Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Worst Place On Earth You've Been To

Rudy

Walked through a slum outside Depok, on the outskirts of Jakarta, in 2001. These people had nothing but a rag of clothing, and a tin sheet above their head as a house. The stench was overpowering. I dropped 10000 rupiah into a plastic plate held by an elderly woman squatting down and begging, she barely looked up at me, such was the absence of all hope.

You'd have to be a sociopath to not feel pity for those that live in that place.

borisdog

Anywhere in Sri Lanka. Anywhere. I went for 7 weeks for the cricket earlier this year. I should've watched the cricket on the Telly at home.

Scenery fairly good. The service industry in general is a f**king nightmare. I lost count of the restaurants/eateries I walked out of after not even receiving the ( inevitably hot ) beer I ordered an hour ago. It was almost impossible to get a cold beer ANYWHERE - even at bottle shops. They will cheat, thieve or just generally f**k you around any chance they get

There WERE exceptions, but they weren't common.

Filthy and putrid. f**king maniacs on the road and chockers with Russians.

Don't do it. Just don't.

Cheese sandwich

Anywhere in Sri Lanka. Anywhere. I went for 7 weeks for the cricket earlier this year. I should've watched the cricket on the Telly at home.

Scenery fairly good. The service industry in general is a f**king nightmare. I lost count of the restaurants/eateries I walked out of after not even receiving the ( inevitably hot ) beer I ordered an hour ago. It was almost impossible to get a cold beer ANYWHERE - even at bottle shops. They will cheat, thieve or just generally f**k you around any chance they get

There WERE exceptions, but they weren't common.

Filthy and putrid. f**king maniacs on the road and chockers with Russians.

Don't do it. Just don't.
I liked the look of Galle when they were showing the old fort during the matches, even had it earmarked as a possible stopover next time I go to Europe.

borisdog

I liked the look of Galle when they were showing the old fort during the matches, even had it earmarked as a possible stopover next time I go to Europe.
I'll give you that, it is a nice area. It's a pretty small area though. It's also very much an "outlier". It's like having a lovely outdoor beer garden and restaurant in the middle of the council tip in Alice Springs.

I will never set foot in the country again. It's a f**king shambles.

Sri Lanka is great. Fantastic food, good folks, great scenery and plenty to do. It's very, very much not Australia though. Stating the obvious of course but I find so many tourists who go overseas and just expect everything to be very much adjacent to what it is here.

Cheese sandwich

Sri Lanka is great. Fantastic food, good folks, great scenery and plenty to do. It's very, very much not Australia though. Stating the obvious of course but I find so many tourists who go overseas and just expect everything to be very much adjacent to what it is here.
The less like Australia the better. I can't stand hearing yanks overseas who compare everything to "back home" either

borisdog

The less like Australia the better. I can't stand hearing yanks overseas who compare everything to "back home" either
Oh it's very definitely not like Australia. Couldn't be less so.

Go on over, you'll love it. Every time, of the 30 times daily, they tried to dud me, shaft me or just bare arsed lied to me I thought, f**k this is great I wish Australia was more like this.

Funnily enough Colombo was probably the least cutthroat place on the whole Island.

If you do go, take Aussie dollars cash and change your money at jewellery shops. Far and away the best rates, but don't be afraid to try half a dozen of them and come back to the best rate. Know the "official rate" before you walk in.

Cheese sandwich

Oh it's very definitely not like Australia. Couldn't be less so.

Go on over, you'll love it. Every time, of the 30 times daily, they tried to dud me, shaft me or just bare arsed lied to me I thought, f**k this is great I wish Australia was more like this.

Funnily enough Colombo was probably the least cutthroat place on the whole Island.

If you do go, take Aussie dollars cash and change your money at jewellery shops. Far and away the best rates, but don't be afraid to try half a dozen of them and come back to the best rate. Know the "official rate" before you walk in.
As long as I don't get mugged or belted etc I can handle that. Probably spending 7 weeks there was why you hate it too, I'd be doing 3 nights max.

The shafting sounds interesting hahaha

borisdog

As long as I don't get mugged or belted etc I can handle that. Probably spending 7 weeks there was why you hate it too, I'd be doing 3 nights max.

The shafting sounds interesting hahaha
It was safe, I'll give it that. We did have a couple of moments, directly related to attempts to rip us off. Nothing too savage though. And you're 100% right about the 7 weeks playing its' part. When every day is a non stop tooth pulling exercise it does wear thin.

3 days in Colombo would be fine. It's a bit of a gallop down to Galle from Colombo. If you're gunna do that, do it by train. And first class if the train has it. Second isn't completely tragic but third class is "Off we go to Auschwitz"

Bazal is right that the people are largely good. Where it all falls apart is when you WANT anything. Beer, accommodation, food, transport. Anything where you need to buy something. That's where the fun begins.

It was safe, I'll give it that. We did have a couple of moments, directly related to attempts to rip us off. Nothing too savage though. And you're 100% right about the 7 weeks playing its' part. When every day is a non stop tooth pulling exercise it does wear thin.

3 days in Colombo would be fine. It's a bit of a gallop down to Galle from Colombo. If you're gunna do that, do it by train. And first class if the train has it. Second isn't completely tragic but third class is "Off we go to Auschwitz"

Bazal is right that the people are largely good. Where it all falls apart is when you WANT anything. Beer, accommodation, food, transport. Anything where you need to buy something. That's where the fun begins.

This is the thing with travel isn't it? You never know until you go. I never had that experience anywhere in Sri Lanka. Or really, Asia in general tbh. People say similar about Vietnam (or parts of it) and I never once found that there either. And look, maybe I'm lucky because to me if someone stings me an extra dollar or two AUD for a beer cos I'm a white fella I'm not gonna sweat it, but genuinely the countries I've had folks try hardest to stitch me up have been western countries

Mr. Shaman

Last week was pretty tame.

SHIT TOWN POWER RANKINGS 29/6/25

1. Ballarat, VIC - Gronk tries to ram fire trucks putting out car fire

2. Somerville, VIC - Drunk driver crashes twice with 3 kids in car

3. Perth, WA - Blowtorch-wielding maniac threatens to ignite gas cylinders at Bunnings; Karen kicked off flight for refusing to remove bumbag

4. Moffatdale, QLD - Feral teen steals marked cop car before getting bogged in mud

5. Boulder, WA - Gronkess rampages through city in stolen road train

6. Melbourne, VIC - Stolen car tears through middle of shopping centre

7. Sydney, NSW - Dad and son charged after mass tradie brawl at building site

8. Sarina, QLD - Barmaid bashes ex with baseball bat after seeing him walking past pub

9. Tuggerawong, NSW - Hoon in unregistered, uninsured car does burnout on cop’s driveway

10. Queenstown, TAS - Group of gronks charged with stealing 200 tonnes of firewood

11. Port Pirie, SA - Still shit

Mr. Shaman

I stayed a couple of days on a caravanning trip last year , not sure what your problem is with it there
SHIT TOWN POWER RANKINGS 6/7/25

1. Port Lincoln, SA - Reality TV star and porn model allegedly beheads boyfriend and hides his head

2. Bega, NSW - Pervert avoids prison sentence for rooting pony

3. Port Augusta, SA - Maniac jailed for biting off bloke’s ear outside pub

4. Alice Springs, NT - Women groped by feral kids during sexual assault awareness run; menace allegedly assaults female, assaults witness, gets run over by unmarked cop car and taken to hospital, escapes hospital

5. Cooma, NSW - Deadshits steal wheel from firefighting trailer

6. Palmerston, NT - Gronk allegedly steals trailer, breaks down, threatens trailer owner with machete to get a jump start

7. Wollongong, NSW - Pervert caught wanking in rock pool while filming swimmers

8. Toowoomba, QLD - Convicted turtle smuggler breaks into house to poison fish tanks in dispute over baby stingray sale

9. Grafton, NSW - Gronk charged with stealing $100k worth of cattle jizz

10. Port Pirie, SA - Drongo gets car impounded after doing burnout in front of cops; still shit

Still shit.