Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ando's New Signings

ruthless dragon

Bad news for us, Flanno has a bit of a following amongst us Tigers fans.

While it’s been a bit bumpy, I reckon he’s restored some of the pride back in your jersey. I’ve stuck by him anyway.

Especially the contempt in which he treated Hunt and other rats in the ranks.

He can coach, that’s the bottom line.

Good decision, lets him plan properly and bring the stellar youngsters through.

The Grind and the Glory!

I’m shattered!

When you beat Melbourne in the wet, that was all Flanno and his positioning prowess.
Spot on and well said Flanno can coach and we are on our way up.

The Word

You'd like to think they've started negotiations. I expect the big question will be when he would join the top 30 and whether there's space.

Wolfgang90

Roster spots are at a premium, especially when we have a big group of young fwds coming through together. I'm 50/50 with Klemmer re-signing, at his age & position his effectiveness could fall of a cliff over an off-season. At most 1 year deal, I'd be happy to keep Klemmer if Sele & Lawrie were off the books next year. We also have to get games into the likes of Ryan Couchman, Egan etc next year.

I'd be happy to let go the following players:

Illias
Klemmer
Lawrie
Leilua
Rava
Sele
Allan

Atko & Kerr incoming. Only Klemmer & Allan out of those are off-contract end of this year. I want us to transition to our younger fwds next year. Ideally get an gun prop, genuine halfback & a good yardage winger who can also score tries.

Dragsters

I really hope this supposed Tino play is being driven by Anderson considering our lack of success with Flano trying to lure an alpha to date...

Wolfgang90

I really hope this supposed Tino play is being driven by Anderson considering our lack of success with Flano trying to lure an alpha to date...

Who has been our alpha/big name signing post bennett era? Would it be Hunt? I can't think of anyone who was already a big name star in their prime arriving at the Dragons. Even Bennett didn't have anyone that fit that criteria imo. We've always developed those gun players, imo the last genuine guns we developed were JDB & Frizz.

Dragsters

Who has been our alpha/big name signing post bennett era? Would it be Hunt? I can't think of anyone who was already a big name star in their prime arriving at the Dragons. Even Bennett didn't have anyone that fit that criteria imo. We've always developed those gun players, imo the last genuine guns we developed were JDB & Frizz.
If we are considering any position then I reckon Widdop was a big signing considering his previous form at the Storm...

We get to keep Doogie, it seems, but Porter, Nado and Staines are apparently in the offing.

Doogie can have the proverbial day out, but hes not a player on the upwards trajectory. He gets injured and can have defensive lapses.

I’ve met him, he’s a bit shy with public, except dog supporters!

So he’s one for the club on a tighter budget.

Friz takes more punishment at Newcastle. He needs a few electrodes to wake up.

And try as he might, I think Hunt continues to underwhelm at Brisbane.
If Dueihi did not have such an outstanding game recently, and if Galvin did not move the Dogs, we would have gained Dueihi's signature. That was an impossible task due to unusual circumstances.

This is not the first time Tino has indicated he wants to move. I believe the last time his manager was just angling to obtain a pay rise. But this time Tino is looking down the barrel of a shot at the wooden spoon Nd the coaching situation is unclear. We will win his signature this time.

If Dueihi did not have such an outstanding game recently, and if Galvin did not move the Dogs, we would have gained Dueihi's signature. That was an impossible task due to unusual circumstances.

This is not the first time Tino has indicated he wants to move. I believe the last time his manager was just angling to obtain a pay rise. But this time Tino is looking down the barrel of a shot at the wooden spoon Nd the coaching situation is unclear. We will win his signature this time.
Great player Tino, I rate Des as a coach, but his side havent looked too interested in playing at peak this season.

Des gets a lot of criticism, but we don’t hear his side of story. I looked at those players strutting out of the shower and I think I could sense the complacency.

They say Flanno is also knife edged, but nuanced. Tino would be amazing for you. A fresh start and rediscover his poetic game.

My ex nrl junior mate, rated M Head as his best coach. Said he was a genius.

But all best the plans of mice and men, same-paging is still the holy grail.

Flanno is a bit unconventional, a bit of a black sheep, I like that quality about him. You’re always in with a chance. Not every side has that optimistic character about them.

Hand on heart Flanno believes you can win every single game you play and he doesn’t get swept up by opponents reputations. It’s a subtle nod to the classic Saints sides of yesteryear.

Auntie.Gerald

Great player Tino, I rate Des as a coach, but his side havent looked too interested in playing at peak this season.

Des gets a lot of criticism, but we don’t hear his side of story. I looked at those players strutting out of the shower and I think I could sense the complacency.

They say Flanno is also knife edged, but nuanced. Tino would be amazing for you. A fresh start and rediscover his poetic game.

My ex nrl junior mate, rated M Head as his best coach. Said he was a genius.

But all best the plans of mice and men, same-paging is still the holy grail.

Flanno is a bit unconventional, a bit of a black sheep, I like that quality about him. You’re always in with a chance. Not every side has that optimistic character about them.

Hand on heart Flanno believes you can win every single game you play and he doesn’t get swept up by opponents reputations. It’s a subtle nod to the classic Saints sides of yesteryear.
When Des used to be a teacher at my mates school (many years ago) he said no teacher made you want to shit your pants more then Dez in a bad mood lol

Equally growing up on the Northern Beaches and surfing at Dee Why / Long Reef quite a bit...........the only Manly player I ever saw doing serious extras was Des in the dunes / soft sand just killing himself thru crazy training !

He was a machine !

When Des used to be a teacher at my mates school (many years ago) he no teacher made you want to shit your pants mood then Dez in a bad mood lol

Equally growing up on the Northern Beaches and surfing at Dee Why / Long Reef quite a bit...........the only Manly player I ever saw doing serious extras was Des in the dunes / soft sand just killing himself thru crazy training !

He was a machine !
Yeah, my sister went to uni with him and he was really laid back and down to earth with his peers. No tabs on himself.

Mate at work had lunch on the lawns of Sydney uni with Luke Keary a few years ago through other people. Chilling in the sun. Not much footy talk and who could blame him!

Same humbleness!

A lot of players I’ve bumped into are quite nice in the real life especially if you are polite and well meaning.

DWZ and your own JDB included.

Haynesy roams the streets of parramatta sometimes. I’ve seen him, I appreciate he’s innocent, but for some reason, yeah, I keep away. He always looks glum and unhappy.

So the legal courts can say one thing, but the court of public opinion doesn’t give up its dead easily.

matPORTS

Not going to get hopes up about Tino or any other marquee player for that matter.

We are going to find it very difficult to compete with the Bears for Tino, and given that he has a locked in 8 years left with the Titans - you don't just walk away from that without some serious thought and consideration, especially as other clubs are unlikely to offer you anything more than five years (even with more money per annum). Bulldogs sticking their nose in is just a spite tactic so that the job is more difficult for other clubs, especially us.

Reality is we have barely been able to land even a regular size fish. We should have been able to land RCG for this season. He had only just moved into a property a Camden earlier in 2024, which would have been a just as easy commute for him as what it was for Parramatta training at Kellyville. I know we offered him the two years instead of the three that the Titans offered him. But something else clearly went wrong with that negotiation (but in saying this I'm sure reality is probably biting RCG and his manager now - as he'd be unlikely to see out that full three years at the Titans now).

I really hate to think of what would have happened to us this year if we didn't land Gutherson, which was also very close to falling over at the 11th hour as well (if you read what was being said in the papers at the time).

Hoping that by now having DA onboard helps us with the overall negotiation process, and player managers might actually respect us a little bit more.

I like your work Auntie, I appreciate your response but it was a bit too much for me and my sensitivities.

I saw Jarrod a little while ago with his kid walking through parramatta.

He looked grumpy and for some reason I felt uncomfortable about it. Just a strange feeling I got.

I live out west, I see rough types all the time, but he seemed a bit spooky. I can’t quite put my finger on it, because I look up to players generally. It’s our sport.

John moz

This will be his huge big fish since signing to the Dragons.
He has come from the Roosters signing big names and knows how to get a deal done .
Dragons and Gordons / Twiggy now have a Recruitment guy to seal the deal they need to back him and show him the money.

If we can forgive Taylan May, it’s not so much of a stretch to re-consider Junior Amone under certain conditions I guess.
I really don’t know the answer @Gareth67, it’s a matter for you guys weighing everything up.

He’d need a big shift in heart from the last interview I saw him in awhile ago.
I wonder if he’s on the right path at the moment.