Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The ‘Anything and Everything’ Thread

Dutton ran one of the worst political campaigns ever seen. The party was just not prepared on policy at all. And they got what they deserved.

Albanese is a great salesman but trust me it will all end in tears for this country by the time he is finished as PM. Which with the lead he has got now will most likely be at least another term.

He’s definitely maxing out the credit card and then some with all his spending policies. Whitlam would definitely be proud.

It’s clear that the majority of voters now don’t care about government waste ( Half a billion for everyone to say NO)

Definitely don’t care about out of control national debt. Because they think it’s not their debt.

They don’t worry about the Government raising immigration to record levels putting more pressure on things like the public hospital system and the housing crisis etc.

Don’t care for major broken promises as long as it’s from the Labor Party when they said they would reduce the cost of living and everything has gone up ever since they were elected.

Don’t care that electricity prices will continue to rise and not go down.

Don’t care that net zero emissions is impossible and stupid when 60% of the developed world are going strongly in the opposite direction.

That major crime gangs are thriving in this Country as they take over the building industry, tobacco industry and god knows what else.

That small businesses are dropping off like flies at a rate of knots.

That the NDIS continues to be a major rort with a reported 20% of cases being fraudulent with crime gangs involved. The program costs are ballooning every year.

That the public service continues to get larger, more unproductive and costly.

I could go on but people cheering on a victory for Albanese and the Labor Party I hope you own and have paid off your home, have private medical insurance and a business that isn’t at the mercy of these economic dunces. If you don’t you’re in for some real long term pain.

Rant Over.

Since 73

If you don't know that the Australian Labour party is a listed corporation (ABN: 74 438 540 751), as is the Australian Liberal Party (ABN: 15 217 882 958) and the Prime Minister is merely a cardboard cut out for those who actually run Australia from overseas - then you seriously need to wipe your circuitry, turn off your television, do not read any mainstream media, start again and begin to do some genuine research.

A simple Google search has will reveal the ABNs for all corporations including each political party, State government, State police force, education department and so on. Do one for Bunnings and Coles while you're at it. Or any other corporation which takes your fancy.

The election on the weekend has as much credibility as a chook raffle and is as genuine as an $11 note.

shadowboxer

lol boomers
Boomers are the age bracket born between 1946 and 1964.
I think there are a lot of people like myself born in the 1970s or 1980’s, who haven’t seen things as tough as they are at the moment…. Maybe aside from a couple of recessions, where so-called boomers were flogged financially to the edge of sanity.
But yeah LOL - see where we are in 5 years.
Dumb thing is whoever won of the two major parties, it wouldn’t make much difference - who ever won, we lose.

Boomers are the age bracket born between 1946 and 1964.
I think there are a lot of people like myself born in the 1970s or 1980’s, who haven’t seen things as tough as they are at the moment…. Maybe aside from a couple of recessions, where so-called boomers were flogged financially to the edge of sanity.
But yeah LOL - see where we are in 5 years.
Dumb thing is whoever won of the two major parties, it wouldn’t make much difference - who ever won, we lose.

Agreed Politics in this Country is at an all time low. Both major political parties has a real lack of quality of people putting their hand up to do a job for Australia. They’re doing it for their party and themselves and this Country comes third. They don’t care how they leave the place when they’re out of politics. As long as they’ve had a long career and have feathered their nest once they’ve left.

The next generation voting is very scary as they are the ME generation. They are largely a selfish and don’t like to get their hands dirty generation. Or just call them the entitled generation.

lol boomers

Born 1972 and married with children.

Seen plenty of shyte in my life and my parents have seen even more in their lives.

Just a piece of advice. Don’t mock the older generations. They never had the luxuries that this present generation has in learning, work life or social life. But you’ll learn a lot from them. It’s called “Life Experience”. It’s not something you can google. Fancy that.

The first thing they’ll teach you is that there are no free lunches. You’ll pay for them in the end and in a lot of cases many times over. Another thing they’ll teach you is that there’s a sucker born every minute. That’s where you come in…….

Got to lurve all you Don Dobbie-ites.

It was a landslide for the true believers. I am still laughing.

At least two more terms, lock it in Eddie.

Whinge all you want to, I'll just point to the scoreboard. Biggest victory in over 80 years.

Go the Albonator. East shit Spud the Dud and all who sail in her.

Bookie

Agreed Politics in this Country is at an all time low. Both major political parties has a real lack of quality of people putting their hand up to do a job for Australia. They’re doing it for their party and themselves and this Country comes third. They don’t care how they leave the place when they’re out of politics. As long as they’ve had a long career and have feathered their nest once they’ve left.

The next generation voting is very scary as they are the ME generation. They are largely a selfish and don’t like to get their hands dirty generation. Or just call them the entitled generation.
Your first paragraph was fine. Your second paragraph was absolute drivel.

Bookie

Born 1972 and married with children.

Seen plenty of shyte in my life and my parents have seen even more in their lives.

Just a piece of advice. Don’t mock the older generations. They never had the luxuries that this present generation has in learning, work life or social life. But you’ll learn a lot from them. It’s called “Life Experience”. It’s not something you can google. Fancy that.

The first thing they’ll teach you is that there are no free lunches. You’ll pay for them in the end and in a lot of cases many times over. Another thing they’ll teach you is that there’s a sucker born every minute. That’s where you come in…….
No one’s mocking the older generations. Just the ones who are stuck in a mindset of thinking Labor will ruin everything because their Johnny Howard-approved racist didn’t get the gong.

Generalzod

It’s simple when Albo was talking about child care, Medicare, bring back clean energy manufacturing jobs back in Australia, hecs debt, all Dutton was talking about was woke shit and aligning himself to Trump the Irony was Trump didn’t even know who Dutton was, I tell yeah people have had enough of it.

PJ

I just found it incredible that the Libs seemed to have no plans and no real policies.

They had years for FS.

Hopefully they listen, excluding Jabba from WA, and offer a viable alternative.

Generalzod

I just found it incredible that the Libs seemed to have no plans and no real policies.

They had years for FS.

Look at the Libs History:

1996-2007 Liberals Howard Government Sold off Australia's minerals to the lowest bidder, Made housing affordability out of the reach for our Children
2013-2022 Liberals No energy policy, debt spiralled out of control under the party that make out that their responsible economic managers, 19 years of liberal party governement and all we got from them in this election was it was Albanese fault, Like why not talk about Nuclear why they where in power?

Look at the Libs History:

1996-2007 Liberals Howard Government Sold off Australia's minerals to the lowest bidder, Made housing affordability out of the reach for our Children
2013-2022 Liberals No energy policy, debt spiralled out of control under the party that make out that their responsible economic managers, 19 years of liberal party governement and all we got from them in this election was it was Albanese fault, Like why not talk about Nuclear why they where in power?

John Howard’s period of Government was one of the most stable period in our history. You don’t get elected 4 times in a row if you’re doing a bad job.

If anyone thinks our current energy is going to be reliable and sustainable and cheaper than Coal Fired Power they literally have rocks in their head.

We have the cleanest coal in the world and should be using it to produce reliable and cheap energy. That should be the main source of energy in this Country. Obviously people installing solar panels is great and be a secondary source of power generation.

And please anyone here who believes we can control “Climate Change” and that the world will make a difference even in fifty years please state it here. I want to laugh at you. It is the most absurd belief I’ve ever come across. And India, China and the US say hi. Even Tony Blair (left wing) has come out last week saying net zero is not achievable or sustainable.

They had years for FS.

It was a train wreck of a campaign. They should have laid out so much more in policy differences to the ALP. They should have attacked the lack of change in the cost of living crisis from this Government since they took over.

Once they didn’t do that and Labor was offering all the free lunches to the entitled generation it was all over. They just don’t understand all this spending has to be paid for and the Government is putting it all on their Master Card. To be paid back with more taxes. Big ones! They’re coming over Albanese’s minimum next two terms.

Whoever lines up for the Libs now can only hope to draw the gap a bit closer next election. That is all. I don’t think anyone will be rushing to put their hand up to cop the shyte they’ll cop in rebuilding the party. A lot of finger pointing already.

John Howard’s period of Government was one of the most stable period in our history. You don’t get elected 4 times in a row if you’re doing a bad job.

If anyone thinks our current energy is going to be reliable and sustainable and cheaper than Coal Fired Power they literally have rocks in their head.

We have the cleanest coal in the world and should be using it to produce reliable and cheap energy. That should be the main source of energy in this Country. Obviously people installing solar panels is great and be a secondary source of power generation.

And please anyone here who believes we can control “Climate Change” and that the world will make a difference even in fifty years please state it here. I want to laugh at you. It is the most absurd belief I’ve ever come across. And India, China and the US say hi. Even Tony Blair (left wing) has come out last week saying net zero is not achievable or sustainable.
So we just give up on clean energy? Maybe net zero isn't achievable, but working towards it doesn't hurt. Unless you're Gina I guess.

No not give up but it can’t realistically be the main source. Windmills definitely not the answer. Absolute disgraceful things from sound pollution, visual pollution, killing wildlife, the mass clearing of vegetation for them to be built and they are not a stable power source for the energy grid.

I think Solar power on peoples roofs is fantastic but we need a to have a main stable and reliable power source and that at present is the use of our very clean coal that we have at our disposal. If new technologies come about that are cleaner and just as stable great. But that does not exist at present.

The big industrial countries are not going our costly direction so why in the f**k are we waving our green flag when it’s changing jack shyte?

Generalzod

John Howard stable right the bloke who instigated war crimes on the people of Iraq on the bases of weapon of mass destruction, the same thing can be said about Tony Blair, As for the climate it was also said by Murdoch himself that you go to give the Earth the benefit of the doubt? For some reason he changed his mind I can understand that his media outlets are from the right side of politics and so are his viewership who don’t believe in it. John Howard was lucky in a way where the opposition was non existent, kinda explains why he was in power for a long time.