Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured & Confirmed Signings (2025 Season)

Sime_11

Parra should be doing everything they can to nab Fifita - the need an edge forward more than anyone

if he came here - he's playing bench minutes here until he can prove his trust. he had the option to come here but didnt take it, he also screwed over the chooks (which is funny) but he's a red flag for us

only trust i have for him is he'll throw the toys out when he doesnt get his way

good on Des for holding firm - its refreshing to see a club hold accountability

Luke Bowden

Thinking about it Ivan can't even get Martin to fire so maybe it's a bad idea
I don’t really understand the criticism this forum has for Martin.

I think he’s been great, everyone else I talk to have him as a lock for the origin team. I hang out with a major of Penrith supporters and they all wrap him.

Not on here though, I find it both weird and interesting at the same time.

Chins

I think he’s been great, everyone else I talk to have him as a lock for the origin team. I hang out with a major of Penrith supporters and they all wrap him.

Now I don't expect him to play at this level every week but maybe go watch some Origin highlights from last year and the ask yourself is Martin putting in that level of effort.

And its all effort with Liam, almost nothing he does is skill based

I reckon Ivan is prepping him up for middle

Luke Bowden

Now I don't expect him to play at this level every week but maybe go watch some Origin highlights from last year and the ask yourself is Martin putting in that level of effort.

And its all effort with Liam, almost nothing he does is skill based

It’s absolutely unrealistic to expect a player to put in State Of Origin level effort week in, week out.

You can’t compare the two. He’s playing 80 minutes on the edge every week. He leads every kick chase, he and Nathan are probably a bit out of sink at the moment, but that’s improving.

If your problem with him is that he doesn’t play every game like its origin, then that’s cool, I’m not missing something. Happy with with that.

Chins

It’s absolutely unrealistic to expect a player to put in State Of Origin level effort week in, week out.

You can’t compare the two. He’s playing 80 minutes on the edge every week. He leads every kick chase, he and Nathan are probably a bit out of sink at the moment, but that’s improving.

If your problem with him is that he doesn’t play every game like its origin, then that’s cool, I’m not missing something. Happy with with that.
He doesn't play a single minute of Penrith regular season games at that intensity.......its a real worry

age.s

Not really though.

Watch his work for the Broncos try last week. He's in prime position to either contest the bomb or wrap up the catcher. He just watches.

Sime_11

i agree with Chins - Martin best and worst is no different to Penrith's best and worst this year - that's not to say its only his fault we've been poor this season.

Liam has runs on the board where he's been outstanding for NSW and he's looked very average for us. I recall late August alot of chat being Marto, Kenny & Leota pulling their finger out - and here we are discussing this again weekly in 2025.

of course Marto isnt going to be a 10/10 every week - but i think its fair that we expect 8/10 every week - he's one of the best paid edge forwards in the comp

Aliceinwonderland

Not really though.

Watch his work for the Broncos try last week. He's in prime position to either contest the bomb or wrap up the catcher. He just watches.

Liam is NOT a stat padder. He puts in heaps of effort that often goes un noticed in the game.

A lot of work that Liam did was off the ball and helped win the game.
I think this happens most weeks.

Copperhead

Liam is NOT a stat padder. He puts in heaps of effort that often goes un noticed in the game.

A lot of work that Liam did was off the ball and helped win the game.
I think this happens most weeks.
Wow, could you give us some examples (with time stamps so I can check the replay) of all this game changing off the ball work he's doing, that us idiots are obviously missing.

soc123_au

Wow, could you give us some examples (with time stamps so I can check the replay) of all this game changing off the ball work he's doing, that us idiots are obviously missing.
Kick chase is pretty good along with kick pressure when it's his side of the field. If he were on moderate contract all that would be good, but he isn't so the scrutiny is fair imo. Problem is beast Liam isn't sustainable for a season, so here we are. He is the type of guy you want for finals and let cruise through the boring part of the season, you have to have a team that will get you to the top 4 without beast Liam though. We had it before, now not so much.

Fangs

Kick chase is pretty good along with kick pressure when it's his side of the field. If he were on moderate contract all that would be good, but he isn't so the scrutiny is fair imo. Problem is beast Liam isn't sustainable for a season, so here we are. He is the type of guy you want for finals and let cruise through the boring part of the season, you have to have a team that will get you to the top 4 without beast Liam though. We had it before, now not so much.

Another bloke who isn't sustainable as To'o. I'm 99% sure he busted himself against Souths trying to haul our arses back into the contest. I have no idea how To'o has kept his output up for half a decade but it will catch up eventually.

I think the lure of an Origin jersey will see guys like Martin have a big game on Saturday night. Week off afterwards as well so they get a small rest.

Luke Bowden

i agree with Chins - Martin best and worst is no different to Penrith's best and worst this year - that's not to say its only his fault we've been poor this season.

Liam has runs on the board where he's been outstanding for NSW and he's looked very average for us. I recall late August alot of chat being Marto, Kenny & Leota pulling their finger out - and here we are discussing this again weekly in 2025.

of course Marto isnt going to be a 10/10 every week - but i think its fair that we expect 8/10 every week - he's one of the best paid edge forwards in the comp
As I said, this is literally the only place I ever see this opinion. I just find it odd.

Murraymob1

Even he has stated he is not playing well .he was on the news tonight saying he has been down on form and want to get more involved

Chins

As I said, this is literally the only place I ever see this opinion. I just find it odd.
You come here to be educated and I respect that.

With Martin’s experience and what he routinely delivers in finals and rep games he should be turning or winning games pretty much on his own a few times a season but we never see it. I'd bench him if possible and force him to come on and explode.

Luke Bowden

You come here to be educated and I respect that.

With Martin’s experience and what he routinely delivers in finals and rep games he should be turning or winning games pretty much on his own a few times a season but we never see it. I'd bench him if possible and force him to come on and explode.
Mostly I come here for a laugh.