Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ando's New Signings

I don’t think he’s ever admitted it was a bad idea to visit the young lady and all of that …despite his circumstances.

Not as weird as Amone running a defence of misidentification and then failing to take the stand to give evidence he wasn’t there.

Some technical point to tackle the law, the magistrate fended off pretty dourly.

The glove fitted.

I thought his sentence was too light and he reoffends because I reckon that deep down he’d forgotten just how lucky he was.

Maybe a stretch inside would have resulted in a stronger impression on him.

The neighbour asked me the other day if a truck could park on our nature strip, no issues. I asked him if he needed help! Nice to be asked, but he didn’t have to.

If we can forgive Taylan May, it’s not so much of a stretch to re-consider Junior Amone under certain conditions I guess.
I really don’t know the answer @Gareth67, it’s a matter for you guys weighing everything up.

He’d need a big shift in heart from the last interview I saw him in awhile ago.
I wonder if he’s on the right path at the moment.
LKT has done more in like 15 games than Amone did during his whole tenure at the Dragons

Mojo

I don’t think he’s ever admitted it was a bad idea to visit the young lady and all of that …despite his circumstances.

Not as weird as Amone running a defence of misidentification and then failing to take the stand to give evidence he wasn’t there.

Some technical point to tackle the law, the magistrate fended off pretty dourly.

The glove fitted.

I thought his sentence was too light and he reoffends because I reckon that deep down he’d forgotten just how lucky he was.

Maybe a stretch inside would have resulted in a stronger impression on him.

The neighbour asked me the other day if a truck could park on our nature strip, no issues. I asked him if he needed help! Nice to be asked, but he didn’t have to.
Re Junior’s ‘perspective’: I detect ‘entitlement’.
It’s a recipe for disaster. People with this approach to life are also resistant to hearing that it is actually self-limiting.

I
Re Junior’s ‘perspective’: I detect ‘entitlement’.
It’s a recipe for disaster. People with this approach to life are also resistant to hearing that it is actually self-limiting.
Yes. It makes me wonder how and why he adopted this very narrow and distorted approach to an understanding of the world.

The Word

I wasnt an Amone fan even before he left the game.. one of those players who's footwork really excelled at SG Ball, like all the decent ones do including LKT... but its different against men.. less time.. better defence.. its different and you need to adjust and grow.. and most won't make it.

LKT had the same roadblock imo.. once that space stopped being there, he doesnt have time to get up to speed before he hits the line.. his acceleration isnt great... but in 17 1st grade games hes definitely improving still... whereas Amone had nrly 60 and rly I think he plateaued for almost the entire time.. a lot like Sloan.. both of them skipped reserve grade also which is a huge part of the problem.
Yes LKT in my opinion has steadily improved through his game time and I believe he has a future with us as part of a long term halves group. You need 4 halves in your 30 and I think he should be one of them. He is obviously listening to his trainers and you can see it's working, plenty more upside there as well. There will be an occasional bad game as he's young but that's to be expected.

I also love the fact that we have a strong Cup team, it's a great environment for the next crop of juniors to work and learn in. Also when players are sent back to Cup from the NRL team to work on aspects of their game, they seem to actually be doing just that.

Talau is doing a great job and some have said promote him to assistant NRL coach but I think he is much more valuable running the Cup team. That communication between him and Flanagan on player movement between the squads and improvements required to get them ready for NRL has been exceptional this year and I think we should stay with it for another couple of years. If Willie gets itchy feet for a NRL opportunity then pay him more money.

TheRev

Talau is doing a great job and some have said promote him to assistant NRL coach but I think he is much more valuable running the Cup team.
This will be a really interesting chat over the off-season imo, its possible both Carr and Young could move on... finally Flanagan will have the power to appoint an assistant or 2 of his own choosing... does he have anyone hes been wanting to bring in all this time? He finally has some certainty on his role also so he can offer that assistant contract.

And then Willie, clearly going to be an NRL assistant.. but I just dont see the rush.. this head coaching experience is invaluable.. does he do a 2nd year? He will be so much better for the run this year.. I mean I know he has been head coach for years in lower grades, but NSW Cup is a huge step up, these are not just juniors, now he is balancing players in all stages of life, from 18yr old babies to mid 30's close to retirement... some will be angry about non-selection.. the team changes every week at short notice.. rly good grounding.. and about to tackle a finals series..

Its what Dean Young should be doing.. its what Jason Demetriou did.. anyway we shall see..

TerraceDragon

I

Yes. It makes me wonder how and why he adopted this very narrow and distorted approach to an understanding of the world.
I don’t think you have to look very far - the apple fell very close to the tree. Talatau Senior encouraged the attack and somehow managed to avoid jail himself after an appeal despite a criminal record.
You’d hope footy would’ve given Junior some alternative mentoring. But he missed out on a lot of reserve grade during the coronavirus, and moved into a first grade team bereft of leaders.
Despite his actions, I hope he can set some boundaries with his father, take ownership of his past, and that there’s a redemption story sometime in his future.

Auntie.Gerald

pretty special human being is Ando

Loved his chat on the Den podcast

We brought the steel with Flano

Harran and co have done a solid job with the juniors identified and contracted

We brought in a serious sponsor with massive influence and reach

We brought the front of house via Watsford who is ramping up our image and comms

We have definitely brought in a special person for recruitment in Ando

This is how you build a real house of success

The club focuses on a web of success and sadly us punters islate an area we hate and smash it to death

thebigredv

This here is the reason we never play finals.

Another season with a fill-in playing in the most important position. Not to mention, no one to lead the forward pack.

steerlerbab

So Hunt has come out and claimed he should have never left Broncos. Seriously! He was one reason this great club failed between 2019 and 2024. He was the Captain and we became retirement village for his buddies from his youth days and his youth coach. He made big money for his achievements - 900k! All failures in his resume.

Yes we failed this year. We blended a lot of young ones this year and if Atkinson proves to be the half next year, we finally may turn the corner.

Dragsters

So Hunt has come out and claimed he should have never left Broncos. Seriously! He was one reason this great club failed between 2019 and 2024. He was the Captain and we became retirement village for his buddies from his youth days and his youth coach. He made big money for his achievements - 900k! All failures in his resume.

Yes we failed this year. We blended a lot of young ones this year and if Atkinson proves to be the half next year, we finally may turn the corner.
What an A grade Tosser.

Slippery Morris

That was a pathetic interview from Hunt especially the references when he says that the Dragons let hm down bit. They gave him the keys to the castle, and he screwed them backwards, if anything he let them down. They brought in his mate as coach, his other mates from Qld and Maguire, Norman, McCullough etc and that led to more years of pain. As soon as he did not get his way he threw the toys out of the cot.

All he liked about the Dragons was the money more or less as he said it helped set up his life. What an absolute tosser.