Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

JokerEel

I really like Papali'i, but he doesn't have Matterson's speed, kicking game, defence (not that Papali'i is a bad defender), or utility value.

The fact that Matterson cab play edge, lock, centre, and 5/8 makes him more valuable on that alone, imo.

But I, too, am concerned about Matterson's long-term health - another concussion could be disastrous for for guy.

We need a second rower not a good Utility..

Ice has played second row alot better than anyone at the club for the past two season.

IFR33K

Matterson may not have been at his best yesterday, but when he is at his best, he is a cut above Papali'i - and I rate Papali'i.

Matterson is elite level.

Don't forget he's missed quite a bit of footy due to Katfusi's thuggish play.

Sorry mate, haven’t seen much from matto in eels colours to suggest he’s anything special. Apart from his deep breathing. Papa is cut from different cloth. He’s tough and determined, fearless and hungry

I agree. I don't recall a MOM performance. Even Lane had a bigger impact in his first season with us. Gee his forms dropped from then. He was dynamite with Manu on other side.

Glenneel

Given that the only 2 teams with a better defensive record than us are the same 2 team who you think are the only 2 teams capable of winning the comp this year.........oh forget it.
If you think we're in the same ballpark as the Storm and Penrith good on you. If you're in denial over our defence you'll probably be like BA and leave Blake in the team this week. Our edge defence is poor and always has been. Against Manly Blake was constantly caught out 20 metres infield and they had a field day against him as our sliding was poor to non-existent. Do you know we're top 5 in ineffective tackles? These are not the things that endear confidence that we're any closer to a premiership.

Glenneel

Both teams also have rep-level halves, and coaches with way more experience than BA...

We could certainly use some more pace put wide, but lack of speed isn't the reason why Moses had no idea on what to do on the last yesterday, or why we had no sense of game management...
Yes another reason not to endear confidence. However, if our defence becomes more leak proof, I think that will improve as we're not under massive pressure to score points where we tend to lose focus and become more hectic. Fix our defence and we'll stay more composed in attack.

I'd also consider and this may surprise people but Waqa bulking up and moved to edge forward. He has the perfect physique for it and could be damaging. Firstly try him on wing. If doesn't cut it he become a bench edge forward over off season and adds 7kgs to his frame.

Glenneel

I heard The Drongos offered him one million over 3 years. If that's correct it's cheap as (greek) chips. $400k per season should do it.
Donkeys will offer around $1m a season if they can fix their cap. I'd say around $700-750k would get him over the line.

There is one in Annandale that's Greek run.Fat Fish. Most are run by Chinese now and imo most are extremely poor quality. I've thrown a few bits of fish in the bin they where that ordinary and I generaly am not fussy.
Even with take away I find the best are run by Lebanese. They always have fresh food and do not cheap out on what they put on your sandwich.
Ditch the fast food mate. Your hairdresser girl would not like it.

I reckon Ice has done more in 11 games than Matto has in 2 years. I'm not knocking Matto but I just reckon Ice has been and is better. I guess the next few weeks will sort all of that out. It's an interesting question. Given Ice would need to be upgraded to Mattos money, and if we could only keep one, who would it be. One more Matto head knock would be telling. Tricky for sure.

I really like Papali'i, but he doesn't have Matterson's speed, kicking game, defence (not that Papali'i is a bad defender), or utility value.

The fact that Matterson cab play edge, lock, centre, and 5/8 makes him more valuable on that alone, imo.

But I, too, am concerned about Matterson's long-term health - another concussion could be disastrous for for guy.
We need a second rower not a good Utility..

Ice has played second row alot better than anyone at the club for the past two season.

I don't agree.

That's fine. That's your opinion.

A lot of you guys go on about Frizzell, Cricthon, and Kikau - Matterson's stats are equal to all of those (except Kikau's attacking stats, because he's a freak).

I agree. I don't recall a MOM performance. Even Lane had a bigger impact in his first season with us. Gee his forms dropped from then. He was dynamite with Manu on other side.

A Man Of The Match performance isn't the only key metric to analyse a player's quality - Tom Trbojevic won Man Of The Match against us, but I thought their forwards were fantastic, and belted us info frustration.

In football, a striker who scores three goals will likely win MOTM - but the CAM who set up all the opportunities for him, and defended like a demon, goes unrewarded.

Papali'i has been great, but at this stage, he isn't at the same level as Matterson - Matterson's defensive quality alone makes him a superior player, as well as his skill level.

Papali'i may well surpass him - but he's not there yet.

JokerEel

A Man Of The Match performance isn't the only key metric to analyse a player's quality - Tom Trbojevic won Man Of The Match against us, but I thought their forwards were fantastic, and belted us info frustration.

In football, a striker who scores three goals will likely win MOTM - but the CAM who set up all the opportunities for him, and defended like a demon, goes unrewarded.

Papali'i has been great, but at this stage, he isn't at the same level as Matterson - Matterson's defensive quality alone makes him a superior player, as well as his skill level.

I don't see Mattos good defence he is one of the reasons Waqas defence is so bad.

Gazzamatta

Personally I'd prefer our edges revert to Matto and Lane with Ice being our middle benchy who makes a difference 20 minutes in.

TheRam

On players to sign for speed and ability to turn a game on its head for our slow and sad backline.

I would be going all out and try every love tactic to snatch this kid from under the Raiders nose. I believe he is a free agent now with his contract finishing this year 2021 too.

He is the QLD State sprint champion and a footballer not just an athlete.

He is the other Xavier...the Savage one. I would not be resigning Ferguson again and offer this kid a deal he would find very hard to refuse. I would also be telling Waqa to look elsewhere.

With the Raiders going terribly this season, maybe now is the perfect time to pounce. He is a natural, 19 years old, just over 6ft and around 90kg with more speed then almost anyone and will only get bigger, stronger and quicker. These are the types of players we need to identify and bring to our club. Before they become superstars and to expensive to lure across.

He would be the priority junior I would be serenading big time. We would solve a hell of a lot of our speed issues if we could get this kid at our club. Also being from QLD, he isn't adverse to moving cities and Canberra isn't his childhood club, so would make it much easier to coax him.

Below are just some highlights of him in the lower grades and growing up playing footy..

https://www.canberratimes.com.au/st...g-gun-impresses-as-qld-clinch-national-title/

upload_2021-5-25_13-16-29.png

TheRam

I don't know why that first link won't display or why it only loads the links as video displays and not just the link that you can click on.

Oh well.

But anyway, if anyone has contacts with someone with influence at the club, maybe ask them to take a look at this kid. I don't think they would regret it.

On players to sign for speed and ability to turn a game on its head for our slow and sad backline.

I would be going all out and try every love tactic to snatch this kid from under the Raiders nose. I believe he is a free agent now with his contract finishing this year 2021 too.

He is the QLD State sprint champion and a footballer not just an athlete.

He is the other Xavier...the Savage one. I would not be resigning Ferguson again and offer this kid a deal he would find very hard to refuse. I would also be telling Waqa to look elsewhere.

With the Raiders going terribly this season, maybe now is the perfect time to pounce. He is a natural, 19 years old, just over 6ft and around 90kg with more speed then almost anyone and will only get bigger, stronger and quicker. These are the types of players we need to identify and bring to our club. Before they become superstars and to expensive to lure across.

He would be the priority junior I would be serenading big time. We would solve a hell of a lot of our speed issues if we could get this kid at our club. Also being from QLD, he isn't adverse to moving cities and Canberra isn't his childhood club, so would make it much easier to coax him.

Below are just some highlights of him in the lower grades and growing up playing footy..

https://www.canberratimes.com.au/st...g-gun-impresses-as-qld-clinch-national-title/

View attachment 48788
I’ll make a call tonight.