Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wests Tigers club news

Benji will have a press conference. He won’t go quietly. I don’t think he’s the right coach, I hope he leaves, but he definitely deserves his say on his way out.

Just like Lee deserved a copy of the Review, no matter how disconnected he seemed to be!

That’s what high brow and professional management does. They don’t hide things because they don’t need to.

But with all the intrigue and shadows swirling around our club at the moment:-

1. James Bond would feel right at home embedded in our club.

2. It could even be the assignment where he finally gets killed off!

We’d all shrug our shoulders I guess.

According to the Mi7 report, Bunty doesn’t hold up the weights properly for James and is then seen hopping into a red Ferrari.

Benji will have a press conference. He won’t go quietly. I don’t think he’s the right coach, I hope he leaves, but he definitely deserves his say on his way out.

Just like Lee deserved a copy of the Review, no matter how disconnected he seemed to be!

That’s what high brow and professional management does. They don’t hide things because they don’t need to.

But with all the intrigue and shadows swirling around our club at the moment:-

1. James Bond would feel right at home embedded in our club.

2. It could even be the assignment where he finally gets killed off!

We’d all shrug our shoulders I guess.

According to the Mi7 report, Bunty doesn’t hold up the weights properly for James and is then seen hopping into a red Ferrari.
Would you involve Q branch TSP? Maybe an exploding dunny seat in the executive washroom at ashfield leagues could seal the deal. Or some sort of poison gas at the next HBG board meeting? That'd kill more than 2 birds with one stone, so to speak.

He'd have to dress down to avoid suspicion. Those tailor made suits and rolex watches would draw the eye. And I'm sure their version of a dry vodka Martini, shaken not stirred, would not pass muster.

Have you got an inside line with chairman Vlad? Some novachock, used judiciously, could solve a lot of problems.

Or how about reaching out to the Saudi's? Invite the HBG board around to a swaray (I know I've spelt that incorrectly but I don't have much experience with them) at one of the their fine embassies.

Desperate times call for desperate measures
🤣🤣

getsmarty

Yeah, as you know, I’ve had an extra-curricular interest in SGI for awhile now as well.

Im sure @RedVee and @getsmarty are bewildered but ok to accept the extra backing.

The rest of the clubs, all the glamourpussys and powerhouses etc are some distance behind in my book. No disrespect, but nowhere near as fun or interesting. Maybe the JV genes, I don’t know.

Anyway, rugby league is dead to me if we get punted. There is no survivable option.

I can’t bring myself to contemplate such an outcome. I’ll make some room in the coffin for you and most of the forum too.

I shiver thinking about it.

Chin up @The Silverdale Phantom . There is only one way to go, and that is eventually up.

It is a shame that both our clubs bought the merger nonsense ( Superclubs ).

We have both had our problems.

Would you involve Q branch TSP? Maybe an exploding dunny seat in the executive washroom at ashfield leagues could seal the deal. Or some sort of poison gas at the next HBG board meeting? That'd kill more than 2 birds with one stone, so to speak.

He'd have to dress down to avoid suspicion. Those tailor made suits and rolex watches would draw the eye. And I'm sure their version of a dry vodka Martini, shaken not stirred, would not pass muster.

Have you got an inside line with chairman Vlad? Some novachock, used judiciously, could solve a lot of problems.

Or how about reaching out to the Saudi's? Invite the HBG board around to a swaray (I know I've spelt that incorrectly but I don't have much experience with them) at one of the their fine embassies.

Desperate times call for desperate measures
🤣🤣

I’ll be running a small kiosk down at Pratten Park selling the riot gear.

The rally organisers, think it’s going to be a peaceful congregation.

I think we are far better off storming Wests Ashfield and seizing it in the name of Wests Tigers.

IMG_1136.jpeg

And to that end, in the spirit of the Wests Tigers forum, there’s always a buck to me made in a conflict, and I’ll be offering these for sale during the week;

IMG_1134.jpeg

Get in early, limited stocks.

Nutz

I’ll be running a small kiosk down at Pratten Park selling the riot gear.

The rally organisers, think it’s going to be a peaceful congregation.

I think we are far better off storming Wests Ashfield and seizing it in the name of Wests Tigers.

View attachment 108260

And to that end, in the spirit of the Wests Tigers forum, there’s always a buck to me made in a conflict, and I’ll be offering these for sale during the week;

View attachment 108259

Get in early, limited stocks.
Are you sure your a three club man TSP 😂.
With your kiosk running at full pace there won't even be one club left.
I think you need to include HBG anti-personnel mines that explode if they come within 3 ft from them.
I got my all black member supporter pack today.
What a joke. What happened to equal amounts of black gold and white.
The HBG are bloody Hippocrates.
We supporters have no rights.
I sent an email off this morning voicing my disapproval of all black accessories in my members kit and to remove my automatic renewal for next year unless they change the way they do business which includes the roar store.

Nutz

I grew up walking distance to Pratten Park. Went there many times, played a few semi finals and grand finals there. Watched Bobby Simpson and Gus Gilmore play cricket there.
Wests were at Lidcombe, but over the late 70s (?) they’d play the odd game or two back at Pratten. I’d walk up for a look.
I knew there was more to you than I first thought 😀
Hey Red, you didn't get back to me about your merger. Why has it worked and are there still grumblings from either faction?

Are you sure your a three club man TSP 😂.
With your kiosk running at full pace there won't even be one club left.
I think you need to include HBG anti-personnel mines that explode if they come within 3 ft from them.
I got my all black member supporter pack today.
What a joke. What happened to equal amounts of black gold and white.
The HBG are bloody Hippocrates.
We supporters have no rights.
I sent an email off this morning voicing my disapproval of all black accessories in my members kit and to remove my automatic renewal for next year unless they change the way they do business which includes the roar store.
We are going to demand HBG turn over their directors and hold them hostage in the home side changerooms at LO.

Make them resign from HBG and install our WT club people to run the pokie joint.

*100% of all HBG profits into the wests tigers

*A pardon for Richo

* Re-instate Ronnie as trainer

* The end of the mate

* Ticketed members not turfed out for yuppies dogs to sit on their seats.

* Bucket of chips $2.50 not $18.00

* Corporate boxes ripped out and replaced with people’s stadiums and grassy hills

WESTS TIGERS CONTROL OF WESTS TIGERS AFFAIRS

RedVee

I knew there was more to you than I first thought 😀
Hey Red, you didn't get back to me about your merger. Why has it worked and are there still grumblings from either faction?
G’day mate @Nutz - I did try, see below.
Basically, it “sort of” works but we do tend to grumble when something goes wrong or is unpalatable according to our world view. We just don’t “go nuclear” as some in the WT’s tend to and blow things up every so often. We are more “death by 1,000 cuts” . 🤣
Seriously, as an outsider it is shocking to watch… I feel for you WT fans, some of these things are just horrendous. 🤦‍♂️
With the Tiger diaspora plus the Wests Macarthur juniors you guys should be a perennial force but self sabotage hinders you every time you look like turning the corner. As a Wests magpie (and Newtown) junior and father of a Wests Macarthur based junior… it isn’t totally surprising, it is their way evidently. One would have hoped professionalism would have fixed that by now.

G’day mate, there is still a fair bit of angst amongst Dragons fans in regards to the JV.

But we have officially, ie from the Chairs voice, ceased being a JV and are just a Club now. Unofficially as soon as something bad happens - ie almost constantly since 2019 - fans (at least the fans) tend to devolve back into “us and them” factions.

We are a more successful union to outside eyes because the club itself keeps fairly quiet, and when compared to Northern Eagles and Wests Tigers I guess we are more successful (rather than successful per se) in getting along.

Remember too, the Steelers are gone, the club is owned by St George DRLFC and Birketu PL (owned by the family that also owns WIN). If that makes a difference? Maybe it does.

Personally, every time I start despairing over my Dragons the WT’s shoot themselves in the foot (spectacularly!) and take the attention away.

Not sure that makes any sense.

Nutz

G’day mate @Nutz - I did try, see below.
Basically, it “sort of” works but we do tend to grumble when something goes wrong or is unpalatable according to our world view. We just don’t “go nuclear” as some in the WT’s tend to and blow things up every so often. We are more “death by 1,000 cuts” . 🤣
Seriously, as an outsider it is shocking to watch… I feel for you WT fans, some of these things are just horrendous. 🤦‍♂️
With the Tiger diaspora plus the Wests Macarthur juniors you guys should be a perennial force but self sabotage hinders you every time you look like turning the corner. As a Wests magpie (and Newtown) junior and father of a Wests Macarthur based junior… it isn’t totally surprising, it is their way evidently. One would have hoped professionalism would have fixed that by now.
Awesome read mate.
Can you educate me on your merger.
As I see it, your club name is the Saint George Illawarra Dragons.
In a way it's heavier on the dragons side of things as you have the name and the red V which is logo imo but it seems people have just got on with it.
You merged in 1998 and entered the comp in 1999. We basically did the same thing by entering the comp in 2000.
So really we can't say you've had longer to get over marriage difficulties.
Kogarah Oval and Wollongong Showground aren't exactly neighbours hey so they are roughly separated like Wests and Balmain were.
I see it as the Red is prominent in both jerseys and in a way, both districts have kept their connection.
You've no doubt read my rants about us having two logos, the Tiger and the Magpie (whether on the sleeve or inferred)
To my knowledge, except for the occasional heritage round, you guys don't have the steelers logo in your jerseys...is that right?
So why is it hard for these HBG numbnuts to give us a jersey with three equal colours of white, black, and gold and have one friggin logo that we can chant.
The club name Wests Tigers is a fair split if it's branded that way. 😡
I've been begging for members to embrace one NRL club, now, maybe, they are finally waking up to what I've been saying since the start.
The only reason we didn't have this drama earlier is because we had success in 05, just like you guys did in 2010.
Can you lend us someone who can make it work for us?

Awesome read mate.
In a way it's heavier on the dragons side of things as you have the name and the red V which is logo imo but it seems people have just got on with it.
You merged in 1998 and entered the comp in 1999. We basically did the same thing by entering the comp in 2000.
Kogarah Oval and Wollongong Showground aren't exactly neighbours hey so they are roughly separated like Wests and Balmain were.
I see it as the Red is prominent in both jerseys and in a way, both districts have kept their connection.
You've no doubt read my rants about us having two logos, the Tiger and the Magpie (whether on the sleeve or inferred)
To my knowledge, except for the occasional heritage round, you guys don't have the steelers logo in your jerseys...is that right?
So why is it hard for these HBG numbnuts to give us a jersey with three equal colours of white, black, and gold and have one friggin logo that we can chant.
I've been begging for members to embrace one NRL club, now, maybe, they are finally waking up to what I've been saying since the start.
The only reason we didn't have this drama earlier is because we had success in 05, just like you guys did in 2010.
Couchman boys turn up.

RedVee

Awesome read mate.
Both clubs being red (well Illa scarlet) and white helped, plus we’d always had friendly relations even before the Steelers were created.

The deal was sold as the history (and money) of St George plus the juniors and future of the Illawarra. (Then of course NRL disallowed continuing on from our history).

The agreement, as I remember it, was for certain “non negotiables”. The name was to be Dragons, the jersey was to be the Red V jersey, and the song “Oh When The Saints”.

They easily agreed then that the name would be “St George Illawarra” and the St George Dragons logo would continue as is with just the addition of “Illawarra”.
Ownership to be 50/50 (imo a mistake) with any sale of shares to be with the agreement of the other side. Which proved clumsy in reality.

Originally only the NRL side to be “joint”, each side to continue separate right through to “reserves” (whatever it was called then). That lasted all of one year before Illawarra couldn’t continue to fund senior Steelers teams. So now it is separate only at the juniors levels, up to Jersey Flegg maybe. The NSW Cup and U20s (when it was televised era) has changed approaches a few times over the years, currently the NSW Cup is “SGI Dragons” as well, though half a dozen years ago it was “Illawarra Cutters” with support from the Illawarra Leagues - not to be confused with the Illawarra Steelers.

Equal number of Directors each, but Birketu allow one of their spots to be a Steelers person. Just being nice, Steelers don’t have a brass razoo in SGI ownership anymore. Their other spots are WIN Execs and/or family. St George supply the other Directors - no “Independent Directors”. St G Football Club Directors are eligible to be appointed to the SGI Board.
Originally each side would take turns supplying the Chair annually but that has been put to bed. Now 3 year terms are in. The current guy is a WIN Executive and seems to be good, so much that the Board changed the rule in order to keep him in the big chair for another 3, after his term.

The main angst from my perspective is a perception that the aim of Birketu to never spend any money, of course St George then has to match that spending as per the deal… so since they came in the place has been run “lean”. They are now in the black and have started spending a bit again, firstly on management resourcing. Hopefully 🤞 soon to turn the corner, but a lot of damage done (imo) in the meantime! Our CoE hopefully opens in 2026, based on a UOW campus and will house the whole club in the one premises. Dedicated areas for the men and women’s teams and all the other stuff that goes along with these facilities. Plus the Uni has a Sports Science department there I think.
No barber though! 🤣 (afaik)

Edit: the other issue is too much seems to need Board sign off, and they are S L O W. I’m sure that has cost us players and coaches in the past, just how slow they are… I’m hoping they will give the new CEO more autonomy up to realistic oversight limits, and the new COO (Ben Creagh) the same in his role overseeing both the Men’s and Women’s footy departments (as well as other stuff).
Let them do stuff and in a timely manner.

Nutz

Both clubs being red (well Illa scarlet) and white helped, plus we’d always had friendly relations even before the Steelers were created.

The deal was sold as the history (and money) of St George plus the juniors and future of the Illawarra. (Then of course NRL disallowed continuing on from our history).

The agreement, as I remember it, was for certain “non negotiables”. The name was to be Dragons, the jersey was to be the Red V jersey, and the song “Oh When The Saints”.

They easily agreed then that the name would be “St George Illawarra” and the St George Dragons logo would continue as is with just the addition of “Illawarra”.
Ownership to be 50/50 (imo a mistake) with any sale of shares to be with the agreement of the other side. Which proved clumsy in reality.

Originally only the NRL side to be “joint”, each side to continue separate right through to “reserves” (whatever it was called then). That lasted all of one year before Illawarra couldn’t continue to fund senior Steelers teams. So now it is separate only at the juniors levels, up to Jersey Flegg maybe. The NSW Cup and U20s (when it was televised era) has changed approaches a few times over the years, currently the NSW Cup is “SGI Dragons” as well, though half a dozen years ago it was “Illawarra Cutters” with support from the Illawarra Leagues - not to be confused with the Illawarra Steelers.

Equal number of Directors each, but Birketu allow one of their spots to be a Steelers person. Just being nice, Steelers don’t have a brass razoo in SGI ownership anymore. Their other spots are WIN Execs and/or family. St George supply the other Directors - no “Independent Directors”. St G Football Club Directors are eligible to be appointed to the SGI Board.
Originally each side would take turns supplying the Chair annually but that has been put to bed. Now 3 year terms are in. The current guy is a WIN Executive and seems to be good, so much that the Board changed the rule in order to keep him in the big chair for another 3, after his term.

The main angst from my perspective is a perception that the aim of Birketu to never spend any money, of course St George then has to match that spending as per the deal… so since they came in the place has been run “lean”. They are now in the black and have started spending a bit again, firstly on management resourcing. Hopefully 🤞 soon to turn the corner, but a lot of damage done (imo) in the meantime! Our CoE hopefully opens in 2026, based on a UOW campus and will house the whole club in the one premises. Dedicated areas for the men and women’s teams and all the other stuff that goes along with these facilities. Plus the Uni has a Sports Science department there I think.
No barber though! 🤣 (afaik)
Don't worry, we lost our barber as well.
The way you've described all that, there was/is plenty of angles for failure, but as we both seem to agree that it is the common colour that keeps the two happy plus an equal name.
This is vital when branding a sporting team. Imagine if the Perth Bears wore a green jersey instead of the bears colours and I guess the old perth reds side have similarities.
Whatever the logo is, it's important because that's what you chant.
The colours is how you identify the club.

RedVee

Don't worry, we lost our barber as well.
The way you've described all that, there was/is plenty of angles for failure, but as we both seem to agree that it is the common colour that keeps the two happy plus an equal name.
This is vital when branding a sporting team. Imagine if the Perth Bears wore a green jersey instead of the bears colours and I guess the old perth reds side have similarities.
Whatever the logo is, it's important because that's what you chant.
The colours is how you identify the club.
Yes, Steeler Man never made an appearance on our jerseys, and even when the design has been “Steeler like” the colour has been red rather than the scarlet. (Being bad with colours I take that as read rather than being able to distinguish a shade difference from 50m).