Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Targets 3

SamSepi0l

Knights chasing a half who used to be in the Knights system but is now a backup half at his current club, and is possibly a Grand Final halfback.

What could possibly go wrong ... although I do feel that I've read that story before.
He's shown more in his limited chances than Cogger ever has.

Knight Tales

He's getting great advice, he's adding 50k a year to his next contract with every game at the moment.
Only because he is in a limited market. Anasta is first to complain his halves don’t get a crack UNLESS he is sucking up to Bellamy. And having his number one client there means he is saying nothing to the contrary. Frankly Pezet’s career trajectory is strange. Bennett clearly has humbled them both by rejecting the loan deal. I bet they tried to keep that quiet.

HarVeeGee

Look I've made my share of jokes about Jonah being a bitch but at the end of the day different players want different things. The interesting thing about the Souths loan deal is that Braith also dismissed out of hand the idea that Jonah would ever darken the doors at the Dragons. What I read into that is Jonah wants to play for a "top" club and the Souths thing may very well have been that he would be open to signing there long term if the door closes at Melbourne, the loan being like a "try before you buy".

I know Souths have had a rough few years but their track record for success since like 2012 has been one of the better ones. And they've got Wayne. I'm betting now that if Munster extends at Melbourne, Braith is going to try to get him somewhere like Brisbane, Easts, Souths, or maybe one of the new car smell clubs on the rise like Bulldogs. That's his right and it'll be hard to say he was wrong to do it if/when you see him holding a premiership trophy. Also hard to say he was wrong when every member of that Melbourne spine right now except Munny is someone who bided their time behind an all time great player there till they got their shot.

On the flip side there have been players in a similar position to Jonah eg Scott Drinkwater, Tom Dearden, Ethan Strange, who left the "big" club for the less glamorous regional plebs, to forge their own path elsewhere, and that's been a great career move for all of them too. Sandon Smith's actually been a better first grader to this point than Tom Dearden had been when he left the Broncos (with the disclaimer that that Brisbane team was a rough, rough situation), so hopefully we've just found our version of one of these guys.

There's no moral or like "character" dimension to any of this. Different players want different things and hopefully we've gotten better at identifying the right players for the Knights. If Canberra can do it there's no reason we can't.

Wonder if Radley can play hooker
He played some hooker a few years back when they had a few injuries but I don’t think he’d be the answer there now, I’d back Sandon Smith over him tbh. That being said he’s a player that could be worth looking at. He seems like a massive dickhead but he does what it takes to win and isn’t scared of roughing up the opposition and doing what it takes to win. Tbh we need more of that in our team.

I don't think it's a coincidence that the one guy from that trip getting rissoled is the one who looks like he's one more head knock away from the morgue. Classic Chooks ruthlessness.
Ah yeah I forgot about the head knocks. I withdraw my previous comment. Surely he’ll end up medically retired at some point next season anyway.

HarVeeGee

There's been some other signs that his playing style is catching up with him too, a bit like how Dale Finucane went from one of the toughest guys going to someone who was letting through some pretty disgustingly soft tries. There's only so much punishment a body can take. Far be it for me to be cynical about such an August institution as the Sydney Roosters but the pearl clutching about them snorting a bit of coke is hilarious and embarrassing. So many of them do it lmao. And few clubs would have a longer history of cokeheads.

I reckon if Cameron Munster voiced a long-held dream to join the Roosters next season, they'd find it in their hearts to look past Munny's party boy shit. Call it a hunch.

We don't want Fifita do we?
There's talk about him with him playing his best footy under Holbrook .
Not for me with his injury issues to begin with.

macavity

We don't want Fifita do we?
There's talk about him with him playing his best footy under Holbrook .
Not for me with his injury issues to begin with.

For a prove it deal I would absolutely take him. At his best he is the best back rower in the game, something we don't get a sniff at otherwise.

I’d happily take Fifita if we could land him for unders and if Holbrook felt that he could get the best out of him. He’s an unbelievable talent but yeah it would come down to how motivated he is to be an NRL player.

jonno_knights

Didnt Fifita get upset this year because Fermor overtook him at left side backrow and he didnt want to play on the right?

I wouldnt be moving Lucas to accommodate him.

HarVeeGee

Lucas has played both sides and been great either way. I reckon moving him to the right to look after Sandon a bit in D is the way to go.