Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why is perth bid so secretive?!

Maximus

Do you weirdos spend $30 a month on kayo, and only watch 1 sport?

I'm pretty sure when I watch cricket or NFL that the viewer count is increased by the exact same amount as when I watch NRL.

and so you don't think those ratings would increase with their own team to support?
What makes you think the introduction of a Perth-based team will lead to more Western Australians watching games that don't feature it?

NRL games not involving the Storm attract 8k viewers in Melbourne.

Of the 73 FTA games broadcast into Melbourne during the regular system, only 12 feature the Storm.

Canard

What makes you think the introduction of a Perth-based team will lead to more Western Australians watching games that don't feature it?

Of the 73 FTA games broadcast into Melbourne during the regular system, only 12 feature the Storm.
Why would having a local team generate more interest in the sport?

Is that a real question?

Cheaper easier access, yeh I reckon it did, I know I subscribed in 2021. Regardless in the total absence of this years data its a BS claim he is making. Its an opinion of his, not a fact.

Wookie has a graph on Foxtel and Kayo subscriptions. There were 2,800,000 commercial/residential Foxtel customers before Kayo. Now there's just 1,600,000.

That's a loss of 1,200,000 commercial/residential customers.

Guess how many Kayo customers there are?

Just 1,300,000. That's a gain of just 100,000 potential sports viewers. We don't know how many of the remaining commercial and residential Foxtel customers watch sport. Many would be old buggers who don't know they're being ripped off. Plenty of people got Foxtel back in the 90s because they had poor reception.

Foxsubs.png

Wookie has a graph on Foxtel and Kayo subscriptions. There were 2,800,000 commercial/residential Foxtel customers before Kayo. Now there's just 1,600,000.

That's a loss of 1,200,000 commercial/residential customers.

Guess how many Kayo customers there are?

Just 1,300,000. That's a gain of just 100,000 potential sports viewers. We don't know how many of the remaining commercial and residential Foxtel customers watch sport. Many would be old buggers who don't know they're being ripped off. Plenty of people got Foxtel back in the 90s because they had poor reception.

Foxsubs.png
Your being disingenuous with those stats. For a like for like you'd have to compare number of foxsports subscribers and Kayo.
Across the Fox full streaming options there are 2.76million subscribers, up 25% YoY.
Foxtel traditional subscribers were down 8%.
Foxtel reported a net gain overall of 10%
Kayo increased by 11%.

Point remains until you can show me how many people watched NRl in perth on Foxsports and Kayo youre just giving an opinion.

Pippen94

There's none. Perth will attractive very few new fans..

Ok so in the name of science, and despite I think Oztams sampling size is total bollox, heres the FTA figures for melbourne and perth regular season in 2023. Not every game every round is included as 11 NRL games never made FTA top 20 audience list and didnt include Sat games.
(Source tv tonight)

Perth
Thurs night avg 9,200
Fri night avg 6,923
Sun avg 15,142

Highest 16,000, lowest 3,000

Total audience 576,000
Total Avg 10,422

Melbourne

Thurs night avg 17,050
Fri night avg 9,730
Sun avg 7,925

Highest 61,000, lowest 3,000

Total audience 808,000
Total Avg 11,568

(melbournes avg significantly effected by the odd time Storm where on main channel on FTA and rated 60k plus)

Wb1234

Ok so in the name of science, and despite I think Oztams sampling size is total bollox, heres the FTA figures for melbourne and perth regular season in 2023. Not every game every round is included as 11 NRL games never made FTA top 20 audience list and didnt include Sat games.
(Source tv tonight)

Perth
Thurs night avg 9,200
Fri night avg 6,923
Sun avg 15,142

Highest 16,000, lowest 3,000

Total audience 576,000
Total Avg 10,422

Melbourne

Thurs night avg 17,050
Fri night avg 9,730
Sun avg 7,925

Highest 61,000, lowest 3,000

Total audience 808,000
Total Avg 11,568

(melbournes avg significantly effected by the odd time Storm where on main channel on FTA and rated 60k plus)
Proof an nrl team in Perth won’t lead to a massive rise in ratings

hasn’t happened in Melbourne

Proof an nrl team in Perth won’t lead to a massive rise in ratings

hasn’t happened in Melbourne
Or you could put the other lens on it and say despite not having a team for 25 years Perth is nearly as high as melbourne (take out the big storm games on fta and Perth is higher) and likely to increase beyond with a team of its own

What it did show me as I was looking at round by round is how sht Ch9 is at showing our game. 11 games it couldnt even crack the top 20 list and virtually never was it higher rating than AFL.

We've lost FTA audiences in giving news ltd everything they want.

Your being disingenuous with those stats. For a like for like you'd have to compare number of foxsports subscribers and Kayo.
Across the Fox full streaming options there are 2.76million subscribers, up 25% YoY.
Foxtel traditional subscribers were down 8%.
Foxtel reported a net gain overall of 10%
Kayo increased by 11%.

Point remains until you can show me how many people watched NRl in perth on Foxsports and Kayo youre just giving an opinion.

What's your argument?

Are you claiming that there weren't many Foxtel residential/commercial customers subscribed to the sports package?

We don't know how many were subscribed to the sports package. However, you've argued that everyone who has watched rugby league in Perth over the last 20 years were subscribed to the Foxtel sports package. Now you're walking back that claim and stating there's more people watching today via Foxtel residential/commercial and Kayo than there were prior to Kayo.

The statistics show there were 2.8 million Foxtel subscribers before Foxtel created Binge, Kayo and Foxtel Now.

Foxtel's residential/commercial customers have dropped to 1.63m.

Kayo has 1.13m paid subscribers. Altogether that 2.76m paid subscribers potentially watching sport on Foxtel residential/commercial and Kayo. You don't have any evidence that the amount of people watching sport via PTV has increased significantly. At least not via the information that we've seen.

Even if there has been a rise in subscriptions in Perth, it doesn't mean they're watching Fox League. They're probably glued to Fox Footy and Fox Cricket.

MugaB

What it did show me as I was looking at round by round is how sht Ch9 is at showing our game. 11 games it couldnt even crack the top 20 list and virtually never was it higher rating than AFL.

We've lost FTA audiences in giving news ltd everything they want.
Yes the coverage or commentary is shithouse, but if your splitting the same product over two mediums, your always going to have options/opinions of whats better, lets say there was no Foxtel for arguments sake, and it only shows on ch9..
Then you'd see a better representation of the codes worth, but because its split, its hard to see how many watch, don't forget pubs show the games, and you have 20-30 bogans like me watching super Saturday at the pub, that 20-30 get counted as one person... its all a stupid measurement, who cares fta or ptv

What's your argument?

Are you claiming that there weren't many Foxtel residential/commercial customers subscribed to the sports package?

We don't know how many were subscribed to the sports package. However, you've argued that everyone who has watched rugby league in Perth over the last 20 years were subscribed to the Foxtel sports package. Now you're walking back that claim and stating there's more people watching today via Foxtel residential/commercial and Kayo than there were prior to Kayo.

The statistics show there were 2.8 million Foxtel subscribers before Foxtel created Binge, Kayo and Foxtel Now.

Foxtel's residential/commercial customers have dropped to 1.63m.

Kayo has 1.13m paid subscribers. Altogether that 2.76m paid subscribers potentially watching sport on Foxtel residential/commercial and Kayo. You don't have any evidence that the amount of people watching sport via PTV has increased significantly. At least not via the information that we've seen.

Even if there has been a rise in subscriptions in Perth, it doesn't mean they're watching Fox League. They're probably glued to Fox Footy and Fox Cricket.
Again supposition. we just dont have the evidence for 2023 to argue the point either way. The only fact we know is there are more people now who have fox streaming and foxtel than there was in 2017. How many of them in are in perth and how many of them are watching NRl is anyones guess.

Or you could put the other lens on it and say despite not having a team for 25 years Perth is nearly as high as melbourne (take out the big storm games on fta and Perth is higher) and likely to increase beyond with a team of its own
FTA ratings for fumbleball in Perth were shit in 2023. Western Australians are every bit as parochial towards fumbleball as Victorians.

It's beyond delusional to think a Perth-based NRL team is going to add a significant amount of viewers.

Here's the AwFuL ratings for Perth in 2023:

In Perth, West Coast matches averaged 74,000 – down 22% – while Fremantle games fared worse – down 28% YoY and averaged 69,000. The Western Derby rated 155,000 and 154,000. Games involving neither Perth side averaged 45,000.

Perth average 56,000 (-23%)

If AwFuL's ratings in Perth dropped by 23% when the Eagles and Dockers struggled, what makes you think that a Perth-based NRL team -- which that is likely to be also-rans and finish bottom four on the ladder -- draw large ratings?

FTA ratings for fumbleball in Perth were shit in 2023. Western Australians are every bit as parochial towards fumbleball as Victorians.

It's beyond delusional to think a Perth-based NRL team is going to add a significant amount of viewers.

Here's the AwFuL ratings for Perth in 2023:

In Perth, West Coast matches averaged 74,000 – down 22% – while Fremantle games fared worse – down 28% YoY and averaged 69,000. The Western Derby rated 155,000 and 154,000. Games involving neither Perth side averaged 45,000.
Perth average 56,000 (-23%)

If AwFuL's ratings in Perth dropped by 23% when the Eagles and Dockers struggled, what makes you think that a Perth-based NRL team -- which that is likely to be also-rans and finish bottom four on the ladder -- draw large ratings?
No ones saying they will draw 'large ratings' But if they can get the current 11k or so fta avg up to 20k then thats a great start and a new audience growth for the sport. We build on that and maybe we get to 30k in another ten years and so it goes. Its called customer acquisition.