Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

No. Its a sign of ineffective roster management and not having people connected to our club like Uncle Nick and Big Russ. Are we still ignoring 3rd party opportunities?
Roosters spine next year is Teddy, Keary, Walker, Cheese. 😳
And dont forget we have The Shrub and Captain Rankin waiting and ready to go. Ffs Gronky.
Unsure what will happen to Shrub with Dantoray hot on his heels.

They are traditionally, with the occasional exception smaller and more agile then big lumbering props and can roam more and cover defend all over the place. Like Hindy used to who said he was really the lock in our team but wanted the 11 jersey and therefore didn't change it.

When was the last time you saw locks regularly take the hitup from the kickoffs? Locks have varying rolls depending on their skill set. Front rowers are more locked into their roll of carting it up the middle or slightly wider to work over the halves and offload if the have that ability. Not to many props are running all over the place like a quality lock can. They have similar rolls yes, but different as explained.

Remember you don't want to be burning the crap out of your props doing extra running like a lock does and can. You want them to focus primarily on winning the middle.

Sides like Storm,Rooster,Souths,Penrith have a fast lock with skill. Penrith are able to dominate games using one genuine prop on the field. The times have changed. Let's hope BA will work it out.

IFR33K

Nah bullcrap, I have interpreted it correctly. Storm are under cap pressure, but it’s different for them because they have won the comp a few times. So that leaves us with what strategy? Assuming they are doing it correctly?

sorry mate your comprehension skills are right up there with your footy knowledge.

maybe run a few more marathons a year and stay away from here, cause you add absolutely nothing. Yet think otherwise.

Effective cap management does not allow for overpaying of players above what the club believes they are reasonably worth to them.

If we offer Moses $1 million a season, and the (let's say, for example) Roosters come in and offer $1.25 million, effective cap management - much to the chagrin of fans - is to let the player go.

Seeing players leave is not a sign of ineffective cap management.
Agreed, look at the Storm. They are constantly losing players.

RCG and Blake had Penrith topping their contracts. When does Penrith paying them stop? RCG didn’t take up his player option and renegotiated. I’m sure he probably secured a few more $$$. Guth took us to the cleaners.

That's all done now as far as chipping in......
Blake was 2yrs and RCG 3yrs. You might be correct in RCG thou. This maybe his 3rd year?

Guth squeezed us. Imo we should of said 700k or good bye.

Gazzamatta

Holy sh*t Gronky. Not sure you are allowed to mention Mr D on this forum.
Yeah like I said. Ppl in high places "supporting" players with financial advice etc are definitely a missing link at our club.

No chance we paid $400k for Hodgson. You f**king serious?

Yes. He was on 800k and one of the best hookers in game. The fact we only gave him one year with a 2nd in our favour means we paid higher then if we guaranteed him 2yrs.
What do people think he would of cost? If it wasn't 400k it would of been close. Atleast 350k imo.
I doubt he hangs around in the NRL for 200k for one year

TheRam

I have a bad feeling, our team will be disassembled over the next couple of yrs, we are not like the big clubs who don’t lose players, they want to keep, I also believe as stated before, our players prefer the $$$$ as opposed to winning the comp like the top clubs, they don’t have the affinity with Parra, therefore move on, I honestly don’t know why, though?

I think with this group the Captain can take a large portion of the blame after his carry on in the last two re-signing cycles. Very ordinary example set for all the others to follow. Prioritized getting every last dollar out of the club over the privilege to play at such a great and strong club.

Basically gave each and everyone of them the go ahead to hold out for the best possible offer as opposed to taking a little less and staying together and creating a large enough window to challenge for premierships over multiple years and long term success.

This is why I am very pissed off with him. He is a quality player and was never going to be duded or poor. But he chose a mercenary approach which is a cancer to football clubs under a salary cap system.

Teddy's on the down hill spiral. Guys like him once they lose that bit of explosiveness they are done very fast. Manu wil be there fullback within 2 seasons. Teddy will be sent packing

Gee. You make out like we are flushed with cash.
I'd say Mahoneys money is taken by Hodgson.
Everyone else leaving is on under 250k. We can probably save 150k on Mattersons last contract.
Penisini will need an upgrade. D.Brown prob will also.
At best we can f**k Sivo off and have 400k there. We could afford guys like Doorey from the Dogs and Mariner. Not much else.
Yeah people have to be content with Simonssen types on the wing and reserves etc if we are gonna be payin moses and drown the big bucks and keeping the squad mostly intact.

Fine pay big for the good ones, but dont bitch and moan when your lesser players in the 17 arent so great.

Soto

We have some good quality and up and coming outside backs in Russell, Loizou, Naiduki and Komolafe.
Farnsworth would be an astute acquisition but don't see it happening.
My concern for next yr and yes don't want to look too far ahead because we have a massive opportunity this year but hooker and backrow is where I see we could be short on quality.
I would be giving matto another 2-3 years. Versatile and experienced campaigner and I think he's been playing great this year. Probably best suited to lock for mine but can capably do a job in the backrow when needed

Teddy's on the down hill spiral. Guys like him once they lose that bit of explosiveness they are done very fast. Manu wil be there fullback within 2 seasons. Teddy will be sent packing
You totally missed the point. His current contract in that spine must be north of $1m.

84 Baby

Yes. He was on 800k and one of the best hookers in game. The fact we only gave him one year with a 2nd in our favour means we paid higher then if we guaranteed him 2yrs.
What do people think he would of cost? If it wasn't 400k it would of been close. Atleast 350k imo.
I doubt he hangs around in the NRL for 200k for one year
Well zerotackle has him on $700k this year, then some site called seriousaboutrl says he’s taking a paycut of over half his current contract of $800k, so let’s say $450k. 700 - 450 is $250k. And players always say media inflates the actual amount so $200k a year seems pretty bang on by my calculations.

I mentioned this before. We have had a chance for a premiership. We have one this season.
Our squad will be weaker next year. We had 2 options. Write 2023 off as a rebuild season and let a few big names go. Or try and keep most of the squad and potentially fade slowly and further way from a title untill you end up in a red hot mess and need 3yrs to rebuild a new side while sitting in the bottom 5.
I feel like we need to be very carefull now. With Jnr,Rcg, and Guth I think we might end up in a mess come 2024.
If you wanted to sustain long term we had to let one of our props and Guth go. That would of kept 1.5 million to spend. We then would of kept our 6,7 and one prop and most likely Reed.
You then have to only worry about a fullback and a prop. Two of the easier positions to fill. Plus there is always plenty of talented wingers and centres who would love a chance to play fullback.

Well zerotackle has him on $700k this year, then some site called seriousaboutrl says he’s taking a paycut of over half his current contract of $800k, so let’s say $450k. 700 - 450 is $250k. And players always say media inflates the actual amount so $200k a year seems pretty bang on by my calculations.

We can all guess. At 200k I reckon atleast 3 or 4 clubs would of offered him a 2 yr deal but.
Anyhows the fact it is only 1yr is good.

That’s a kinda dumb justification re: cap management.
It is. They're not losing players because they've won premierships, they're losing players because they've developed them to the point they can no longer fit them under the cap. Whether they won a premiership or not is a separate issue. It just means that at their best they are so good they are almost guaranteed to win a comp every four or five years. At our best we're not that good but we are still good enough to consistently make the finals, and we are doing that by developing players. The result of this is being unable to fit them under the cap.

Yeah people have to be content with Simonssen types on the wing and reserves etc if we are gonna be payin moses and drown the big bucks and keeping the squad mostly intact.

Fine pay big for the good ones, but dont bitch and moan when your lesser players in the 17 arent so great.

I think you need 1 strike centre and wing with a few who are handy. Just like the Storm do.
Ideally the 2 cheaper options are talented juniors who give you good value. Like Tago and Taylan May

TheRam

Did anyone pick up that we signed Josh Hodgson on a 1 + 1 CO deal ?

Yes merkin. You're not the only one who can read. Did you notice that the article was printed in English? How lucky for us was that so we could all read that Josh signed for 1 + CO. Great stuff that.