Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Pokies are legal, as are Leagues Clubs. People are quick to take a high moral stance on this issue - btw I do not play the pokies - but were quiet when Crown Casino were sponsoring a club/s.

each club are allowed to find their own model so forget this ‘must get rid of Leagues Clubs and pokies’ bs.

Not sure anyone is saying get rid but if you must have them then dont use them to prop up a professional sports club, use them to put more back into the community they are leeching off. Keep hearing how rich Roosters are yet last year, with all their success, they needed a grant of $1.6million from the LC to break even. That's $1.6mill that could have done some good for jnr RL in Sydney.

As for Crown casino, totally different scenario. They are there to make as much profit as they can and choose to promote themselves via sports sponsorship. Its nothing the same as the reason LC's exist.

Craegus

But if one chooses 3 at Campbelltown and another 3 at Leichhardt, and another 5 at BankWest you have 3 members for 11 games. If you are a fully ticketed member at a club that has only one ground there is 1 member for the 11 games.
It skews the numbers. The true count is the total number of tickets covered by memberships, not individual memberships.

But no-one does that because the cost would be far more than paying for a combined ground membership. So people only choose the number of games they want, and subsequently that then means what grounds you go to. No-one is buying multiple memberships for themselves just to attend multiple grounds.

MugaB

Not sure anyone is saying get rid but if you must have them then dont use them to prop up a professional sports club, use them to put more back into the community they are leeching off. Keep hearing how rich Roosters are yet last year, with all their success, they needed a grant of $1.6million from the LC to break even. That's $1.6mill that could have done some good for jnr RL in Sydney.

As for Crown casino, totally different scenario. They are there to make as much profit as they can and choose to promote themselves via sports sponsorship. Its nothing the same as the reason LC's exist.
The stuff they fill those sneaky paper bags with costs money

Just one more St.George Illawarra Steelers
Gif
videotogif_2020.11.04_16.46.41.gif
This could be the prematch entertainment!

MugaB

Upon this feast, i salute you Sir Peter of House V'landy's, i hereby break this bread/car in you honor!
20201104_165801.jpg

Thank you for fixing Kogarah, and having me on the hill....
ROOOOOAAARRRR!!!!

Now on with the show!!!!!
images.jpeg-39.jpg

RedVee

To me both mergers make sense, only one that didn't was northern eagles, its was too hard to merge hatred with relocation an hour north, the equivalent of merging saints and sharks, but then based in wollongong, it just wont happen, or souths merging with roosters then playing in campbelltown.
Balmain/Ashfield i saw straight away, colors too, but its slowly breaking down coz instead of embracing the macarthur area fulltime, and keeping the balmain colors, they've swung the other way, focusing on concord and staying black.
The traditional magpie mindset!
Steelers and Dragons works too, just the distance causes issues but half and half seems to keep illawarra invested, plus not sure it could sustain a fulltime club nowadays, a link to sydney helps there via the dragons, kinda wish the dragons added a bit steel in their logo, maybe a metal monster truck type dragon, remain mostly white, scarlet, and trim of Silver or grey.

View attachment 43524
View attachment 43525

Only other potential merger would i see working, is that of sharks and easts but Politis won't let Easts go anywhere. That would become a superpower East Sydney Sharks,
:D St George wears a suit of armour. Plenty of steel there. :D

RedVee

but Casino’s run on gambling. Yet a Leagues Club can’t ?

The Leagues Club was created with the purpose of supporting the football club and the community. It is a furphy to decry a LC giving a grant to a football club - it is its purpose. It is the same as an owner having to kick the tin if the football club runs short.

greenBV4

The Leagues Club was created with the purpose of supporting the football club and the community. It is a furphy to decry a LC giving a grant to a football club - it is its purpose. It is the same as an owner having to kick the tin if the football club runs short.
The initial point I was making is after all the grants from LCs they've gotten in the past the clubs should be able to stand on their own 2 feet now and generate some football-based revenue, or atleast be closer to breaking even

As for crown, 1. They were a sponsor, which is different to an associated LC, 2. Technically crowns sponsorship was as Crown Resorts, not the actual casino

The less money LCs give to the NRL clubs, the more that can go into grassroots and back to the community, noone is saying to "get rid of them"

MugaB

The initial point I was making is after all the grants from LCs they've gotten in the past the clubs should be able to stand on their own 2 feet now and generate some football-based revenue, or atleast be closer to breaking even

As for crown, 1. They were a sponsor, which is different to an associated LC, 2. Technically crowns sponsorship was as Crown Resorts, not the actual casino

The less money LCs give to the NRL clubs, the more that can go into grassroots and back to the community, noone is saying to "get rid of them"
Get rid of the Melbourne Storm!!!

Just jokes

PR doesn’t seem to get the concept of leagues clubs. Maybe it’s because they don’t have them in Perth but giving money to the footy team is written in the club’s charter.

forby

Craegus - I’m not saying that one person buys three memberships to go to 11 games, but that three people buy single memberships that total 11 games. A club with a single home ground has one member buy a membership for 11 games. Hence one has 3 members for the same number of games as the other has one. That is why you can’t count members over tickets.

unforgiven

Still not buying the crowd average, i suppose it depends on the year youre refering to, or the span of years, and if its this year forget it, doesn't make a difference to me as veiwership also counts, i live in parra, but go for penrith, next door neighbor is a broncos fan, he watched every loss this year at the tollgate, crowds are good, but are just one piece of the pie.
Wests should never merge, relocate or anything else, other than change to permanently gold home Jersey, with an away white, as tigers are mostly orange and occasionally white, ask any kid when have they ever seen a black tiger.
Their foothold in Sydney is huge not just in geographical presence but in local support, having both magpie fans and tigers fans will do that, memberships don't translate generally anyway, due to the casual veiwers that only watch or interstate fans, plus you need to have an income that can support having a yearly membership, folks might only ever become a member for only several seasons, then not renew, as they cant afford to spend it

If you look here https://afltables.com/rl/crowds/penrith.html

you will see Penrith very rarely get to an average that is higher than 13k.

That is all I will say on it though as I'm not really trying to have a go at Penrith, I don't believe any club should be moved and was just using them as an example of how easy it is to come up with reasons to target a club for relocation.

unforgiven

Craegus - I’m not saying that one person buys three memberships to go to 11 games, but that three people buy single memberships that total 11 games. A club with a single home ground has one member buy a membership for 11 games. Hence one has 3 members for the same number of games as the other has one. That is why you can’t count members over tickets.

Mate you really do post some rubbish, Penrith sell a single game membership, QLD membership and Bathurst membership and a 6 game membership. How are these any different?

difference is we know LC’s create massive social problems for their communities. The least we should aim for is them putting more back and not using that money to bail out $25million professional sports clubs.

Leagues Clubs cause massive social problems for communities but casinos don’t?

sheesh, casinos are for profit making companies with no responsibilities other than to shareholders. LC's are supposed to exist for community benefit, the least they could do in causing the damage they cause is give as much back to the communities they are leeching off as possible. An NRL club earning $23mill plus a year shouldn't be taking money away from their communities, imo.

but to your question yes they both do but I suspect LC's are far bigger problems given their size, ease of access community spread.

"The three NSW councils recording the highest gambling losses in 2019 are:

1. Canterbury-Bankstown, total losses $1.582million per day
  2. Fairfield, $1.416 million per day
  3. Cumberland $1.037million per day.
The total losses in 2019 for these three councils is an enormous $944.44 million - nearly $1billion from three Sydney councils in some of the most disadvantaged areas in NSW."

https://www.pokiesplayyou.org.au/an...sw_last_year_time_for_a_gambling_reform_reset

ash the bash

Back to stadiums...

I don't mind the current proposal for Sydney NRL stadiums (Brookvale, SFS, Liverpool, Kogarah, Penrith). It sorts out club games provided Shark Park gets some new corporate areas in its finish. Leave ANZ the way it is for Prelim, GF's and Origin absolutely no club games.

However if I was the NRL and there was no obstacles in a hypothetical world. Instead of the Liverpool stadium I would get the NRL along with govt to finance a new 35K Homebush stadium.

Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 10.50.42.png

New NRL stadium would get...
- Bulldogs 11 games, Souths 10, Wests Tigers 8
- Pacific Test 1
- International Test 1
- Womens State of Origin 1
- NRL Finals (Depending if teams qualify that use the stadium) 3-4

So roughly 36 RL games a year at the stadium with the option of concerts etc during the off season. Also earn income off naming rights. NRL could sell a stadium membership for the hardcore that like to watch more games. Will have a new direct train line from city and Parramatta not to mention plenty of parking around.

Of course it won't happen but it makes a lot of sense in my hypothetical world.

unforgiven

Back to stadiums...

I don't mind the current proposal for Sydney NRL stadiums (Brookvale, SFS, Liverpool, Kogarah, Penrith). It sorts out club games provided Shark Park gets some new corporate areas in its finish. Leave ANZ the way it is for Prelim, GF's and Origin absolutely no club games.

However if I was the NRL and there was no obstacles in a hypothetical world. Instead of the Liverpool stadium I would get the NRL along with govt to finance a new 35K Homebush stadium.

View attachment 43568

- Pacific Test 1
- International Test 1

So roughly 36 RL games a year at the stadium with the option of concerts etc during the off season. Also earn income off naming rights. NRL could sell a stadium membership for the hardcore that like to watch more games. Will have a new direct train line from city and Parramatta not to mention plenty of parking around.

I think that is a much better idea than Liverpool and there is no reason it shouldn't happen.

View attachment 43568

- Pacific Test 1
- International Test 1

That would cost the NRL around $9mill a year in lost ticket sales for Origin and GF, unless you support $450 tickets at the 55k Allianz stadium to make up the shortfall? We need a 85k national rectangular stadium. Or are you suggetsing they shoudl build a 35k stadium right next door to ANZ??
What we didn't need was all that money wasted on a 55k allianz.

ash the bash

That would cost the NRL around $9mill a year in lost ticket sales for Origin and GF, unless you support $450 tickets at the 55k Allianz stadium to make up the shortfall? We need a 85k national rectangular stadium. Or are you suggetsing they shoudl build a 35k stadium right next door to ANZ??
What we didn't need was all that money wasted on a 55k allianz.

Im suggesting (not that it will happen) we leave ANZ stadium the way it is only used for Origins, Prelim finals and GF's. Build a 35K stadium next to it at the ground with the blue olympic tracks around it. Instead of doing a Liverpool stadium make a 35K stadium in olympic park for the Bulldogs, Wests Tigers & Souths. Not practical with ANZ and Bankwest close by but in my opinion you would get more value out of the stadium than having it at Liverpool. Its in the geographic centre of Sydney with heavy rail (inlcd new fast line Parr-City) and plenty of parking.

Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 13.33.01.png