become our number one center.
Mennings has lost condition and looks like 2018 Mennings. Two more years? No thanks.
Lane was great.
Gower has hit the wall. Also predictable.
Evans was also great but how his minutes are used is a mystery to most.
The Mahoney / Gutho experiment is only ok in BAs mind. Almost laughable now.
Sivo was enormous especially in the air.
Drown seemed to be crowded all night. I think he and Lane could offer so much more but I dont think thats in BAs plans.
Atkins does what Atkins does. Again no surprise.
I agree with most that once Paulo, Evans and Reed are off we go into a boring holding pattern.
Why we cant just do it when great opportunities present is so dissappointing. Its why fans refuse to believe the hype. Average performances are always just one game away. Im more convinced than ever that the players need a different voice. At the very least we need to update our coaching assistants. Probably unlikely though.
Go Parra.

Death rider

84 Baby

Just stating facts.
N.Brown is a good forward. I'd have him off the bench though to inject enetgy at the 25min mark.
The fact is those players I named aren’t playing lock. Radley doesn’t really either. May as well just say Munster and Tedesco are the best locks

JT, Jake, Radley, Murray, Funicane, Arrow probably ARE all current locks playing at or better than Nrown. So yeah around 7th ... And even some of these are line ball

Happy MEel

True.
Now I’m going to sound like Gazzamatta or Glenneel but honestly I don’t think Salmon has shown enough to warrant the position. Even over Smith. I actually think in that 10 mins, the way we are currently playing Smith is a better option. If Salmon was utilising his running game better than it’d be a different story. But he hasn’t so far
Our main hooker hasn’t been using his running game either and that hasn’t hurt our ability to score points. All we need is a serviceable distributor, someone that won’t shit the bed and someone prepared to put their body in front of middle forwards for approximately 20 minutes. This allows Gutho to return to the fullback position which will help our attack during this period immensely.

For mine, Salmon’s the closest we’ve got to satisfying that criteria.

Joshuatheeel

Salmon is as much of a hooker as Smith, but without the brain farts IMO.

If we are going to rest Mahoney, I reckon we should just start with Matt Mcllrick for the first 20, then Mahoney can play the next 60. McIlwrick can also play middle later in the game if required.

However I havent watched McIlwrick play this year so he could be playing shit. If he isn’t cant see why we wouldn’t use him, it’s a specialist role so let’s use him if Mahoney can’t play 80.

Our main hooker hasn’t been using his running game either and that hasn’t hurt our ability to score points. All we need is a serviceable distributor, someone that won’t shit the bed and someone prepared to put their body in front of middle forwards for approximately 20 minutes. This allows Gutho to return to the fullback position which will help our attack during this period immensely.

For mine, Salmon’s the closest we’ve got to satisfying that criteria.
Salmon makes the most sense, so he’s no hope.

Joshuatheeel

Interestingly, some of those players aren’t even playing in the middle......

Joshuatheeel

Anyhow if we aren’t going to bring someone else into the side to play hooker instead of gutho, I reckon a better option with Fergo coming back next week, is for Taka (who probably goes to the bench) to play 5/8 and put Drown there for 15 mins.

Moses is the main half anyway, keeps gutho at fullback, while we may actually benefit with Drown’s running game around the ruck. He can defend.