Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Galvin v the Tigers

Just going to put it out there. I reckon the Tigers squad gets the sh*ts and goes on a run now.
Weve never been a club that responds well to adversity. We had a chance when this whole thing blew up in the week v parra and shat the bed against a team that was 1-5. That and the fact that our squad has more holes in it then a block of swiss cheese means we'll very likley end up back in the bottom 4.

That’s because you had mentally weak peahearts like Luke Brooks running the team. I’ll give you one reason why it may be different this time…

Jarome Luai.

He’s the leader your club has been crying out for. The guy has been copping it from the media and fans for years but did that stop him from winning 4 straight premierships? People said he was nothing without Nathan Cleary lmao.

He loves proving people wrong.

gerg

Everyone thought our recruitment policy was hilarious when we signed all those utilities on the back of missing the finals for the 7th straight season.
The laughter or criticism was related to signing Taafe, Hutchinson and Tracey and two of those three have really been a bust and Tracey might get squeezed out because of the Galvin signing. So the criticism was warranted. Where the Dogs got it right was poaching the Panthers players and Curran and Sexton have been good pick ups... with a caveat on Sexton because he too could be squeezed out.

BadnMean

And this is where it’s all bullshit;

- Clubs can informally talk to contracted players, but just can’t make an ‘offer’… but could of course say ‘in a hypothetical world where you were available at this current time, we’d be able to pay you $X’, and that’s perfectly fine
- A ‘middle man’ can speak to any player and say ‘I reckon if you were available, this club would pay you $X on a 3 year deal’

It’s all bollocks, all clubs are guilty of these conversations and happenings in the shadows.

The only real fix to this issue is if the NRL enforce that once a contract is signed, only an extension/upgrade with the existing club can be ratified by the NRL for the duration of the contract. I just don’t think the NRL has the appetite to do that.
So that means, clubs can’t decide to bin off a player before their contract is finished, and a player can’t pull these bullshit tactics to force their way out.
Sign the contract, see out the deal. If you sign a big 5 or 10 year deal, that’s that - you’re locked in.

If the middle man is acting on behalf of the club it's still tampering. The rule isn't that stupid.

It's just Gus using word tricks to say he'd never talked to Galvin, or outright lying.

Fangs

The laughter or criticism was related to signing Taafe, Hutchinson and Tracey and two of those three have really been a bust and Tracey might get squeezed out because of the Galvin signing. So the criticism was warranted. Where the Dogs got it right was poaching the Panthers players and Curran and Sexton have been good pick ups... with a caveat on Sexton because he too could be squeezed out.

Jaemon Salmon too.

It's already been laid out. All the off-season recruits had recently played finals football. Their positions and skillset were not the focus. It was targeted recruitment to bring winners in and kick losers out. Sitting pretty in the top 4 so it's been a raging success.

The next chapter is the real test. As an off-season signing Galvin makes perfect sense. Doing it mid-season could prove to be a disaster. Get your popcorn ready.

yobbo84

Regarding Gus... you can't use a media platform to publicly spruik your clubs recruitment and development policies, and then get the shits when your BS has been called out.

If you're going to use your platform to raise the profile of your club, and tell fibs to the media, at least have the decency to come out after the fact and admit you were playing the media with a straight bat because of sensitive negotiations going on in the background. Wayne and Richo have both done this before, as other examples of high-profile administrators/coaches.

nick87

Regarding Gus... you can't use a media platform to publicly spruik your clubs recruitment and development policies, and then get the shits when your BS has been called out.

If you're going to use your platform to raise the profile of your club, and tell fibs to the media, at least have the decency to come out after the fact and admit you were playing the media with a straight bat because of sensitive negotiations going on in the background. Wayne and Richo have both done this before, as other examples of high-profile administrators/coaches.

Spot on.
Its insulting to everyone for Gus to sit up there and try and gaslight the NRL community into believing this is all just happenstance and he's never misled anyone.

He's doing his job as bulldogs GM. No problem there. I dont think he should be allowed to publicly court players the way he has with Galvin but the NRL doesnt appear to want to do anything about that. It is what it is and he's playing the cards afforded to him, fair play.

But dont piss in our pockets and tell us its raining, at least have the integrity to be honest about it after the fact

Dogs Of War

And this is where it’s all bullshit;

- Clubs can informally talk to contracted players, but just can’t make an ‘offer’… but could of course say ‘in a hypothetical world where you were available at this current time, we’d be able to pay you $X’, and that’s perfectly fine
- A ‘middle man’ can speak to any player and say ‘I reckon if you were available, this club would pay you $X on a 3 year deal’

It’s all bollocks, all clubs are guilty of these conversations and happenings in the shadows.

The only real fix to this issue is if the NRL enforce that once a contract is signed, only an extension/upgrade with the existing club can be ratified by the NRL for the duration of the contract. I just don’t think the NRL has the appetite to do that.
So that means, clubs can’t decide to bin off a player before their contract is finished, and a player can’t pull these bullshit tactics to force their way out.
Sign the contract, see out the deal. If you sign a big 5 or 10 year deal, that’s that - you’re locked in.

Thats the stupidiest idea ever. What other league does this. Not the NFL or NBA clubs, not soccer clubs. Players go in and out of favour. Differences is direction appear. Coach change and that player doesn't suit the new playing style. Player roots a team mates partner. There has to be flexibility in these things. It's partly the medias facination with ensuring we have a click bate fest so every single opinion is amplified even if it's badly off the mark.

Just going to put it out there. I reckon the Tigers squad gets the sh*ts and goes on a run now.

Dogs have shot themselves in the foot for 2025, the comp is wide open now but something tells me Melbourne will get the cookies this year.

Finally on another unrelated note, every time I watch that Maccas NRL ad (the one with Ricky and the soft serves), I actually cringe at the part where Galvin is sitting with his Tigers teammates and he goes "six again braahhh?". They should update the ad so that Galvin is sitting by his lonesome on the Maccas play equipment, and his Tigers teammates are throwing nuggets at him (six again braahhh?).

Then Gus intervenes "NO NO NO NO " lol

That’s because you had mentally weak peahearts like Luke Brooks running the team. I’ll give you one reason why it may be different this time…

Jarome Luai.

He’s the leader your club has been crying out for. The guy has been copping it from the media and fans for years but did that stop him from winning 4 straight premierships? People said he was nothing without Nathan Cleary lmao.

He loves proving people wrong.
Luai played in the very game Vic used as an example mate

dogslife

I noticed you left off the likes of Kurt Mann and Jaemon Salmon who have been successful in our side.

My point was, no one batted an eyelid when we were shit and bringing in nuff and mid players on overs. Suddenly we're not shit anymore, but we're not supposed to reap the benefits of that by signing players who want out of their clubs?

For the record, I'm hardly on board with this signing, or the way it's come about. But I'm not going to sit here and pretend it hasn't happened to us before as well.

I also love all the Toby Sexton and Reed Mahoney fans that have come out of the woodwork.

AnonymousLurker

U
The fix is, if you sign a contract for X amount for X years, that is your worth. If you go to another club within that period you can only receive the same amount you had agreed to in the initial contract.

99% of the agitation cases will disappear overnight if there is no more money in it for the managers.
You forget tpa payments

don’t tell me you believe Galvin has sacrificed so much money when he was guaranteed millions over so many years

I noticed you left off the likes of Kurt Mann and Jaemon Salmon who have been successful in our side.

My point was, no one batted an eyelid when we were shit and bringing in nuff and mid players on overs. Suddenly we're not shit anymore, but we're not supposed to reap the benefits of that by signing players who want out of their clubs?

For the record, I'm hardly on board with this signing, or the way it's come about. But I'm not going to sit here and pretend it hasn't happened to us before as well.

I also love all the Toby Sexton and Reed Mahoney fans that have come out of the woodwork.

Dogs definitely copped grief for their 2023/4 signings but they had the last laugh and have got tremendous value out of most of them. I dont think anyone has an issue with the actual signing of Galvin, more so the way it came about, Gus methods, then backed up by laughable version of events.

Like Ive said I dont, hes doing the best thing by his club and its what Id want my GM to do. Gus has a rare advantage due to his media presence which he uses to his benefit. I did have a chuckle when he had a cry saying 'no other GM has to answer these questions!' LOL Gus no one is forcing you to do this, you want to wear both hats, you cant just enjoy the fruits of it and not expect to reap some consequences.

They should have got the sh*ts after the 64-0 game, but they lost to the Bunnies. And they got thumped by the Eels in the week Galvin got dropped to NSW Cup and apparently it was 'team first' and all that rubbih.

I reckon they go on no sort of run at all.

Wb1234

Wests life podcast tonight will have some interesting comments about the timeline of when Gould was talking to Moses