Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs Rumors, Signings and News

ADAM_SMITH

So the understanding with Trell and Bennet is that if he doesnt agree to what Bennet is saying is that Bennet will look to move him on or ask him to retire at seasons end!

The club cant justify his pay packet anymore.

The club is also looking to move Lewis Dodd on also.

speedster

Our halves can’t kick. Just like last year. Illas and Cody couldn’t kick it more than 30m. Trell has the biggest boot in the team. He needs to kick because we can make any run metres.
But then that's all he does. And his kicks are not that accurate. I say he should kick less as the second string kicker and all good teams have a half that does the majority of the kicking. Dodd has a decent boot on him. Not as good as Humphreys but Sullivan showed little in that department.

Wighton also has a big boot on him if Wayne wanted to stick him in the 6. Trell can launch a big bomb that's hard to take and he can also get a lot of distance if we're kicking from long range. Otherwise, I want him to focus on his running and passing games instead of being the game manager.

speedster

In the fair dinkum department, Latrell has had a bunch of false starts to this season. From the hammy in the preseason where he was looking as trim as he ever had, to starting the season in positions outside his usual one where he and the team trained all preseason, he finally gets his first game in his preferred position against the Storm in Melbourne - the toughest game for us to win - and gets binned and suspended for a clumsy tackle.

Now he's got to wait until round 10 to start over yet again. I hardly think it's at all fair to suggest he's on his last chance already and that Wayne is thinking of punting him or whatever. That's just feeding what some of the anti-Latrell brigade are wishing for.

Wayne is the Latrell and Cody whisperer. I fully expected him to be able to get the best out of our key players and all our players when he came back to Souths. But it's been a very disrupted start to the year so we have to be patient. Wayne will get them producing their best. Just got to get them back on the park and zoned in. Waving the big stick at them is unlikely to work and is not how Wayne operates.

handyman2190

So the understanding with Trell and Bennet is that if he doesnt agree to what Bennet is saying is that Bennet will look to move him on or ask him to retire at seasons end!

The club cant justify his pay packet anymore.

The club is also looking to move Lewis Dodd on also.
Honestly this is the best option,he just isnt putting in,his performances are lackluster, even papenhausen is on 700 odd, with his reported 1.1k we should be able to buy someone capable of showing enthusiasm, dodd should be killing it in reggies but isnt, and looks to be a waste of 700k we need to give this to humphrys.
Youd think after last year mitchel would perform, i dont blame bennet,he didnt come to not win,even cody his time is up,i would not resign him, too many injurys,worth not more than 300k

ADAM_SMITH

Honestly this is the best option,he just isnt putting in,his performances are lackluster, even papenhausen is on 700 odd, with his reported 1.1k we should be able to buy someone capable of showing enthusiasm, dodd should be killing it in reggies but isnt, and looks to be a waste of 700k we need to give this to humphrys.
Youd think after last year mitchel would perform, i dont blame bennet,he didnt come to not win,even cody his time is up,i would not resign him, too many injurys,worth not more than 300k
i mentioned yesterday that Lewis Dodd was looking to get moved on.

Didnt get picked in the team again.

Moreover, have it on good authority also, that Cody Walker will be asked to take 300 350 k next year if he doesnt accept they will not be resigning.

Johnstons last days are also coming.

There are too many aboriginal boys running the club.

Serious consideration is being given to Selwyn Cobbo to come in and play fullback next year!!! even talks of bringing adam reynolds back home for a year to mentor Ashton Ward, Matthew Humpreiyes from SG BALL.

Davy Moale looks to have won a race to sign a contract, Souths are also looking to extend Ravawala.

Albert Hopate, Mawene Hiroti, Lazerus Valeupu & Brent Naden are names that was also mentioned to.

Next Year pending Mitchell gets told to retire, Dodd gets told to move on, Walkers reduced contract could set them up with some money to spend.

Thumper

Moreover, have it on good authority also, that Cody Walker will be asked to take 300 350 k next year if he doesnt accept they will not be resigning.

Serious consideration is being given to Selwyn Cobbo to come in and play fullback next year!!! even talks of bringing adam reynolds back home for a year to mentor Ashton Ward, Matthew Humpreiyes from SG BALL.

Davy Moale looks to have won a race to sign a contract, Souths are also looking to extend Ravawala.

Albert Hopate, Mawene Hiroti, Lazerus Valeupu & Brent Naden are names that was also mentioned to.

Next Year pending Mitchell gets told to retire, Dodd gets told to move on, Walkers reduced contract could set them up with some money to spend.
Gave me a good laugh ready this. Bagging aboriginal boys about running the club then the very next sentence you suggest bringing Cobbo to the club.
They won’t move AJ on. He gets paid f**k all and they will let him get the record. Just like the did for Merritt in 2014.
souths don’t need outside backs. They need forwards with leg speed and a hooker who plays on the front foot.
This retirement chat about latrell is the biggest load of shit I’ve ever heard. He’s 28 in June. He won’t retire south’s might move him on but they definitely won’t tell him to retire.

handyman2190

I agree with all that, as much as they tried not to keep oldies,thats whats happened, we have too many consistent injurys, id still like to give AJ a chance though, dodds a hard one,u can tell him to go but will he?
It will be difficult to tell mitchel to retire, they will just not resign him and move him on, i wouldnt mind cobbo

ADAM_SMITH

Gave me a good laugh ready this. Bagging aboriginal boys about running the club then the very next sentence you suggest bringing Cobbo to the club.
They won’t move AJ on. He gets paid f**k all and they will let him get the record. Just like the did for Merritt in 2014.
souths don’t need outside backs. They need forwards with leg speed and a hooker who plays on the front foot.
This retirement chat about latrell is the biggest load of shit I’ve ever heard. He’s 28 in June. He won’t retire south’s might move him on but they definitely won’t tell him to retire.
my opinion is that the Aboriginal boys are running the club not the clubs opinion.

I agree they do need forwards with leg speed 100% correct there, but not much on the market.

Does Mitchell look happy to you? Bennet is sure not happy with him, take it with a grain of salt or listen to it but havent i been right in my last predictions?

I said Ravawala from the start of the season, I said Smith was done before it was announced 2 weeks in advance.

handyman2190

my opinion is that the Aboriginal boys are running the club not the clubs opinion.

I agree they do need forwards with leg speed 100% correct there, but not much on the market.

Does Mitchell look happy to you? Bennet is sure not happy with him, take it with a grain of salt or listen to it but havent i been right in my last predictions?

I said Ravawala from the start of the season, I said Smith was done before it was announced 2 weeks in advance.
Mitchel dosent look happy,ur right,id move him and cody on,forget offering him anything,this he started late bs is wrong,old man just catches up with u,like it or not.
There are youngsters in lower grades eg that titans prop that tried for a release last year would be a start, i wouldnt break the bank with rava either, if he stays at a fair price ok. Ahton ward is a good upcoming half and should be developed and kept, humphreys the sg ball half is the future should be kept, ive a feeling quite a few will be tapped on the shoulder, i dont think enough conditioning is being done overall, which is contributing to all the injurys, im waiting for mr shaque to play 1 or 2 and break down again

Thumper

His happiness is irrelevant. Your statement about the club making him retire is a load of shit.

handyman2190

His happiness is irrelevant. Your statement about the club making him retire is a load of shit.
They cant make him retire,your right, but as he isnt putting in he is useless to us, they just wont resign him,they can tell him now or end of season and hopefully someone else picks him up and releaves us of him and his useless brother.
At this stage i dont value him more than 500k considering jack is on 700 and one of our best consistently, the way he is playing i doubt anyone else would pay him more than 700k we would need to contribute,but thats fine considering the amount of game time he puts in

speedster

What's race got to do with footy? Can we just stick to talking footy please?

speedster

I wouldn't be surprised if Latrell felt like retiring young and getting away from all the hate, some of which is clearly racist. He looks hurt by it and then gets flustered and distracted. He might be mentally done. Would be a shame.

handyman2190

The state of the game is in a shambels,penaltys and binning etc extra expansion teams going to be anounced, my veiw is there are not enough quality players available, hence many playing on to 35 plus, all for the mighty tv dollar, well the cap will need to increase as players will be asking for more and with the amount of injuries 30 isnt enough to cover, now we have origin and predicted teams on zero tackle, and latrell in all the teams at centre, i gotta laugh,the biggest bludger in the comp picked and he is yet to play a decent game for us yet, we got no chance this year,daley is a coach hack picking a hack team

speedster

More games means bigger tv and content rights deal which means increased cap.

As for talent availability, it affects the standard of footy ultimately. This year, there have been some good games and some bludgers but few teams have been overly consistent. The NRL just want a close competition so that's what we'll get but the quality of the footy might be diluted with a wider talent spread.

ADAM_SMITH

What's race got to do with footy? Can we just stick to talking footy please?
didnt say nothing bad about Aboriginals i just said that theres a culture that alot of Koori boys bring.

Having grown up and played with them you might not understand as you might just be a pen pusher your whole life.

Eric the great

So when we are goin good it’s not a Koori culture thing but when we are struggling a bit through injuries it’s a Koori culture thing that’s like some idiot last year blaming everything on trell

speedster

didnt say nothing bad about Aboriginals i just said that theres a culture that alot of Koori boys bring.

Having grown up and played with them you might not understand as you might just be a pen pusher your whole life.
I understand plenty mate. But you need to understand how it comes across when it's in written form. No need to mention race or other non-relevant factors in this particular context is just my opinion. Can easily be taken the wrong way and offend some.

speedster

So when we are goin good it’s not a Koori culture thing but when we are struggling a bit through injuries it’s a Koori culture thing that’s like some idiot last year blaming everything on trell
That's how it can be taken and how it can look even if it's not how it's meant.

We're all responsible for what we say and if we express ourselves poorly and didn't mean it to come out a certain way, then we need to own that and re-state it in a way that clears things up. Otherwise people are left in 2 minds, some people will think one way, others another way.

Who needs it?