Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2021 - Squad, Signings, Re-signings

I have heard that he doesn't listen to coaches instruction. I can't remember exactly how the story went but he was told strictly not to do something in a game yet went out and did it anyway. Morris then went off him.
At least that's what I heard.

I really want to sign him. If we can jag him then Hook and co could get him firing I reckon.
Fingers crossed.
If he is as you say then I hope we don't sign him.

We need Hook, Gentle & Elliott to focus on the entire team and the entire team to focus on Hook, Gentle & Elliott.

The last thing we need is rogue elements that require lots of hands on, personal one on one commitment from the coaching staff.

Hook will be delivering very simple messages and we don't want any diversions.

We are a team that needs to learn the basics and stick to it and repeat it time and time again before we go to the next level and funnily enough good basics will win a lot more games than show pony individualism.

Crush

If he is as you say then I hope we don't sign him.

We need Hook, Gentle & Elliott to focus on the entire team and the entire team to focus on Hook, Gentle & Elliott.

The last thing we need is rogue elements that require lots of hands on, personal one on one commitment from the coaching staff.

Hook will be delivering very simple messages and we don't want any diversions.

We are a team that needs to learn the basics and stick to it and repeat it time and time again before we go to the next level and funnily enough good basics will win a lot more games than show pony individualism.
I think if we are prepared to take the extremely risky option of signing Bird then we can take another risk on this kid who may need some extra attention.
I hope we get him.

Maddragon99

I have heard that he doesn't listen to coaches instruction. I can't remember exactly how the story went but he was told strictly not to do something in a game yet went out and did it anyway. Morris then went off him.
At least that's what I heard.

I really want to sign him. If we can jag him then Hook and co could get him firing I reckon.
Fingers crossed.
If reports are correct there are a number of Cronulla players in revolt against Morris which was why his contract hasn’t been extended. I’m prepared to give Magoulias the benefit of the doubt if he wants a fresh start with us

I think if we are prepared to take the extremely risky option of signing Bird then we can take another risk on this kid who may need some extra attention.
I hope we get him.
Hopefully if we do sign him, he will need no more extra direction apart from Griffin's opening statement.

Maddragon99

I hope we get him.
I’m actually all in on Bird, he’s come back to his junior club to reinvent himself. I think Bird will be a mainstay of our team for the next 5 or 6yrs.

Forbes Creek Dragons

I’m actually all in on Bird, he’s come back to his junior club to reinvent himself. I think Bird will be a mainstay of our team for the next 5 or 6yrs.
Maybe the same with Alvaro, moving back to his hometown might reawaken the beast. Prime age too at 27. I’m liking his purchase more as the days go by. He and Vaughan look a lot better than Vaughan and Graham or Vaughan and Latimore.

Maddragon99

Maybe the same with Alvaro, moving back to his hometown might reawaken the beast. Prime age too at 27. I’m liking his purchase more as the days go by. He and Vaughan look a lot better than Vaughan and Graham or Vaughan and Latimore.
All the players we’ve bought so far have been either underperforming or under appreciated. I’m totally fine with good players coming to Saints to prove themselves & send a F U to former clubs.

Auntie.Gerald

fascinated how Bird comes back from two ACL recons given his position at 5/8 , FB or Centre requires a fair amount of lateral movement......... oh well i suppose if Deano and Timmins could do it on one leg maybe Birdy can also

That left centre spot would be strongly contested and a place where Birdy could shine if his knees hold up

If you have done your ACL once then there is a 1 in 7 chance of doing your ACL again once back in intense training and or game day......guessing if you have don it twice the possibility is higher ?

Maddragon99

fascinated how Bird comes back from two ACL recons given his position at 5/8 , FB or Centre requires a fair amount of lateral movement......... oh well i suppose if Deano and Timmins could do it on one leg maybe Birdy can also

That left centre spot would be strongly contested and a place where Birdy could shine if his knees hold up

If you have done your ACL once then there is a 1 in 7 chance of doing your ACL again once back in intense training and or game day......guessing if you have don it twice the possibility is higher ?
Let’s be honest, Bird couldn’t give a f@ck about Brisbane he was only there for the money. I don’t think he rehabed his first ACL properly which lead to the second ACL. Now he’s back home & has pride in the jersey again. I think he’ll get back to his best form with us & prove his doubters wrong.

Crush

Let’s be honest, Bird couldn’t give a f@ck about Brisbane he was only there for the money. I don’t think he rehabed his first ACL properly which lead to the second ACL. Now he’s back home & has pride in the jersey again. I think he’ll get back to his best form with us & prove his doubters wrong.
Bird should never have left Sharks for Brisbane. They gave him his shot and he won a premiership. He shouldn't have chased the money. Then after he leaves the Broncos he takes a dig at them on the way out stating to media that he never felt wanted at Broncos.
He sounds like a bit of a tool.
Just play football son, leave the bitching and moaning alone.
Ohh, and it looks like he is hanging out with Corey Norman a lot. Thats a concern......

Reactions: jak

Maddragon99

Bird should never have left Sharks for Brisbane. They gave him his shot and he won a premiership. He shouldn't have chased the money. Then after he leaves the Broncos he takes a dig at them on the way out stating to media that he never felt wanted at Broncos.
He sounds like a bit of a tool.
Just play football son, leave the bitching and moaning alone.
Ohh, and it looks like he is hanging out with Corey Norman a lot. Thats a concern......
It’s quiet possible he didn’t give a f@ck about Cronulla either which is why he bailed. He’s a Saints product so therefore I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt. Remember he left us because he was stuck behind Benji, another master stroke from the super coach

getsmarty

Dragons: Ellis happy to stay off the tools
Dragons Den
r0_0_4496_2997_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

HARD SLOG: Dragons prop Kaide Ellis (right) says preseason torture sessions still beat being on the tools. Picture: Dragons Media
AS a tradie, Dragons prop Kaide Ellis makes a helluva footballer.

It's a frank admission from the 24-year-old, who was considering putting his carpentry apprenticeship to work back in Dubbo when he found himself stuck in NRL purgatory after the 2020 season came to a close.

After eight games in two seasons with Penrith, Ellis made a mid-year shift to the Dragons last season in an effort to get more regular first grade action.

He made a fair fist of it, but it was only when his former Penrith coach Anthony Griffin came calling at the end of November that he knew he'd be returning to Wollongong. Thankfully, it means he can leave the tool belt at home for now.

"At the moment I've nearly finished my carpentry trade but I have no idea what I'm doing, I'm shocking," Ellis said.

"The boys give me a bit of stick because they've busted their arses for five years doing an apprenticeship, I've done one in two years playing footy, and I've got no idea what I'm doing.

"Obviously the goal at the back end of the season was to sign on again but it took a bit longer than I expected so I ended up moving back home to Dubbo. I don't know if [carpentry's] what I wanted to do but, short-term, I probably would have fallen into that.

"You've got to plan for things but I tried not to give it too much energy because I didn't want it to happen. I sort of put all my eggs in the footy basket and thankfully it worked out."

While he's unlikely to lead with that in his resume post-football, he's hoping he won't need to use it until well into the future after signing a one-year extension, keeping him at the Dragons until the end of 2021.

He's looking to turn that into a longer extension after re-uniting with Griffin, who gave him his NRL debut in 2018. It'll be a welcome boost for the Dragons if he can, with the likes of Tyson Frizell, James Graham and Korbin Sims departing.

The club has added Poasa Faamausili and Daniel Alvaro to it's top 30 and Ellis is turning his attention to the healthy competition for a spot in the 17 come round one.

"It went a bit quiet there for a bit but once I got the call from [Griffin] it was a very easy decision to make," he said.

"I was starting to put a few [non-football] plans in place but I wasn't taking them too seriously because I didn't want it to happen. Footy was the goal, I wasn't done with it.

"He gave me a call out of the blue and asked what I was doing. I hadn't heard what was going on and he said he had a spot there for me and he wanted me to take it and it was pretty good thing to here when I didn't think anything was going to come from it.

"I finished [2020] pretty well. I made the move to play games and I achieved that goal, obviously that doesn't mean anything now with the new coaches and the way the club's heading, so I'm just trying to bust my bum now and trying and lock down that spot in the 17."

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/7064329/dragons-ellis-happy-to-stay-off-the-tools/?cs=3713

George Dragon

St George Illawarra youngsters Max and Mat Feagai and Cody Ramsey putting the heat on veterans for a starting spot in 2021

St George Illawarra is stacked with talent in the backs and new coach Anthony Griffin has a headache to decide who makes the cut in the starting five for round one.

It might be the only pre-season dilemma an NRL coach wants to have – a logjam for key positions.

That’s the headache facing new St George Illawarra coach Anthony Griffin with at least nine players vying for a starting spot in the back five including exciting twins Max and Mat Feagai, 19, and explosive winger Cody Ramsey.

Zac Lomax has the right centre spot sewn up after a standout 2020 season, which was rewarded with selection in Brad Fittler’s NSW Blues squad.

It leaves Brayden Wiliame in a fight for the left centre position with newcomer Jack Bird and Max Feagai, who made his NRL debut in round 19 this year.

“With a bloke like Birdy, he is a footy player so wherever you put him he is going to thrive and he is going to shine. He just needs to get his body right and wherever he gets put in he’s going to do his job plus more,” Wiliame said.

Griffin told The Daily Telegraph, Bird, who has been limited to 17 games in two seasons after suffering a second ACL injury in March, is likely to be eased back via the bench.

“He hasn’t played much footy in the last two to three years so there won’t be an expectation that he hits the ground and has to play 80 minutes every week,” Griffin said.

“I don’t want to push him. I want to make sure he is comfortable and to get some miles into his legs.”

Wiliame, 28, was axed after a ‘shocking’ display against Newcastle in round 19 and is now determined to beat Bird and Feagai for a starting spot in 2021.

“Pressure wise, I seem to thrive under that sort of pressure. I wasn’t guaranteed anything last year and I came in and had a big pre-season and it feels exactly the same with a new set of coaching staff to impress,” Wiliame said.

Matt Dufty is the favourite to retain the No.1 jersey. It leaves more experienced campaigners Jordan Pereira, 27, and Mikaele Ravalawa, 23, to battle it out for a place on the edges with Ramsey, 20, who scored a double on his debut against Canberra in round 18.

As well as vying for a place at centre, the Feagai twins will also come into contention for an edge spot.

Like Wiliame, Pereira was dropped after his performance against the Knights and desperate to impress coach Griffin and reclaim a position on the wing.

“I have a chip of my shoulder now and I really want to work as hard as I can to earn my jersey back,” Pereira said.

“The way I look at it, it got taken away from me, it’s not mine anymore so I just have to put my best foot forward and get that jersey back.

“Everyone in the NRL top 30, they are quality players, you always have to fight every single day to get a jersey.”

Despite the fierce competition, neither Pereira or Wiliame are willing to shy away from the challenge and are using the rise of the club’s young guns as motivation to perform in the pre-season.

“The Feagai boys and Cody Ramsey are going to be the ones that will come through the quickest,” Wilaime said.

“Junior Amone, he’s impressed me with his training. Real aggressive for a little dude and he’s only 18.

“The young guys are really good, they are stars of the future and I know that.

“It’s healthy competition. I don’t take it personally and they are really good kids as well so I’m enjoying training with them at the moment.”

Junior 18, has been lighting up pre-season training after being upgraded to a development contract for season 2021. The playmaker won’t be eligible to make his NRL debut until after round 16 next season.

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...CI5iCoTyVvNyges8_Kyc0wqOLWJvrPPffmcJ5uBt4dTdY

getsmarty

St George Illawarra youngsters Max and Mat Feagai and Cody Ramsey putting the heat on veterans for a starting spot in 2021

St George Illawarra is stacked with talent in the backs and new coach Anthony Griffin has a headache to decide who makes the cut in the starting five for round one.

It might be the only pre-season dilemma an NRL coach wants to have – a logjam for key positions.

That’s the headache facing new St George Illawarra coach Anthony Griffin with at least nine players vying for a starting spot in the back five including exciting twins Max and Mat Feagai, 19, and explosive winger Cody Ramsey.

Zac Lomax has the right centre spot sewn up after a standout 2020 season, which was rewarded with selection in Brad Fittler’s NSW Blues squad.

It leaves Brayden Wiliame in a fight for the left centre position with newcomer Jack Bird and Max Feagai, who made his NRL debut in round 19 this year.

“With a bloke like Birdy, he is a footy player so wherever you put him he is going to thrive and he is going to shine. He just needs to get his body right and wherever he gets put in he’s going to do his job plus more,” Wiliame said.

Griffin told The Daily Telegraph, Bird, who has been limited to 17 games in two seasons after suffering a second ACL injury in March, is likely to be eased back via the bench.

“He hasn’t played much footy in the last two to three years so there won’t be an expectation that he hits the ground and has to play 80 minutes every week,” Griffin said.

“I don’t want to push him. I want to make sure he is comfortable and to get some miles into his legs.”

Wiliame, 28, was axed after a ‘shocking’ display against Newcastle in round 19 and is now determined to beat Bird and Feagai for a starting spot in 2021.

“Pressure wise, I seem to thrive under that sort of pressure. I wasn’t guaranteed anything last year and I came in and had a big pre-season and it feels exactly the same with a new set of coaching staff to impress,” Wiliame said.

Matt Dufty is the favourite to retain the No.1 jersey. It leaves more experienced campaigners Jordan Pereira, 27, and Mikaele Ravalawa, 23, to battle it out for a place on the edges with Ramsey, 20, who scored a double on his debut against Canberra in round 18.

As well as vying for a place at centre, the Feagai twins will also come into contention for an edge spot.

Like Wiliame, Pereira was dropped after his performance against the Knights and desperate to impress coach Griffin and reclaim a position on the wing.

“I have a chip of my shoulder now and I really want to work as hard as I can to earn my jersey back,” Pereira said.

“The way I look at it, it got taken away from me, it’s not mine anymore so I just have to put my best foot forward and get that jersey back.

“Everyone in the NRL top 30, they are quality players, you always have to fight every single day to get a jersey.”

Despite the fierce competition, neither Pereira or Wiliame are willing to shy away from the challenge and are using the rise of the club’s young guns as motivation to perform in the pre-season.

“The Feagai boys and Cody Ramsey are going to be the ones that will come through the quickest,” Wilaime said.

“Junior Amone, he’s impressed me with his training. Real aggressive for a little dude and he’s only 18.

“It’s healthy competition. I don’t take it personally and they are really good kids as well so I’m enjoying training with them at the moment.”

Junior 18, has been lighting up pre-season training after being upgraded to a development contract for season 2021. The playmaker won’t be eligible to make his NRL debut until after round 16 next season.

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...CI5iCoTyVvNyges8_Kyc0wqOLWJvrPPffmcJ5uBt4dTdY

Thanks for posting @George Dragon

Forbes Creek Dragons

Thanks more like it.

Maddragon99

Embarrassment of riches, but surely the journeyman Williame & JP are nothing more than back up players. It has to be Feagai & Ramsey on the left.

getsmarty

Competition heating up at the Dragons
Local Sport
r0_380_4496_2998_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

HOT SEAT: Brayden Wiliame and Jordan Pereira are in the thick of a fierce preseason battle for spots come round one next season. Picture: Dragons Media

HE played 15 of 20 games last season but Dragons winger Jordan Pereira doesn't see himself as an incumbent, insisting the slate has wiped clean following the arrival of new coach Anthony Griffin.

Piecing together the backline puzzle will be one of the top items on Griffin's agenda with a host of veterans and young bucks vying for spots come round one. Zac Lomax is a lock at right centre, while Matt Dufty can expect first crack at the No. 1 jumper he finally made his own last season. Beyond that, just about every position us up for grabs.

Big-money halves Corey Norman and Ben Hunt attracted fierce criticism in a forgettable 2020 for the club, with Norman dropped mid-season and Hunt shifted to hooker. There are still plenty who believe Hunt's best position is dummy-half, while Norman will have the fend off a challenge from Adam Clune and highly-touted youngster Jayden Sullivan to keep his spot.

Pereira is in a battle on the flanks with Mikaele Ravalawa and another young sensation in Cody Ramsey, while Max and Matt Feagai are in the centre-wing picture that also includes Brayden Wiliame.

Read more: Home truly where the heart is for coach Bird

Throw in returning local junior Jack Bird, who's equally adept in the centres or the spine, and it becomes a trickier task for Griffin. Pereira says the whole squad is going about making sure it's a pleasant headache.

"There's not a club in the NRL that doesn't have competition for a jersey," Pereira said.

"Everyone in the top 30 is a quality player so you've always got to fight every single day to get a jersey. One thing I've really noticed about the young guys coming through is there confidence, they just believe in themselves like I never used to when I was that age.

"That's something really inspiring to me to be honest. Confidence is something I've always struggled with so to see young 18-19-year-old come in and just be 'yep, I've got this'.

"When I look at them and see how confident they are it makes me think 'why should I not be confident?'. I've played some NRL now and I've got what it takes so I need to believe in myself as much as someone who hasn't yet... but they will one day."

While he's impressed with the rookies' confidence, the 27-year-old late bloomer insists he won't be getting out their way en route to round one next season.

"When I look back on my season I am proud of what I produced but I know for a fact I can bring more," Pereira said.

"Some suspensions didn't help and I had a shocker against Newcastle [in round 19] which saw me get dropped. I didn't get to play in the final round which I was available for so I've got a little bit of a chip on my shoulder now.

"I consider it taken from me, it's not mine anymore, so I've got to work as hard as I can to earn that jersey back."

Wiliame is in the same boat having returned to the NRL last season after three years in the Super League. He claimed the left centre position but missed the bulk of the season after suffering a calf injury in round four. He'll now have a fight on his hands from the likes of Feagai and possibly Bird to fill the spot left vacant by the departure of Euan Aitken.

'The young boys are really good, they're stars of the future and I know that," Wiliame said.

"It's healthy competition, I don't take that stuff personally and they're really good kids as well. I think the Feagai boys and Cody Ramsey are the ones that'll come through the quickest, given two of them [Ramsey and Max Feagai] have already debuted.

"And you know with someone like Birdy, he's just a footy player, so wherever you put him he's going to shine. He just needs to get his body right and wherever he gets put he'll do the job plus more."

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...n-on-for-young-and-old-at-the-dragons/?cs=302