Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The game is bigger than it has ever been

Senor M

I have lived in Melbourne for the past 5 years working on tower cranes so I talk to shitloads of blokes every day. In 2020 no one knew what a storm was and i used to cop shit for being a bum sniffer. Now though heaps of blokes support the Storm (and other teams) go to games, watch state of origin and you can have a decent convo/banter about footy. The difference in 5 years is massive, a complete 180.
They all still call it rugby though. And speaking of rugby, who scheduled the wallabies/all black test at the same time as the afl gf?? No wonder they are irrelevant...

“The difference in 5 years is massive”— maybe in your anecdotal situation, but that’s not reflective of the Melbourne Storm growth and growth in Victoria.

The largest Storm crowd at AAMI Park is still the Cowboys Prelim in 2015. The largest Anzac Day crowd was 2014.

The average Storm crowd in 2023 was only 700 more people than in 2013.

The MCG had 91k attend State of Origin in 2015, 87k in 2018.

Just because you only arrived in Victoria in 2020 and don’t understand the whole picture, doesn’t mean your analysis is accurate.

Wb1234

“The difference in 5 years is massive”— maybe in your anecdotal situation, but that’s not reflective of the Melbourne Storm growth and growth in Victoria.

The largest Storm crowd at AAMI Park is still the Cowboys Prelim in 2015. The largest Anzac Day crowd was 2014.

Just because you only arrived in Victoria in 2020 and don’t understand the whole picture, doesn’t mean your analysis is accurate.
A team full of Victorian kids just made the grand final v Penrith (Harold Matt’s ?)

Gobsmacked

Yeah, it's amazing what can happen when you have a leader who actually loves the game, talks it up, and gets stuff he thinks needs doing, done.

As opposed to the Greenburgs and Gallops of this world who were too busy playing favourites, from clubland to TV deals, to do much other than breed negativity amongst the games own fans, let alone attracting new ones.

Have we ever heard PVL say that he took advice from his daughters touch footy team regarding decisions in a multi billion dollar sport? FFS..
I don't really think Greensburg or Gallop were bad, they did some good things. Most of the time they had was just managing crisis and they got us through some tough spots too. In all fairness PVL has only been able to do what he has because of the tough times others have pulled us through.

PVL is a once in a generation leader. I don't hold anyone to his standard . It's going to be a big fall once he's finished.

Wb1234

I don't really think Greensburg or Gallop were bad, they did some good things. Most of the time they had was just managing crisis and they got us through some tough spots too. In all fairness PVL has only been able to do what he has because of the tough times others have pulled us through.

PVL is a once in a generation leader. I don't hold anyone to his standard . It's going to be a big fall once he's finished.
Fair point as news ltd still owned 50 percent of the game they couldn’t do much

Beattie, grant and smith were pretty useless though. At least Beattie knew Pvl was the man for the job and stepped aside

Pvl has such a high football iq. He knows what’s wrong and how to fix stuff and he gets the games history unlike the rings ins

Plus he a good consensus builder and gets things done

Gobsmacked

It's a hell of a lot more accurate than cherry picking one off events..

There's heaps of data that back up a steady surge of interest for league in Victoria. Average crowds are up, most sell outs, most juniors ever, most teams ever, highest ratings ever.

The Storm used to play to 12k and a running track, now they average over 20k in a state of the art facility. They're producing Victorian players in the NRL now, they have Victorian kids in the best feeder systems in Australia and next year they'll have a team in NSW cup.

This is just the tip of the iceberg.

Senor M

A team full of Victorian kids just made the grand final v Penrith (Harold Matt’s ?)

But those kids weren’t the ones telling old mate that “rugby is bum sniffers 5 years ago”….

The majority of the kids in the Harold Matthews Cup squad come from cultural backgrounds that would be playing Rugby League whether Storm had 10k in the stands or 20k in the stands each week.

Those kids wouldn’t be playing for the Calder Cannons or Northern Knights in the Coates League if they were interested in AFL

Gobsmacked

Fair point as news ltd still owned 50 percent of the game they couldn’t do much

Beattie, grant and smith were pretty useless though. At least Beattie knew Pvl was the man for the job and stepped aside

Pvl has such a high football iq. He knows what’s wrong and how to fix stuff and he gets the games history unlike the rings ins

Plus he a good consensus builder and gets things done
We have a fan of the game in charge of the game and happens to have one of the biggest business IQ's in the country...
It's a miracle and why he should only ever be referred to as " Saint Pete"
Failure to comply will result in three 6 agains and the afternoon scrubbing steedens.

Senor M

It's a hell of a lot more accurate than cherry picking one off events..

There's heaps of data that back up a steady surge of interest for league in Victoria. Average crowds are up, most sell outs, most juniors ever, most teams ever, highest ratings ever.

The Storm used to play to 12k and a running track, now they average over 20k in a state of the art facility. They're producing Victorian players in the NRL now, they have Victorian kids in the best feeder systems in Australia and next year they'll have a team in NSW cup.

This is just the tip of the iceberg.

But those changes haven’t happened since 2020, despite what old mate claims.

They have been happening over decades now. AAMI Park opened in 2010. Gareth Whiddop spent his teenage years in the Storm Junior system in the late 2000’s, as did both Jesse & Kenny Bromwitch. Mahe Fonua debuted in 2012.

The Storm journey is a long journey, not exclusively to the past 5 years—- just because some blow in claims it to be

Reactions: abc

Gobsmacked

They have been happening over decades now. AAMI Park opened in 2010. Gareth Whiddop spent his teenage years in the Storm Junior system in the late 2000’s, as did both Jesse & Kenny Bromwitch. Mahe Fonua debuted in 2012.

The Storm journey is a long journey, not exclusively to the past 5 years—- just because some blow in claims it to be
NRL 2024: State of Origin, Melbourne, Storm, MCG, Victoria, Dermot Brereton, Laurie Daley, Mal Meninga, tram; AFL legends explains why league is booming in Victoria | NRL.com https://share.google/0drmlzV5232nLNTZA

Senor M

NRL 2024: State of Origin, Melbourne, Storm, MCG, Victoria, Dermot Brereton, Laurie Daley, Mal Meninga, tram; AFL legends explains why league is booming in Victoria | NRL.com https://share.google/0drmlzV5232nLNTZA

That article doesn’t support old mate Simmo’s claim that no one in Melbourne knew about Rugby league when he moved down in 2020.

It reaffirms that 91k attended State of Origin in 2015.

Are you actually claiming that the Storm’s public perception is due to the last 5 years like Simmo said?

Ignoring the 20 years before it

Gobsmacked

He didn't claim it to be exclusive, he's just highlighted that in the last 5 years you can notice it more on the ground. I felts the same in every trip I've taken to Melbourne, it's only in the last few years that it feels more broadly excepted in the Victorian sporting landscape.

He told you an honest account of his personal experience, all the data supports that and I have no idea why or what grounds you have to push back on that.

Rugby League Enjoys Rapid Growth in Victoria - Ministry of Sport https://share.google/390dPSAB6sUo3EQo3

Gobsmacked

That article doesn’t support old mate Simmo’s claim that no one in Melbourne knew about Rugby league when he moved down in 2020.

It reaffirms that 91k attended State of Origin in 2015.

Are you actually claiming that the Storm’s public perception is due to the last 5 years like Simmo said?

Ignoring the 20 years before it
Why would I be so stupid to argue against someone's personal perception or experience?
I'll leave that to you.

Senor M

He didn't claim it to be exclusive, he's just highlighted that in the last 5 years you can notice it more on the ground. I felts the same in every trip I've taken to Melbourne, it's only in the last few years that it feels more broadly excepted in the Victorian sporting landscape.

He told you an honest account of his personal experience, all the data supports that and I have no idea why or what grounds you have to push back on that.

Rugby League Enjoys Rapid Growth in Victoria - Ministry of Sport https://share.google/390dPSAB6sUo3EQo3

So your experience as someone who comes down on “trips” and the anecdotal experience of someone who has been in Melbourne for 5 years is clear evidence that the Melbourne Storm has only made an impact in the past 5 years—- ok, mate.

I love it when people who didn’t live in Melbourne 10 years ago tell me the public perception of the people of Melbourne 10 years ago.

Maximus

So your experience as someone who comes down on “trips” and the anecdotal experience of someone who has been in Melbourne for 5 years is clear evidence that the Melbourne Storm has only made an impact in the past 5 years—- ok, mate.

I love it when people who didn’t live in Melbourne 10 years ago tell me the public perception of the people of Melbourne 10 years ago.

Don't mind Gobsmacked. He claimed his opinion on NZ was worth more than actual residents because he went on holidays there, and then started a new account to pretend to be born there so people would listen to his dumbarse opinion.

He also thinks Blocker is incredibly intelligent and well spoken.

Gobsmacked

" Only" never said only.
Show us your evidence that League hasn't had a spike in growth in the last 5 years?
Better yet, tell us why it's so important to you that it hasn't?
Sorry, scrap all that.
Tell us when as an AFL fan did you get insecure about Leagues expansion into your territory?
And we can pinpoint the beginning of the spike...