Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2025 Crowd Watch

They’ll host Brisbane in their qualifying final and coach Ricky Stuart has made it clear he believes it is only fair they should play on Sunday, declaring they have earned the right to pick when they play.

“We’re minor premiers and we need the maximum turnaround as possible from the Sunday game tomorrow,” Stuart tpld reporters on Saturday.

“We’re going to be playing against a team that’s got nine days, so it’s an unbelievable advantage (for Brisbane).

“That one extra day is what we deserve for being minor premiers.”

It looks like Stuart has had his wish granted, with Fox League revealing the likely schedule during coverage of Super Saturday while Michael Maguire also told ABC Sport he was informed his side’s first finals clash will be on Sunday.

“We’ve been told Sunday mate, Sunday at 4pm,” Maguire said.

Last edited by a moderator:

It's a weird flex from Ricky because

a) he doesn't seem to understand that an extra day for them is an extra day for Brisbane who will have 10 days
b) he rested players for this week
c) the loser gets less rest than the 5v8 winner in week 2
d) Call me crazy but if I were the raiders I would rather a chilli 7 degree and dropping night game opposed to a balmy 17 and sunny against the broncos.

The downside of the finals is the Sharks are playing at home, it can't get any worse then this. Poor stadium that isn't sufficient for finals footy. It really is embarrassing for our code, i mean why cant they just move one more game to Allianz? Yeah I know its closed for resurfing of the pitch but why not one more game 🤔

Its a joke, this is the 3rd since 2022 and still the same issue. The NRL needs to do something about this. They changed the rules years ago for suburban grounds because years ago you had Dragons, Eels playing at the suburban grounds and fans cracked it when you can only get 15 to 20k, locking other fans out.

Then they changed it back because they got poor crowds at Allianz and Homebush when Manly, Penrith and Sharks hosted finals.

Back in the 90s, every finals was at Allianz or one or two at Suncorp.

Lakemba Dragon

Its a joke, this is the 3rd since 2022 and still the same issue. The NRL needs to do something about this. They changed the rules years ago for suburban grounds because years ago you had Dragons, Eels playing at the suburban grounds and fans cracked it when you can only get 15 to 20k, locking other fans out.

Then they changed it back because they got poor crowds at Allianz and Homebush when Manly, Penrith and Sharks hosted finals.

Definitely not ideal.
Would have to introduce some minimum standards. Controversial.
Would Penrith be forced to move a week 1 final away from their new stadium?

yakstorm

7,195 at the NRLW in Hamilton. Can anyone confirm if this is a record regular stand alone game?
It's the record. Previous record was 5,968 which was what the Warriors drew against the Raiders in late August.

Prior to that the record was the 2024 NRLW season open between the Knights & Roosters which drew 3,921.

Warriors drew 18,875 across their 3x games in Hamilton for an average of 6,292.

They’ll host Brisbane in their qualifying final and coach Ricky Stuart has made it clear he believes it is only fair they should play on Sunday, declaring they have earned the right to pick when they play.

“We’re minor premiers and we need the maximum turnaround as possible from the Sunday game tomorrow,” Stuart tpld reporters on Saturday.

“We’re going to be playing against a team that’s got nine days, so it’s an unbelievable advantage (for Brisbane).

“That one extra day is what we deserve for being minor premiers.”

It looks like Stuart has had his wish granted, with Fox League revealing the likely schedule during coverage of Super Saturday while Michael Maguire also told ABC Sport he was informed his side’s first finals clash will be on Sunday.

“We’ve been told Sunday mate, Sunday at 4pm,” Maguire said.
Why’s he sooking about a turnaround when he’s resting his whole squad?

Oh it’s Ricky Stuart

eels4lifee

The Sharks are bringing the game into disrepute

user_nat

So great crowd at CommBank, particular given this was the definition of a nothing game. But it's just a ground I cannot comprehend.

Apparently there was a few thousand more empty seats at Suncorp this week. Yet I really wouldn't guess that.