Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

Do people still think Masks stop you from
Getting the virus??? Lol they stop you from spreading covid but they don’t stop you getting it. I wore them because it was the law but I still reckon it was BS because at the start even WHO even said masks won’t stop you from getting Covid. Nek Minnet world wide masks. And do we still call the so called vaccine a vaccine because it doesn’t stop anyone from getting Covid………..

@Suitman sorry to hear about your dad mate I hope all is well with your and your family.

It's funny as f**k how all these folk suddenly discover the west is propped up by exploitation of the global south, like it's something new, because you know renewables bad or some shit, all of a sudden they care.

I mean it's not like this shit hasn't been going on and propping up our wealth for f**king centuries, and far worse shit than chucking some kiddies in a hole.

I guess you gotta ask what kind of shit stain chooses to leverage that to fight the climate wars, cause savin' them kiddies aint the point there is it.

Nothing wrong with making the plant greener. But look at how we are going about it.

Right now you can get a BRAND NEW HEAT PUMP Hot water system for $35 from rebate. It saves ahead of energy. I mean that's great. It reduces your power bill and is better for the planet. Sign me up.

A few people are going how great this is. I was tempted but firstly I researched what tanks. And its one brand which is a CHINESE hot water tank. Its also the cheapest Heat pump style HWS on the market an no option of a atleast middle of the range product.

So we take put high quality AUSTRLAIAN MADE HWS that last 20+ yrs and help the Chinese economy by giving a rebate for their junk that won't last 5yrs. Sure it saves power but how much energy is wasted to deliver, manufacture,install, replace this unit when it last 4 times less.

Why did we do the same with LED LIGHT rebates. Unlike globes that can be replaced LED lights are sealed units. So putting in ones that die in 2yrs and made of plastic seems dumb as f**k. So why did they not have some sort of quality control?

We want to be greener? As I said prior. Keep the same furniture for your whole life. Wear your clothes u till they are no good not just out of fashion. By quality products so they last a long time.

Driving electric cars changes f**k all if we keep the same mentality to consume like motherf**kers.

The fact that they used to call it global warming but had to change it to climate change is pretty telling.
Really? You going with that as a reason? What about the data?

1672044276780.png

that they've been predicting disaster for decades and nothing seems to have come true. Sea levels didn't rise.
No-one predicted an overnight ooga booga, but I think any sensible analysis of the data would point to a greater frequency of floods, cyclones, bushfires etc.

...and to suggest that sea levels havent risen is incorrect.

1672044508073.png

And the earth has been heating and cooling long before humans were even here so I think being sceptical about this stuff is sensible.
No problems with being sceptical. But its only sensible if it comes from an informed position.

I’ll have you know that I spent Xmas day listening to merkins who were championing the big pharma just a flu hoax, “Trump is a legend and cracks me up” and (wait for it) said that the compensation paid to the teen who got recruited on Epstein Island was a joke cos “she knew what she was doing”. I was a very good host and said zip, poured the wine and passed the gravy. 👍

What did you eat for christmas? I'm on powerful antibiotics so no alcohol. We had pavolva for dessert and a rabbit for lunch

Do people still think Masks stop you from
Getting the virus??? Lol they stop you from spreading covid but they don’t stop you getting it. I wore them because it was the law but I still reckon it was BS because at the start even WHO even said masks won’t stop you from getting Covid. Nek Minnet world wide masks. And do we still call the so called vaccine a vaccine because it doesn’t stop anyone from getting Covid………..

@Suitman sorry to hear about your dad mate I hope all is well with your and your family.
They don't even stop you spreading it, at least no real evidence for that. Yet we all had to do it and are being urged to do it again. There has to be a reason but it isn't what they're saying.

I know. I do funny sometimes.
Funny how???

martin scorsese goodfellas GIF

I think it’s reasonable to question whether the supply chain for renewables is sustainable. Plenty of smart investors are.

People can try and use this as an argument to continue with fossil fuels but there is too much momentum. Thermal coal is being progressively phased out whether people like it or not.

Developed countries like Australia with an abundance of critical minerals have an opportunity to make renewables more sustainable. It also reduces a significant sovereign risk given the world’s reliance on China.

Problem is that there are a bunch of NIMBY’s and activists in Australia that will oppose any kind of development, including environmentally sound and responsible projects.
I guess my point is that the transition will bring with it speed humps, however that does not mean that efforts should be abandoned. The reliance on rare earth minerals and extraction methods certainly needs ethical scrutiny as does the sustainability of solar panels and everything EV etc, however some seem to be using it as a reason to abandon the transition.

They don't even stop you spreading it, at least no real evidence for that. Yet we all had to do it and are being urged to do it again. There has to be a reason but it isn't what they're saying.
I see people driving in their cars alone wearing masks, lol I mean WTF??? Some people would be happy to wear masks going forward forever I mean fair f**king dinkum.

Really? You going with that as a reason? What about the data?

View attachment 69036

No-one predicted an overnight ooga booga, but I think any sensible analysis of the data would point to a greater frequency of floods, cyclones, bushfires etc.

...and to suggest that sea levels havent risen is incorrect.

View attachment 69037

No problems with being sceptical. But its only sensible if it comes from an informed position.

Isn't the planet getting 2cm closer to the sun every year but? Maybe I am wrong. Anyhows like I said. We are pinning the solution on one are. It's dumb. Stop commercialism.

There has to be a reason but it isn't what they're saying.
Maybe it's the mega onslaught of millions of Covid deaths in China that will start to hit even the msm news in coming days and weeks...

And maybe it's the 3+ new variants that are already in Australia, and estimated to be taking up over 20% of current cases basedo n Victoria sewage analysis (that has been in the news, but pretty low key because... Christmas, Boxing Day sales, buy stuff, Warnie).