Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed signings - Part 4

MugaB

Peachey stalemated awhile ago.
Too big a gap in what the Titans were contributing and what we were prepared to pay. The only option would be for him to take a pay cut and come home if he was desperate enough.
If the Titans are serious about Latrell he may be someone they move on to make room.
Well lets hope Mal gets his man, then Peach can come home, atleast we'll have our peach back

MrBlack

IMO centers are becoming a little redundant. That's why there are not many good ones around.

Todays game is more about a decent wide running backrower handing off to a good winger that knows how to finish. Multi tasking backrowers are the way of the future.

MugaB

IMO centers are becoming a little redundant. That's why there are not many good ones around.

Todays game is more about a decent wide running backrower handing off to a good winger that knows how to finish. Multi tasking backrowers are the way of the future.
Thats right, 11 man teams are the future, (NO CENTRES) i reckon it would open the field up heaps, it would be like the nines, but with props, add a bonus square underneath the crossbar, Rugby league for the masses, and all the centres that are left can play for the expansion teams in perth WESTERN CENTRE'S, and South Queensland CENTRE'S

franklin2323

What about the depth at centre? It’s almost non existent

Depth needs to be balanced out, and it’s not.

Depends who is centre in FG really.

This would be my NRL backline:

Edwards
Naden
Luai/Burton
Burns
To'o

Leaves NSW Cup of:

Aekins
Mansour
Whare
Crichton
MWZ

That stacks up against most NSW Cup backlines. Throw in Jed too and there is options and hopefully there is another Centre coming from elsewhere

franklin2323

The rep teams are proof of this. Not too many true centres in a rep jersey

franklin2323

Centre is the problem. Not much decent ones available .
The club though they were close with Walker. BJ priced himself out, same with Latrell - though his story changes daily.

A Flegg player told me Walker was signed. So it wasn't just officals that thought so

Edwards
Naden
Luai/Burton
Burns
To'o

Leaves NSW Cup of:

Aekins
Mansour
Whare
Crichton
MWZ

That stacks up against most NSW Cup backlines. Throw in Jed too and there is options and hopefully there is another Centre coming from elsewhere

You’ve got halves & a back rower in the centres.

just as I was saying, our depth there is horrible.

ACTPanthers

I hope to god he really didn't sign, i can tolerate violent players, rugby league has lots of those, but stupid players.....

Wait... f**king what!? So you're OK with convicted woman bashers, just as long as they're smart... I'd argue, with a good amount of confidence, that bashing your missus makes you completely and utterly in the realms of "stupid"

MugaB

He never wanted to leave Manly but the club though they almost had him. I believe he took unders to stay.
Again we're lucky, id rather no centres than have dumbship Dylan walker there, even his face annoys me, that cro magnum jaw of his, ewwwww

MugaB

Wait... f**king what!? So you're OK with convicted woman bashers, just as long as they're smart... I'd argue, with a good amount of confidence, that bashing your missus makes you completely and utterly in the realms of "stupid"
Geez i was talking about violent men, like mark geyer, clothline, youve gone waaaayyyy over to off field drama with tetevano, packer, and lodge territory.
Get some perspective, look at both sides, dont just assume im pro violence against anyone, i meant ON FIELD!
And its Walkers Taunts ON Field that sheeet me, not his court case accusations off field.
And BJ, dont start me there, ive watch too many canberra games in 2018, where he single handedly lost the game i the dying minutes of their games, and they were ahead on the scoreboard for most of them

ACTPanthers

Geez i was talking about violent men, like mark geyer, clothline, youve gone waaaayyyy over to off field drama with tetevano, packer, and lodge territory.
Get some perspective, look at both sides, dont just assume im pro violence against anyone, i meant ON FIELD!
As long as they're good at footy hey?

MugaB

As long as they're good at footy hey?
Shut up, and grow up, this forum is talking about our teams and the players that play for them, you want to throw accusations at me, coz i sounded like a pro violence against women activist!
Take your bullsheet and feed it somewhere else, fkn keyboard warrior!

franklin2323

You’ve got halves & a back rower in the centres.

just as I was saying, our depth there is horrible.

like I said depends what you want from centres. I don't trust whoever is 5/8 to be good enough to end the sets. So the extra play maker is good there so too the edge defence is ordinary and a bigger body outside Kikau will take the pressure off him.

But even if you go normal Whare/Naden aren't too bad a centre pairing. Crichton was NSW U20's centre and will be pushing for a spot. Compare that to most teams centres though

Chambers and Scott gone from the Storm...leaves Olam and ?? centre
Manly had ordinary centres still do if Walker plays 5/8th
Rooster will have Manu/Billy Smith
Tigers Mybe/Talau

and so on...Very few good centre pairings in the comp

MugaB

like I said depends what you want from centres. I don't trust whoever is 5/8 to be good enough to end the sets. So the extra play maker is good there so too the edge defence is ordinary and a bigger body outside Kikau will take the pressure off him.

But even if you go normal Whare/Naden aren't too bad a centre pairing. Crichton was NSW U20's centre and will be pushing for a spot. Compare that to most teams centres though

Tigers Mybe/Talau

South Queensland Centres, Perth Western Centres, just punt them!

mxlegend99

Lomax will be offered first shot at Fullback next year.
Aitken's up for sale.
I don't rate Aitkens highly. But considering how far Whare has declined and Nadens shortcomings at centre he would be our best centre.

Anything that increases the chances of Naden to wing is good IMO.

1. Edwards
2. Naden
3. Aitkens
4. Chricton / Burns / Luai etc.
5. To'o

I think is better than having Mansour and Whare starting. Although surely thats not our plan for the whole season. I expect them to start Round 1. But to be phased out.

Crashtest

Edwards
Naden
Luai/Burton
Burns
To'o

God I hope we don't start the season with rookie five eight with one FG game and a rookie second rower with 2 games, as our starting centres. Luai has a good passing game, so I don't see why he can't get the ball out wide to a centre, he just needs to reign in how many times he steps in field.

Naden and Crichton are tall, athletic and good under the high ball, so if we don't sign another centre I think they are fine to start the season with. I'm sure if the club view Naden as a centre long term, they are working with him in the preseason on his defence and passing.

And Whare looks like he has returned to preseason fit and fired up, so hopefully can get back to some old form and fight it out with Naden and Crichton for a starting spot. He will be solid back up for injury in any case.

Finally something that makes sense, well done hindy, yes a giant 27 year old fijian winger would be handy, although not sure if we have that amount of cap left, but it would be great if kikau and semi linked up on the same side, terrible thoughts of these two monsters running at you,......brrrrrrrr

Shame you let one go in Sivo. But it happens. Parra have had there jnr stock raided by Tigers and Dogs the last 4 week. Lost one of there most promising props.And D.Brown is now testing market.
I reckon NRL should control all jnrs and bring in a draft.

Tigers Mybe/Talau

on the one hand you were concerned about the lack of experience of second rowers *coming off the bench*, on the other you’d be prepared to start two centres that have played the sum total of 2 games in that position. Surely you see the contradiction there?

Okay, you think we need an extra playmaker. Then you sure as hell cant play Burns in the centres too. It contradicts your whole point about experience. Fact is our centre options are poor.