Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed signings - Part 4

Kilkenny

Who the hell are they going to spend this money on? There’s enough for 2-3 pretty good signings.

Freeing up salary cap space if all fine and dandy but the players we bring in, assuming of course we do bring in players, have to be at the very least as good as those we have allowed to leave.

There is very little quality looking at who is off contract at the end of this season so nothing doing there.

I can only assume we must be trying to recruit players who are contracted for 2020 and beyond but whom there present clubs may be willing to release early similar to what we have done with DWZ Blake etc etc.

The three wise men better have a plan in place otherwise things are looking grim and I mean really grim.

betcats

You said he was playing up to the midway point of the season. He wasn't.

If his performance/s have justified being cut out of the picture the rest of the season, I can think of 16 other players that should of seen the same fate.

& I agree, Hethero is in the same boat.

I was talking about Winterstein

betcats

Kinda my point though. Players that are labelled 'journeymen' & are the first ones out the door regardless of their performances. They're the easiest targets by coaches & supporters.

As good as Martin has been at times, he's also had some stinkers & I think the balance of the side would of been better with Winterstein on an edge a lot of the time. RCG cops flak from supporters but he also gets picked every game regardless of performance.. IMO given what RCG has dished up this year, Sele would offer more. Or at least deserved the opportunity to offer more.

Again nothing I saw in NSW cup from Sele was screaming pick m, not even close. We are trying to desperately offload RCG which becomes a lot harder if he is down in NSW cup.

When were Martins stinkers? I think he is a pretty obvious choice over Winterstein. Martins first NRL start on the edge was an absolute barnstormer.

It really just seems like you disagree with some team selections, that doesn't mean anyone has been black balled.

Kilkenny

Hope they gave us Lomax and Timms in the deal

I think Timms is a strong possibility.

The Dragons fans are convinced he has not been given a debut based on the fact he has has signed elsewhere for 2020.

His stats in CC are impressive so could be a decent low risk pick up.

BxTom

The one who has had two smashed jaws in 6 months and lost all confidence.

Unlike some, i cant hold it against him given the confidence being shot, similar to Mansour, however if someone else wants to take it on, then all power to them.

All that being said, we have some $'s to spend.
Gus said he was also going through p[ersonal problems on top of the busted jaws.

OldPanther

Makes sense, not sure how much of the contract we are picking up though..

Dragons seem desperate to get out of the slump and are losing Widdop next year. Might have got some reasonable terms.

Freeing up salary cap space if all fine and dandy but the players we bring in, assuming of course we do bring in players, have to be at the very least as good as those we have allowed to leave.

There is very little quality looking at who is off contract at the end of this season so nothing doing there.

I can only assume we must be trying to recruit players who are contracted for 2020 and beyond but whom there present clubs may be willing to release early similar to what we have done with DWZ Blake etc etc.

The three wise men better have a plan in place otherwise things are looking grim and I mean really grim.

If I were a ruthless club looking for success I'd make a play for Ponga while the Knights situation is bad.

Dragons seem desperate to get out of the slump and are losing Widdop next year. Might have got some reasonable terms.

If I were a ruthless club looking for success I'd make a play for Ponga while the Knights situation is bad.

Ponga is an interesting one, but it seems he wants ridiculous money. Apparently he’s on 600k now, I reckon the knights will need to up that to $1-1.2m to keep him.

OldPanther

Ponga is an interesting one, but it seems he wants ridiculous money. Apparently he’s on 600k now, I reckon the knights will need to up that to $1-1.2m to keep him.

I'd play the angle that he'll play finals and get to play with a fellow rep spine player in Cleary and a young team like himself.

OldPanther

Us play finals under Cleary? I don't think Ponga or his agent will swallow that one too easily!!

That's why you get in now before it can be proven wrong. A little spin about having to debut heaps of young guys. Doesn't have to be true just get the job done.

mxlegend99

Us play finals under Cleary? I don't think Ponga or his agent will swallow that one too easily!!
Ponga in this side would improve us enough to be playing finals footy.

Hes very similar to Moylan in his style of play. Has a bit better pace and strength for fullback though. Not quiet as handy at ball playing. But easily ticks more boxes at 1 than Moylan.

He's a huge upgrade in most areas over Edwards at any rate.

franklin2323

So if RCG goes, let’s recap the money situation

Maloney $800k
DWZ $500-600k
Blake $500
RCG $800k

Yes, these are just approximates based on reports. But I’d say these numbers are close enough.

Then you also have Tamou off contract at the end of 2020.

Even if we were over the cap for next year, there’d still have to be a decent amount of salary cap to spend. Somewhere in the range of $2m I’d say.

Who the hell are they going to spend this money on? There’s enough for 2-3 pretty good signings.

Plenty of talent out there. Just to choose wisely

OldPanther

Ponga in this side would improve us enough to be playing finals footy.

Hes very similar to Moylan in his style of play. Has a bit better pace and strength for fullback though. Not quiet as handy at ball playing. But easily ticks more boxes at 1 than Moylan.

He's a huge upgrade in most areas over Edwards at any rate.

Yep and from what Herbert said we will have massive $$$ free.

OldPanther

The same committee that signed how many juniors on the basis of a couple of good games?

It's a small step up from "Must sign old Warriors boys". At this level of progression we will win the comp in approximately 10 years. Lock it in boys #ouryear