Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Fordy20

Apparently HBG sacking Barry and the independent directors was because the Wests Tigers board was pushing HBG on the new shareholder agreement, which would have wrested some control away from the Wests Ashfield debenture holders.

Benji until 2030 is a long term contract.
Yes, will give stability to the players. Makes you wonder why they went about the shit they did.
Looks more and more, that they just anted o get rid of Richo?
As for Benji, the old saying is, there are 2 types of coaches, those who have been sacked and those waiting to be sacked.
Results are the only way to keep that from your door.

Nutz

I would love to see Bellamy not coach an elite side and see how he goes. Everyone thought Belichick was the best coach ever until Brady left and he was exposed.
Hey gordy, Bellyache won during both the Brady eras of Smith / Cronk / Slater era, then Munster / Hughes / Grant).
How was he exposed?

Grant was a Townsville schoolboy then Wynnum Manly and then the Tigers pounced.
Unfortunately for us he went to the Storm. Bellyache had to have had something to do with his NRL transition of discipline and work ethics.
If I can recall, before joining the Storm and Ballyache, Cameron Smith was skinny lighly regarded hooker, Billy Slater was thought to be too small and was rejected by clubs like the Broncos, Cooper Cronk was a bench utitity (Matt Orford and later Scott Hill were ahead of him in the halves), Jarome Hughes was a fullback but Craig converted him to be one one the worlds best halves, a masterstroke by bellyache, Harry Grant only had played 4 NRL games and bellyache developed him, Josh Ado Carr was an indisciplined fringe winger and Bellyache turned into an elete winger att. and Nelson was more of a loose canon before belly ache got a hold of him.
Ryan Papenhuyzen, an injury prone Tigers junior has flourished down there.
Will Chambers was so undisciplined at the gold coast and Craig turned him in an awesome back imo, still a hothead but his footy improved
Jesse Bromwich wasn't considered anything more than a good bookend but Craig turned him into a club captain and rep player.
There's so many more that came to the Storm as potentially good players but Craig turned them into awesome players, Kaufusi, Finucane, Meaney etc etc.
The whole club buys into bellyache's coaching. Sook and your gone.
Craig Bellamy has made the finals in virtually every season since he started coaching Melbourne Storm.
I for the life of me can't understand why people can't see him as the GOAT of CLUB COACHING. Not the goat of coaching but at club level.
If Craig coached us from 2006 and the front office kept out of his way, I can assure you, we would have made the finals and never have got those spoons...period.

From ChatGPT:

2010–2012: playing with reserve-grade depth under cap penalties
2011 whilst still under roster disruption and limited recruitment they came 4th
2016–2019: constant turnover, still top 4
2023: no Munster for long periods, no Grant at times, still competitive
Other clubs with injuries collapse. Storm adapt.

AKA Das Hassler

I would love to see Bellamy not coach an elite side and see how he goes. Everyone thought Belichick was the best coach ever until Brady left and he was exposed.

Really? I'd say he mostly turns RL tradies into elite players. Don't see it that way?
I think your point though would be more fairly pondered about Madge.

WA Tiger

Hey gordy, Bellyache won during both the Brady eras of Smith / Cronk / Slater era, then Munster / Hughes / Grant).
How was he exposed?

Grant was a Townsville schoolboy then Wynnum Manly and then the Tigers pounced.
Unfortunately for us he went to the Storm. Bellyache had to have had something to do with his NRL transition of discipline and work ethics.
If I can recall, before joining the Storm and Ballyache, Cameron Smith was skinny lighly regarded hooker, Billy Slater was thought to be too small and was rejected by clubs like the Broncos, Cooper Cronk was a bench utitity (Matt Orford and later Scott Hill were ahead of him in the halves), Jarome Hughes was a fullback but Craig converted him to be one one the worlds best halves, a masterstroke by bellyache, Harry Grant only had played 4 NRL games and bellyache developed him, Josh Ado Carr was an indisciplined fringe winger and Bellyache turned into an elete winger att. and Nelson was more of a loose canon before belly ache got a hold of him.
Ryan Papenhuyzen, an injury prone Tigers junior has flourished down there.
Will Chambers was so undisciplined at the gold coast and Craig turned him in an awesome back imo, still a hothead but his footy improved
Jesse Bromwich wasn't considered anything more than a good bookend but Craig turned him into a club captain and rep player.
There's so many more that came to the Storm as potentially good players but Craig turned them into awesome players, Kaufusi, Finucane, Meaney etc etc.
The whole club buys into bellyache's coaching. Sook and your gone.
Craig Bellamy has made the finals in virtually every season since he started coaching Melbourne Storm.
I for the life of me can't understand why people can't see him as the GOAT of CLUB COACHING. Not the goat of coaching but at club level.
If Craig coached us from 2006 and the front office kept out of his way, I can assure you, we would have made the finals and never have got those spoons...period.

From ChatGPT:

2010–2012: playing with reserve-grade depth under cap penalties
2011 whilst still under roster disruption and limited recruitment they came 4th
2016–2019: constant turnover, still top 4
2023: no Munster for long periods, no Grant at times, still competitive
Other clubs with injuries collapse. Storm adapt.
Why do you make Bellamys tenure start in 2006 and not 2020.. are you a little less confident than you make out..…And explain why madge went from the worst coaching record in the history of the game at wt to win a premiership with the players at Broncos in 12 months ..And what’s “period” . We have full stops .. point is you don’t know until you see it happen so there’s no “period”.

Nutz

Good post, no insults woohoo.
I reckon you could have won a GF with this squad WA.
That squad was a gread squad that just needed some hard love. He did that at Souths too.
Benji would have loved to have a roster like this:
Reece Walsh – Fullback
Jesse Arthars – Wing/Fullback
Kotoni Staggs – Centre
Deine Mariner – Centre/Wing
Gehamat Shibasaki versatil back
Ben Hunt – Five-Eighth
Adam Reynolds – Halfback
Patrick Carrigan – Lock
Cory Paix – Hooker
Payne Haas – Prop
Corey Jensen – Prop
Brendan Piakura Second Row
Jordan Riki – Second Row
Billy Walters supersub
Jack Gosiewski – Interchange
Xavier Willison – Interchange

Madge is that sort if coach but couldn't build a Sandcastle imo.
WA, I'm not a Bellyache super fan. I just think he is the best at keeping a squad going regardless of the constant turnover and disruptions.
Imo, the only coach to come near this in the salary cap era is Ivan.
He's had soooo many stars leave but kept winning gfs, year after year. In fact we played good footy under his guidance, we should have done everything to keep him and his son together. That wasn't going to happen with our head office.
And period meaning we wouldn't have got those spoons, you know when we got them hey.

WA Tiger

Good post, no insults woohoo.
I reckon you could have won a GF with this squad WA.
That squad was a gread squad that just needed some hard love. He did that at Souths too.
Benji would have loved to have a roster like this:
Reece Walsh – Fullback
Jesse Arthars – Wing/Fullback
Kotoni Staggs – Centre
Deine Mariner – Centre/Wing
Gehamat Shibasaki versatil back
Ben Hunt – Five-Eighth
Adam Reynolds – Halfback
Patrick Carrigan – Lock
Cory Paix – Hooker
Payne Haas – Prop
Corey Jensen – Prop
Brendan Piakura Second Row
Jordan Riki – Second Row
Billy Walters supersub
Jack Gosiewski – Interchange
Xavier Willison – Interchange

Madge is that sort if coach but couldn't build a Sandcastle imo.
WA, I'm not a Bellyache super fan. I just think he is the best at keeping a squad going regardless of the constant turnover and disruptions.
Imo, the only coach to come near this in the salary cap era is Ivan.
He's had soooo many stars leave but kept winning gfs, year after year. In fact we played good footy under his guidance, we should have done everything to keep him and his son together. That wasn't going to happen with our head office.
And period meaning we wouldn't have got those spoons, you know when we got them hey.
Correct. Madge had instant success because the players had it in them. No other reason. Same at the storm with Bellamy..Perhaps! . This was all the original statement implied. At least worth considering rather than. “Crap. Period”
Btw..Madge built a better sandcastle for nsw than Bellamy ever could. And he still couldn’t get wt off the bottom of the table. What chance Bellamy regardless of your long winded and likely biased interpretation of how things unfolded at the storm under Bellamy.

Nutz

After announcing his retirement in 2025, Elijah Taylor has decided to sign with local rugby league side Campbelltown City Kangaroos, who compete in the Wests Group Macarthur first-grade competition.
------------
Good on him. I hope he did well out of the game.
Great fella, who old is he, are you saying he's still playing?

Nutz

Correct. Madge had instant success because the players had it in them. No other reason. Same at the storm with Bellamy..Perhaps! . This was all the original statement implied. At least worth considering rather than. “Crap. Period”
Btw..Madge built a better sandcastle for nsw than Bellamy ever could. And he still couldn’t get wt off the bottom of the table. What chance Bellamy regardless of your long winded and likely biased interpretation of how things unfolded at the storm under Bellamy.
I agree with you on the SOO. This is sort of supporting my take on Bellamy as being a super CLUB coach.
The SOO origin side is the bringing together the best available at the time, all the NSW eligible players, most were playing in previous years.
He comes in and does what he does best, getting superstars to play to their potential, bring out their best.
If there was a salary cap involved and he had to pick 30 players and that's all he had and keep the side going for 22 full seasons I don't know if he could do it in the way Bellamy has done.
Still he probably could considering the SOO is not a week in week out grind for a whole seaon so I guess my point may have flaws.
Souths got sick of his hard hand rule and his techniques wore thin and it happened at the tigers too.
Unfortunately for madge, he didn't step into a tigers roster that was oozing the talent like either Souths or Brisbane. We were a rock show.
WA, I don't think we'll ever know the answer to this qiestion until he takes over a side like Manly, who are going to hurt big time with an exodus of players, so Madge can rebuild the side from scratch and see if he can make the finals for 20 years straight.
That's of course if he's still alive.

As I said before, those 'Brady's' were not superstars when Bellamy got them, most we unwanted or bench warmers. He developed them into team first players.
I think we'll see the end of bellyache soon. I think he deserves now to go to a club like ours as a coaching director or another club where he can help a young coach develop his trade.
The NRL needs him as a resourse.