Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wests Tigers club news

Nutz

I’m in no way a Tigers fan, but my grandson played junior reps and the strength of the Wests Tigers juniors is the Wests side of the merger. Balmain basically feeds from the other junior leagues around its boundaries, when playing at Campbelltown no matter what the name of the rep team, it’s was close to 100% Campbelltown players.
Balmain junior reps were embellished from the Eels & Panthers juniors, anyway it needs a resolution and have no idea how the financial owners can be pushed around.
There's no denying your comments are fair but it was a merger.
HBG is a business and so is the NRL. At the end of the day, both entities have to look after the fans right across the board.
Vigilante said do himself. 😁 It's their product!
I can't see them getting rid of the Tiger as it's more marketable especially if Vigilante takes us to Vegas and we win.

On this one facet the Tigers are not on its pat malone. If you buy a season ticket with the Roosters it doesn't give you voting rights either. To be able to vote you have to be a member of the "Eastern Suburbs District Rugby League Club", and from what I've heard and read over the years is very difficult to join, and has around 200 odd members. That club appoints the majority of the directors to the board of the Leagues Club.

Just saying for comparison is all.

It's quite sad that after 25 years of this joint venture, it seems like the Wests/Balmain divide still seems so prevalent to the people in power of your club that they continually play stupid games which do more harm than good.
The difference is that the Roosters are winners. They can have all the directors they want but everyone knows that Uncle Nick runs the show with an iron fist. And why not, with their record. I could only dream of us making the finals, let alone doing it multiple times in succession.

I'll be dead before it's resolved one way or another so I'll pass the baton over to you 😂
Then I’m buying a f**king ouija board so you don’t miss out.

Wests Tigers civil war outcome market:

HBG victory: $1.03

Rebels reinstated en masse: $4.34

Richo resignation: $2.00

Benji resignation: $1.67

Vlandys intervention: $102.35

One thing bets are not being taken on is that all the actors in the matter will tell everyone how great they are.

In a scenario where Benji feels conflicted and resigns we could have a new coaching staff.

I wonder if his allies in that group who were sacked, are good enough to insist he soldiers on.

That him and Richo close their eyes to their plight and push forward.

Hard for Richo too as don’t forget, he was instrumental in their appointments.

It’s quite a tangled web HBG have thrown over us.

The timing is brutal.

Let's look at some facts surrounding the HBG.

After 2 full years in charge, Richo was able to deliver a profit this year which was the first in the football clubs history. HBG was never able to deliver this even though the NRL paid the wages of the top 30 players, and threw in another $8 to $13 mil grant each year, and every other club was making a profit.

HBG say they sacked the independent directors due to lack of communication. HBG have 2 directors on that board who attended all board meetings. If there's a lack of communication, it's the blame of their own board appointees.

HBG say that as majority owners they don't have enough say. Their decisions, while in charge, led to 14 years of missing the finals and the appointment of the fedora f@#ktard, chairman lee, and his lapdog justin 'waylan smithers' pascoe. The last 2 years have shown the Wests Tigers team is better off without their input.

I could go on but I won't.

There's word about that Richo had a clause put in his contract that states if the governance structure of the board changed he could walk away with 2 years pay. With the independents gone he can now do this.

On and off the field the club is an embarrassment. It's almost like they had a bet among themselves 25 years ago with the winner being the person who could screw the club up the most.

If their end game is to change the club back to Western Suburbs Magpies they'd have to apply to the NRL to do it. PVL is just as likely to pull the licence and give it to another area / state / country to start a new club. He'd love to get rid of some Sydney teams.

Nutz

PVL is just as likely to pull the licence and give it to another area / state / country to start a new club. He'd love to get rid of some Sydney teams.
I felt this way too when the board crap started ages ago.
The way fox and 9 talk up LO on a Sunday arvo and say how good is this I think PV would realise the great marketing value of this great venue
I don't think he wants to damage the game and hopefully will call for some firmer reassurances from all parties to get on with it and make the joint venture work.
He wants the NRL to forge ahead now whilst Vegas was a success and things look good atm.

I felt this way too when the board crap started ages ago.
The way fox and 9 talk up LO on a Sunday arvo and say how good is this I think PV would realise the great marketing value of this great venue
I don't think he wants to damage the game and hopefully will call for some firmer reassurances from all parties to get on with it and make the joint venture work.
He wants the NRL to forge ahead now whilst Vegas was a success and things look good atm.
It’s unthinkable for us, but I think the rest of the game would carry on quite nicely without us.

A chance for that second NZ side, Central Coast etc.

Penrith could invade our region and set a second club at Campbelltown.

I don’t think anyone can seriously argue that the club has performed well over the last couple of years. We’ve been abominable.

But HBG don’t want to fix the footy side of things.

If they wanted to win over a lot of fans with their bizzaro plans, they should’ve taken out Benji as well as the board.

But life in the WT realm of the matey remains entirely unchanged.

The two smoking guns, the two direct ways to long lasting success:

1. Democratically elected board
2. Merit based staff and personnel.

gordsy

Let's look at some facts surrounding the HBG.

After 2 full years in charge, Richo was able to deliver a profit this year which was the first in the football clubs history. HBG was never able to deliver this even though the NRL paid the wages of the top 30 players, and threw in another $8 to $13 mil grant each year, and every other club was making a profit.

HBG say they sacked the independent directors due to lack of communication. HBG have 2 directors on that board who attended all board meetings. If there's a lack of communication, it's the blame of their own board appointees.

HBG say that as majority owners they don't have enough say. Their decisions, while in charge, led to 14 years of missing the finals and the appointment of the fedora f@#ktard, chairman lee, and his lapdog justin 'waylan smithers' pascoe. The last 2 years have shown the Wests Tigers team is better off without their input.

I could go on but I won't.

There's word about that Richo had a clause put in his contract that states if the governance structure of the board changed he could walk away with 2 years pay. With the independents gone he can now do this.

On and off the field the club is an embarrassment. It's almost like they had a bet among themselves 25 years ago with the winner being the person who could screw the club up the most.

If their end game is to change the club back to Western Suburbs Magpies they'd have to apply to the NRL to do it. PVL is just as likely to pull the licence and give it to another area / state / country to start a new club. He'd love to get rid of some Sydney teams.
If we do collapse and I'm not saying we're close to that, it won't be for any reason than board greed and the gorge piggins mentality. These people are squabbling over the chook raffle and playing marbles whilst the real clubs are playing chess. If we could move Interstate and still be the tigers I'd support that if it was the only and guaranteed way to get out from under the holman barnes arse clowns

It’s the first strike nuclear option.

So far, the lack of communication and jersey explanations don’t seem like especially compelling reasons to create so much chaos.

Neither Richo or Benji need their positions as a matter of life or death financially. Richo could move on easily and Benji can go back to the media.

I wonder what HBG’s plan is for an internal management and coach if the two flee?

Which I’m pretty much expecting at this point.

Mainly because Richo was adamant that the independent directors get appointed. How can he abandon them now?

And Benji will struggle without automatic CEO backing.

So with management, if you are going to replace people, you need to be sure about the quality of the replacements. Like employees-you don’t necessarily want to leave a job unless you have another lined up.

And on a more composed note, Richo and Benji are always going to leave. The issue has always been when and why. Richo said we were his last club and unless you are a marquee coach, staying in the game coaching is tough.

Murraymob1

It’s unthinkable for us, but I think the rest of the game would carry on quite nicely without us.

A chance for that second NZ side, Central Coast etc.

Penrith could invade our region and set a second club at Campbelltown.
Wrong the roosters will take over they have been looking for a junior area for a long time .they tried having a club in the Penrith junior system ST Mary’s but penrith banned it

RedVee

Wrong the roosters will take over they have been looking for a junior area for a long time .they tried having a club in the Penrith junior system ST Mary’s but penrith banned it
Think they already have a club, Narellan maybe?
They have Berkeley in the Wollongong/Sth Coast area as well.

RedVee

The NRL cant force HBG to do anything, they are a private company.
What the NRL can do is take away the NRL Tigers license.
Yes, I was thinking “force” by threat to remove license.

No reason for HBG to sell, or do anything really, otherwise.

Shredder

I was thinking after I replied over a coffee and a smoke.
The player contracts are NRL contracts.
The coaching staff, medical and ground contracts are with the club.
Perhaps the NRL could revoke the license, keep the players do DD on the grounds and coaching and have us as an NRL owned club.
Common outside looking in sense would consolidate the ground strategy (maybe even having us train at a ground we actually play games at), as this would save costs.
Do they want to do this? Probably not.

Murraymob1

I was thinking after I replied over a coffee and a smoke.
The player contracts are NRL contracts.
The coaching staff, medical and ground contracts are with the club.
Perhaps the NRL could revoke the license, keep the players do DD on the grounds and coaching and have us as an NRL owned club.
Common outside looking in sense would consolidate the ground strategy (maybe even having us train at a ground we actually play games at), as this would save costs.
Do they want to do this? Probably not.
The players are contracted and paid by the clubs