Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

BrotherJim05

The Storm have reportedly made a final call on the future of hulking enforcer Nelson Asofa-Solomona, releasing the prop from the final two years of his contract.

According to Code Sports, Asofa-Solomona was earning a reported $850,000 per-season and his departure opens up a significant portion of salary cap space to utilise elsewhere.
--------------
HTF does this work? It states they are releasing him from the last 2 years of his contract and he is looking at other opportunities?

I heard a rumour we are looking at signing him but no way would it be for 850k. Brown and NAS would be great additions to our pack for 2026.

1. Bula
2. Skelton
3. To'a (eventually Makasini)
4. May
5. Turuva
6. Luai
7. Doeuihi (eventually Fainu)
8. May
9. Api
10. Pole
11. Fainu
12. KPP
13. Twal

14. Hope (eventually Haywood)
15. NAS
16. Fainu
17. Brown / Seyfarth

We might set a NRL record for sin bins but at least we will see some real mongrel in our pack

I think that little bit (or a lot) of aggression is what we are missing.
Making the opposition pause for just a half a second before a tackle would make a big difference for us.
Im pro both Brown and NAS.

I think they are great pot luck type signings. You can't spend big on them and you only give them a one year contract.

Hunt is another guy who can play that role for us.

It’s our best for quite some time.

We have a pretty darn good squad.

Just some points:-

1. Our back-up outside backs are Makasini and Luke Laulilii. That is about as good as it gets.
2. Our utility/halves/hooker back-ups are Mason, Javon Andrews (who knows how good this kid will be), Jock Madden and Tristan Hope. This is pretty darn good as well.
3. I think our middle forward depth isn't great but we have a good pack including the bench now.

We have a pretty darn good squad.

Just some points:-

1. Our back-up outside backs are Makasini and Luke Laulilii. That is about as good as it gets.
2. Our utility/halves/hooker back-ups are Mason, Javon Andrews (who knows how good this kid will be), Jock Madden and Tristan Hope. This is pretty darn good as well.
3. I think our middle forward depth isn't great but we have a good pack including the bench now.
The rumour is that the Laulilii's may be heading to the drags?
But if Bird goes as well, then they may have someone lined up?

The rumour is that the Laulilii's may be heading to the drags?

I hope not. They are Tiger juniors and I'd like to see them stay and make it here. They aren't sure things though.

But if Bird goes as well, then they may have someone lined up?

I think replacing Bird with a middle forward would be awesome. I don't think Bird is the type of player we need.

BrotherJim05

Bunty Afoa is a great signing. It's one of those signings that isn't exactly for depth, but it pushes players that otherwise would make the top 17 into depth players (which is even better).

I'd love to see a massive middle forward signing that pushes Pole to the bench, but it ain't happening. I'd love to see N. Brown back at the club. Something romantic about a Tigers junior coming home.

macnaz

I heard a rumour we are looking at signing him but no way would it be for 850k. Brown and NAS would be great additions to our pack for 2026.

1. Bula
2. Skelton
3. To'a (eventually Makasini)
4. May
5. Turuva
6. Luai
7. Doeuihi (eventually Fainu)
8. May
9. Api
10. Pole
11. Fainu
12. KPP
13. Twal

14. Hope (eventually Haywood)
15. NAS
16. Fainu
17. Brown / Seyfarth

We might set a NRL record for sin bins but at least we will see some real mongrel in our pack
We set sin bin records even without mongrel .

Nutz

If NAS is on 850k and the Storm are releasing him from his final two years then they have to ensure he gets that.
He has to be picked up by another club otherwise the storm still gets hit with 850pa cap. I think thats how it works. That's why other clubs normally have to pay a gap and/or transfer fee.
The reason the Storm are willing to let NAS go is so he can go to R360 imo.
However, if we could get him cheap by the Storm being more desperate than us and are willing to pitch in then goodo, but NAS will want options for the 3rd year and if that's the case he can kiss off to England or NZ Country Rugby or R360.

Nutz

Bunty Afoa is a great signing. It's one of those signings that isn't exactly for depth, but it pushes players that otherwise would make the top 17 into depth players (which is even better).

I'd love to see a massive middle forward signing that pushes Pole to the bench, but it ain't happening. I'd love to see N. Brown back at the club. Something romantic about a Tigers junior coming home.
I still reckon Hunt played awesome in reserves then a couple of NRL cameos at the end of the season proved that he's still got impact value.
Brown is a smaller version of Hunt but shows a bigger heart.
I'd like to see both battle it out for a spot. Benji has already read the riot act to Hunt and so far he's responded.
For too many years now, Hunt has got away with ½ arsed performances and finally Fitzy gave up on him.
If Hunt can prove over the off season he's ready to go hard then I'd like to see which Hunt runs out next year. Or will it be witch hunt.
Bellyache would sort him out, can Benji?

Nutz

It was a good post but Bellyache couldn't sort out Nelson. I reckon Nelson is a lot better player than Hunt has ever been.
Actually Bellyache did get Nelson playing great footy but the big man's knees are wearing out and the older you get and the bigger you are it requires more work to keep fit and they end up taking short cuts.
I've noticed this from Nelson and it's a reason why I don't really want him....unless of course we get him cheap but he'll be going to R360 for sure so forget it.
I still stand firm on Bellyache being able to sort Hunt out though.
He needs some tough love.
Did you see Bellyache rip Stef a new butthole after Stef did some stupid stuff onfield. It was all caught on security camera.
Some players need it but some players can't handle it. Since going to the Storm, both Stefano and Blore have become better footballers.
Some players like Galvin would have played the abuse, sooky wooky card.

Benji has 2 things going for him, young enough like Ciraldo to connect with players like Latu and secondly, he's naturally competitive which hopefully will rub off on his squad.
I think in the later part of this year we started to see that.
The stronger our depth is the easier Benji's job will be.

Mate - we are going to have to disagree on Bellamy. He ain't all that and a coach can only do so much.

Here is the thing - Stefano and Blore have always been top tier footy players. They've been playing footy for years and developing into their bodies. Personally I don't think they've improved at the Storm beyond expected progression. I think most of the improvement is playing in a better team. If anything Blore hasn't come on like he might have and Stef had a great month or so at the backend of the season but had a pretty poor grand final.

I think it's a pretty tough ask to state that Stef and Blore have improved more because they are at the Storm compared to staying with us. Do you think Katao has improved because of Bellamy ? Do you think it's that simple ?

Nutz

Mate - we are going to have to disagree on Bellamy. He ain't all that and a coach can only do so much.

Here is the thing - Stefano and Blore have always been top tier footy players. They've been playing footy for years and developing into their bodies. Personally I don't think they've improved at the Storm beyond expected progression. I think most of the improvement is playing in a better team. If anything Blore hasn't come on like he might have and Stef had a great month or so at the backend of the season but had a pretty poor grand final.

I think it's a pretty tough ask to state that Stef and Blore have improved more because they are at the Storm compared to staying with us. Do you think Katao has improved because of Bellamy ? Do you think it's that simple ?
From the outset I've stated that he is a great CLUB coach that his team continually raises the bar in a salary cap era, runs on the board.
I refer to players learning how to play in HIS team and system.. You can't have players in his squad not conforming to his style. He commands that.
I agree though, let's disagree and leave it at that.
I couldn't be bothered changing threads but I changed to YouTube premium, no ads and more content for the long off season.
I finally watched Tom Hanks star in Greyhound. For $5 it was top viewing imo.
Now to watch another and get sick on popcorn and coke 🥤🍿