Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best Off-field incident of the NRL era

How about Greg Bird when he glassed his girlfriend in the face then rung his mate to say 'we told the cops it was you, what do you reckon about that?'

Probably belongs in the 'worst', not the best to be fair.

Joel Clinton bringing a girl into Broncos camp and being fined $50K, more than most players got for anything short of pushing their grandma off a building, always made me laugh.

How about Greg Bird when he glassed his girlfriend in the face then rung his mate to say 'we told the cops it was you, what do you reckon about that?'

Probably belongs in the 'worst', not the best to be fair.

Joel Clinton bringing a girl into Broncos camp and being fined $50K, more than most players got for anything short of pushing their grandma off a building, always made me laugh.
Wasn’t Bird’s mate an aspiring golfer who was hauled off the golf course after this happened?

Yep. Bird threw him right under a bus, when he was at the golf course at the time - which was easily corroborated - and was absolutely zero chance of having been involved.

Despite all that, from memory, Bird's mrs dropped the charge. He should have been banned for life. Top 5 pieces of S to ever play the game

Yep. Bird threw him right under a bus, when he was at the golf course at the time - which was easily corroborated - and was absolutely zero chance of having been involved.

Despite all that, from memory, Bird's mrs dropped the charge. He should have been banned for life. Top 5 pieces of S to ever play the game

Yeah nah yeah yeah nah man that's f**ked Birdy is just a great Aussie larrikin man like what the f**k is this f**ken world coming to with it's woke leftist feminazi agenda if a hardworking bloke can't gently assault his missus with a potentially deadly f**ken weapon when she's uppity, mate, f**k!

Also it's not his go anyway.

Munky

Robert Lui got a massive second chance after Mad Monday in 2011.

One year later...

A huge shame since he was a pretty decent fit for the Tigpies.

He's only a year younger than the Chad too.

Danish

Have to go with the Gower incident, mostly because it culminated in Pearce scoring a runaway try after the siren to beat him when they played each other for the first time

Danish

Can I throw Ricky Stuart’s various press conference performances into the mix? They are technically off field.

Setting aside the sheer amount of phrases and insults he’s introduced into rugby league lore, the fact he held a grudge for over a decade against a 10 year old kid to the point that he exploded in a press conference… it’s just the most sticky thing that’s ever happened

Mr. Shaman

Birdy was innocent, they lied to protect his missus who was on a visa at the time. Finchy told me before he…

Munky

Can I throw Ricky Stuart’s various press conference performances into the mix? They are technically off field.

Setting aside the sheer amount of phrases and insults he’s introduced into rugby league lore, the fact he held a grudge for over a decade against a 10 year old kid to the point that he exploded in a press conference… it’s just the most sticky thing that’s ever happened

I'm convinced Ricky thought he was going to get fired at the end of 2022.

At that point they were floundering and just lost to a team with a SOS/Fido halves combo

It was a masterful deflection of the media.

In the end he didn't need to do it as Canberra made the finals and beat Melbourne.

Yeah actually Sticky holding a decade long grudge against a child is definitely top tier.

Apey

Mm yes, boys hurting in the shed and texah's. Could even add the players wives critiquing his coaching ability. I'll allow it.

In that vein: Mal's political career.

I think upon reflection my top two poets are Gaz "fire up you sad merkin" and Pearces "I don't have a sexuality".

Outstanding achievement in the field of excellence probably goes to Gower. Lots of honourable mentions like Smith & Locke in the UK.

The WTF award might be shared between a few. Lachlan Lewis, anyone found guilty of shitting not in toilets, and Martin Kennedy.

The greatest game of all.

Crazy that Sticky tried to sign Bird again for Parra afterwards. It always blew my mind because of how badly this incident derailed what he was doing at the Sharks. Cronulla were top 4 that year and made the prelims. Bird pulled that with about 6 weeks left in the 2008 season. They were a way behind Manly and Melbourne but were a chance of a premiership, especially considering they ended up getting the week off in the finals. The following 2 seasons were absolute shit shows and he was gone before the end of 2010, and was coaching rep footy in 2011.