Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rugby Australia to target top NRL talent - Lomax case settled

Steel Saints

How good is Clinton Schifcofske as a player agent?

Lomax quits Parramatta about two weeks ago- mid November. A few days later, Schifcofske, who manages Lomax and Paps, decides to walk away from r360, in a bid to avoid a ten year ban from the NRL.

I reckon he walked away because he pretty much knew that r360 wouldn't get off the ground next year. Meanwhile he has left two of his clients unemployed. Where is Clint Newton? Where is the RLPA?

Gobsmacked

Can anyone hear V'landys comments start to eco ?
Something about, protection for players that might sign something without a business plan??
" Something out of a corn flakes packet"

Maybe players and agents will pay more attention when he discredits another organization..

parrawentyfan

I do really like the idea of the NRL using this time to steal their idea and basically just become R360 in one form or another. Not without giving up our soul of course, but embracing some of the global elements that we are already trying with through Vegas and the Global Round.

Then when R360 does, if ever, roll around, there isn't much point of difference and we've taken all the potential investment.

Canard

R360 came along at a very bad time for the NRL.
Trying to launch new teams, trying to secure a broadcast agreement..
2028 is perfect for us. Broadcast agreement in Place and new franchises hitting the ground..

I think R360 underestimate just how much over their overs are going to come to in 2 years.. at least for NRL talent.
It's all bullshit though, this is it's death knell.

Trifili13

If I’m Perth, I’m saying to all 3 of them sign with us, we’ll pay you in 2026 to stay fit, even to play elsewhere (loan them out).
Use 2026 to pre-pay their contracts, so you get all 3 at a lower cap value in 27/28.
So let’s say they’d be willing to pay Pappy $1m per season for 2 years. Offer him $2.5m for 3 years, including 2026, but pay him $1.5m in 2026, and $500k in 27/28…. Then let him sign on loan somewhere for 2026 and Pappy can keep all that money too.
Effectively gets them their salary cap increase but through the back door.
Can't see the club CEO's allowing Perth to front end contracts in a season they are not even in the competition to then have a couple of million extra cap space than everyone in years 1 and 2 to poach their players. Didn't Richo basically tell Perth to "f off you knew the rules when you joined" when they wanted some cap exemption earlier this week for a couple of airline tickets for family members?

Chimp

Can't see the club CEO's allowing Perth to front end contracts in a season they are not even in the competition to then have a couple of million extra cap space than everyone in years 1 and 2 to poach their players. Didn't Richo basically tell Perth to "f off you knew the rules when you joined" when they wanted some cap exemption earlier this week for a couple of airline tickets for family members?
How can they stop them? Perth not covered by NRL rules in 2026, as long as the contracts meet NRLs ‘notional value’ then they should go for it.
And the club CEOs should wind their necks in - Perth needs to be at least competitive - without some concessions, they’re gonna be terrible, which could be catastrophic.

Growthegame

Perth should be on the phone to Parramatta to cut a deal right now. Offer Paps and NAS overs straight off the bat. Get it done!
Theres no need to break the bank for NAS lol. What an overreaction (to incorrect media reports) that would be and stuff up the clubs salary cap long term.

I don’t believe after being in hibernation for 27 (or whatever years) the Bears need to be further punished by being forced to have Lomax in their squad.

Growthegame

Exactly

Getting pappenhausen would get the Mickey off their back

Like a Batsman whose come out to bat getting his first single

Right now they are a bit of damaged goods with the players they are signing and average players rejecting them even when they offered overs
Who is “Batsman”? Did he play for Wests?

Growthegame

Looks like we'll be going through all this again in 2 years. Who's off contract for 2028 ?
lol no we won’t.

over the next 6-8 months those involve will slowly and one by one resign from their imaginary R360 until no one is sure if anyone is left at R360 & from there we won’t hear about this damaged brand again. This is what happens when Rebel upstarts fail to launch.

Growthegame

Just a means to ensure that the Eels are compensated when he signs for someone else.
Might be that he doesnt come back to the NRL and just takes some easy Japanese or French rugby money, but my bet is an NRL club will pay Parra a transfer feee/swap of players and Lomax will be playing NRL footy in 2026
What club is going to pay to compensate the Eels for a player who has failed to see through his last two contracts? Not a well run club. That’s for sure.

BuffaloRules

Looks like we'll be going through all this again in 2 years. Who's off contract for 2028 ? Cleary and Walsh.

2028 is when the NRL cap will go up to 15 to 17m so players will be better paid.

But the NRL still wont be able to compete with the imaginary tax free 3m pa R360 can offer.

they will need to be a lot better the next time after this debacle…

Actually having some money wouldn’t hurt … they announced some very ambitious ideas which are not cheap…

Did they announce the NRL cap for 2028 already ? This will be the first year of the new broadcast deal I believe

nick87

What club is going to pay to compensate the Eels for a player who has failed to see through his last two contracts? Not a well run club. That’s for sure.

First time watching Rugba Leeg, mate?

He's a good player and big name, i dont know what club it will be but i can say with absolute certainty that there will be a team, and frankly probably 2-3 that will make a play for him if he comes back to the NRL
As you say, they may not be the best run clubs but there are plenty of those around

He feels very Titans-y to me. Or he could f**k around playing some Japanese or French rugby for a year and take a boat load of cash to be the face of the Bears.