Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peter V'landys - New NRL/ARLC Chairman

undertaker

I'd like to get some competition in the FTA space. 9 are too complacent with league. What about if Seven got MNF or FNF or something like that maybe?
Seven's coverage of the 2013 and 2017 RLWC tournaments was something Ch9 could only hope to achieve. Nine's coverage of the 2008 RLWC was pissweak

Wb1234

Yeah, all those years when Ch9, News Ltd and 2GB essentially held the game to ransom and called the shots.

Before the ARLC was formed, the NRL (during David Gallop's tenure) were essentially negotiating with themselves when it came to the pay TV component of the tv rights deal. Massive conflict of interest re: News Ltd. The real market value for the pay TV component was never going to be realised, as it was always in the NRL's best interest to have Fox Sports pay as little as possible.

And don't get me started on 2GB. Complete, utter disgrace the NRL agreed to exclusive commerical radio rights for so many years.
If Stan bid for the pay tv rights this time it will be the first time in history those rights have had a competitor

Gobsmacked

Whoever gets the rights.. don't cross to the coaches box and ask the coach questions during the Origin...
That is the dumbest shit I've ever seen and continue to see.

Maybe we should ask Tiger Woods about the putter he's using mid shot?

Two examples of how terrible Channel 9 can be with televising rugby league -

1. 1997 Semi-Finals, Roosters v Bears at the SFS. This game went to extra time as it was 15 all at the end of regulation, with the Roosters running away with it in extra time. Game was on delayed telecast. Nine showed the first try scored in extra time (Sean Garlick scored for the Roosters), and then cut to Paul Vautin saying the Roosters ran away with it and summing up the final score. This was so they could squeeze in the news before its wall to wall coverage of Princess Diana's funeral.

2. 2008 Semi-Finals, Warriors v Roosters at Mt Smart Stadium. Friday night game in Auckland with a 8.30pm (NZ) kick-off time. Even though Channel 9 were contractually obliged to show all finals matches live, they showed this on delay as it refused to budge on televising the news and A Current Affair. So the broadcast didn't start until 7.30 pm (AEST), which was well into the second half of the game in real time. I protested by refusing to watch the match on 9.

Warrimoo3

And what about the total disregard to Occupational Health and Safety on the Footy Show with a litany of ill conceived stunts . Most notably the daredevil dudes segment with Vauntin dressed in a stupid sumo suit (and without a helmet) falling onto concrete and sustaining a serious head injury. He said in an interview that 6 years later he still hadn’t fully recovered.

Nuke

1. 1997 Semi-Finals, Roosters v Bears at the SFS. This game went to extra time as it was 15 all at the end of regulation, with the Roosters running away with it in extra time. Game was on delayed telecast. Nine showed the first try scored in extra time (Sean Garlick scored for the Roosters), and then cut to Paul Vautin saying the Roosters ran away with it and summing up the final score. This was so they could squeeze in the news before its wall to wall coverage of Princess Diana's funeral.

2. 2008 Semi-Finals, Warriors v Roosters at Mt Smart Stadium. Friday night game in Auckland with a 8.30pm (NZ) kick-off time. Even though Channel 9 were contractually obliged to show all finals matches live, they showed this on delay as it refused to budge on televising the news and A Current Affair. So the broadcast didn't start until 7.30 pm (AEST), which was well into the second half of the game in real time. I protested by refusing to watch the match on 9.
We had an incident here in WA maybe 15+ years ago. State Of Origin, at the time, was finally being shown in primetime (after being a 30mins highlights package at midnight for a year or two in around the year 2000 mark). The game was delayed by about an hour or so.
The telecast starts, but someone at Ch9 accidentally flipped, for a second or two, the live feed switch instead of the 'play from beginning' button ... so we saw the scoreline with about 15mins to go before they started the telecast from the start. I think, NSW were up by plenty. Killed the vibe at the pub my local club were gathered at, I can tell you.

undertaker

ROFL!

Although I do remember that 1997 Roosters vs Bears finals match that went into extra-time (was 10yrs old at the time, living in the Hunter region), I don't remember that incident you're referencing re:Ch9 cutting out the rest of extra time. I do remember that Saturday/Sunday arvo games during weeks 1-3 of the ARL finals were broadcast on 2 1/2hr delay (coverage beginning at 5:30pm on NBN), so the game was well and truly over by the time you saw it on tv.

Regarding the 2008 semi-final match, yes I do remember that. Disgraceful from Ch9. Since 2004, the NRL has required all finals matches be broadcast live (at least throughout NSW/QLD), but then there was that unfortunate incident which occurred for finals matches held in NZ.

You forgot to mention a year earlier, Ch9 also delayed the broadcast of the 1st Qualifying Final between Warriors and Eels. IIRC, coverage began at 7pm (i.e. 30 minute delay)

undertaker

And what about the total disregard to Occupational Health and Safety on the Footy Show with a litany of ill conceived stunts . Most notably the daredevil dudes segment with Vauntin dressed in a stupid sumo suit (and without a helmet) falling onto concrete and sustaining a serious head injury. He said in an interview that 6 years later he still hadn’t fully recovered.
Was that incident ever broadcast on The Footy Show, or is it officially classified as lost media? (hidden away in the TCN-9 vault somewhere).

Speaking of OHS, it does remind me of tv shows like Who Dares Wins. High-risk dares that occurred during the first season of the show (1996) were no longer repeated throughout the remainder of the shows' tenure. In interviews he's done discussing the show since it ended, Mike Whitney mentioned there were at least a couple of serious injuries contestants suffered during that first season which required hospitalisation and thus led to major issues regarding insurance (this, alongside OHS requirements, is the main reason why there's absolutely no way a tv show of this nature would ever be revived in Australia these days).

undertaker

Whoever gets the rights.. don't cross to the coaches box and ask the coach questions during the Origin...
That is the dumbest shit I've ever seen and continue to see.

Maybe we should ask Tiger Woods about the putter he's using mid shot?
100% agree with you.

Also, not a fan of players being interviewed during the game. Absolutely hate this trend. Same thing happens in cricket (with Fox interviewing players during the drinks break). Before and after the game, no issues whatsoever. But, some commentator walking up and shoving a microphone in a player's face as they're walking off the field at half-time....I mean, come on...let them focus on the game that they're still playing. It's a very unprofessional look from the tv broadcaster to do that.

Cactus

9 wont listen to any of these valid complaints.
I remember them saying many times long ago that it is the viewing fans that wanted to be more involved in the mechanics & behind the scenes stuff.
9 took that vague sentiment & made it their licence to intrude whenever & wherever.

Warrimoo3

Was that incident ever broadcast on The Footy Show, or is it officially classified as lost media? (hidden away in the TCN-9 vault somewhere).

Speaking of OHS, it does remind me of shows like Who Dares Wins. Dares that occurred during the first season of that show were no longer repeated throughout the remainder of the shows' tenure. In interviews he's done discussing the show since then, Mike Whitney mentioned there were at least a couple of serious injuries contestants suffered in that first season that led to insurance increasing.
And don’t forget the Ben Ross/Wendall Sailor arm wrestle disaster. Resulted in a permanent disability to Ben Ross. They quickly cut to a commercial totally downplaying the incident at the time.