Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Zac Lomax

Where would Lomax be today if Flano did not move him to wing?! I dare say without the rep honours and a solid but not great centre.
Yeah, I’d accept that.

Zac couldn’t see the full picture and as a player, just gets slices of the whole.

And decides his assessment is better than Flannos.

It’s a bit rude to the other players in that he let them down by going his way or the highway.

It decreased their chances of success with the side.

If Flanno had surrendered, then other players get ideas and he loses control.

And he’s not that kind of coach, he backs himself.

And he still claimed some massive scalps last year when he had no right to.

He’s not perfect, but any team who takes you too lightly can still get reamed. We saw that last year.

You beat the eventual premiers at their home.

Zac may not have given enough weight to all of the planning and hard work that goes on behind the scenes to achieve a wonderful outcome like this.

SEAT 1A

Where would Lomax be today if Flano did not move him to wing?! I dare say without the rep honours and a solid but not great centre.

Probably still with us but who knows, he may just wanted to leave the club.

Given he left Parra playing wing, doesn't seem to keen on the wing. The money originally offered by R360 you would be mad not to put out feelers of interest.

I felt sorry for him as R360 pulled the plug on the start date and it seems that he was up the creek without a paddle however, turning down other rugby options and not accepting mediation with Parra he's put himself in a position of possible huge legal costs.

There are times when you just have to cut your losses. He's gone from top of the tree, a good contract with Parra to no contract.

It's a sh** show and the Dragons are not up for an expensive and drawn out legal process.

Probably still with us but who knows, he may just wanted to leave the club.

Given he left Parra playing wing, doesn't seem to keen on the wing. The money originally offered by R360 you would be mad not to put out feelers of interest.

I felt sorry for him as R360 pulled the plug on the start date and it seems that he was up the creek without a paddle however, turning down other rugby options and not accepting mediation with Parra he's put himself in a position of possible huge legal costs.

There are times when you just have to cut your losses. He's gone from top of the tree, a good contract with Parra to no contract.

It's a sh** show and the Dragons are not up for an expensive and drawn out legal process.
His greedy manager's advice brought Lomax down.

360 is still stuck with the game of union.

If I’d never played it, I’d probably never watch it tbh.

I could understand 360 league but not union.

For Zac it should be an early active retirement. They may not let him kick fight.

I remember the days, if you kicked an opponent during a fight, you were a cat. You might get flogged by onlookers for cowardice.

And real men used to walk away when their opponent went down. Not go on with it or if they did, they’d get dragged off.

I’m glad we live in more peaceful times.

Zac should give up the kick fight stuff.

Slippery Morris

I feel more sorry for Zac than Parra and hope he does get back into the NRL with the Storm. He finished at Saints playing good footy and that is all you can ask. He left Saints but he had his head turned by his Managers former club. The same manager that entertained R360 contract talsks. Parra simply did not want him back after R360 debacle and Melbourne do. Parra are being arrogant. Happy to make players break contracts to join them but not happy to let a guy join even after they released him, did not want him back and spent the money on a player from the club trying to take Lomax in Pezet. Without the Lomax money what is to say Pezet joins the Eels?

TerraceDragon

360 is still stuck with the game of union.

If I’d never played it, I’d probably never watch it tbh.

I could understand 360 league but not union.

For Zac it should be an early active retirement. They may not let him kick fight.

I remember the days, if you kicked an opponent during a fight, you were a cat. You might get flogged by onlookers for cowardice.

And real men used to walk away when their opponent went down. Not go on with it or if they did, they’d get dragged off.

I’m glad we live in more peaceful times.

Zac should give up the kick fight stuff.
You are right Silverdale , when you say that once real men would walk away when their opponent went down . I can recall when I was just on 17 years of age and went into a nice quiet pub called the Royal hotel in the Sydney suburb of Granville during the ‘60’s .

My mate and I went in and bought ourselves a schooner and sat down so as not to be so obtrusive ( 2 skinny kids only just out of school ) however back to the story , this big , big islander fella came over and said that we were sitting in his seat and to get the hell out of it so we both moved elsewhere. And can you guess - we had moved to his spare seat , looking at him the mug needed 2 seats to accommodate his sheer bulk , so we moved a 2nd time . He got up and came across and said that was also his seat .

We were about to get up and leave completely when this old Aussie fella with flaming red hair and round glasses came over and told to us remain where we were ,he then asked us to hold his glasses for him and then turned around and flattened the big islander mug with one punch .

He then asked for his glasses and said not to take any notice of the big bloke lying prone on the floor , well the old chap put his glasses back on and my mate and I ran for our lives never to return to the Royal hotel in the Sydney suburb of Granville ever again !

Footnote :- I have just recalled the red haired chap’s nick name - Cod fish his mates called him , built like the proverbial brick shat - house with these thick round glasses and as said earlier curly red hair . Odd how things from the past one can recall quite clearly ?

You are right Silverdale , when you say that once real men would walk away when their opponent went down . I can recall when I was just on 17 years of age and went into a nice quiet pub called the Royal hotel in the Sydney suburb of Granville .

My mate and I went in and bought ourselves a schooner and sat down so as not to be so obtrusive ( 2 skinny kids only just out of school ) however back to the story anyway this big , big islander fella came over and said that we were sitting in his seat and to get the hell out of it so we both moved elsewhere. And can you guess - we had moved to his spare seat , looking at him the mug needed 2 seats to accommodate his sheer bulk , so we moved a 2nd time . He got up and came across and said that was also his seat .

We were about to get up and leave completely when this old Aussie fella with flaming red hair and round glasses came over and told us remain where we were ,he then asked us to hold his glasses for him and then turned around and flattened the big islander mug with one punch .

He then asked for his glasses and said not to take any notice of the big bloke lying prone on the floor , well the old chap put his glasses back on and my mate and I ran for our lives never to return to the Royal hotel in the Sydney suburb of Granville ever again !
Yeah, I’ve seen the karma happen so many times Gareth!

The thought processes or lack thereof.

Back in the day could get pretty wild ay?!

And this machete nonsense in Melbourne, another level of pathetic and f**ked up behaviour by cowards.

I feel more sorry for Zac than Parra and hope he does get back into the NRL with the Storm. He finished at Saints playing good footy and that is all you can ask. He left Saints but he had his head turned by his Managers former club. The same manager that entertained R360 contract talsks. Parra simply did not want him back after R360 debacle and Melbourne do. Parra are being arrogant. Happy to make players break contracts to join them but not happy to let a guy join even after they released him, did not want him back and spent the money on a player from the club trying to take Lomax in Pezet. Without the Lomax money what is to say Pezet joins the Eels?

I disagree slippery.

The manner in which he left you guys, he has to take some responsibility.

I wrote him off at that point.

He should have pulled his weight at SGI, the club that gave him everything.

If he was patient, he could have seen how the Flanno era panned out.

And if I post a picture of Stoney, everyone feels sad about his passing, but very proud about his dragonhood.

And other clubs fans and members who have the merest knowledge of SGI understand, appreciate and also look up to Stoney.

With Lomax, he’s just reflected on as a bit of a rat. Just another kid who sold the club out.

Same at the Tigers and we have legions of entitled young sprogs who leave without saying goodbye.

But I honestly appreciate Slippery putting up an opposing view anyway.

Broad church here.

He became impatient.

Certainly the winds of change were sweeping across the club and there was a r&r recovery session happening for a couple of years.

Not that the eels were promising too much, but remember that Brad Arthur was in command not Rylesy.

Not much has been said, but I think that Flanno and Lomax didn’t hit it off.

There was obviously no meeting of minds between them. Flanno simply just got rid of him. You don’t get rid of people you can work with.

The exact nature of the kerfuffle, said to be the change of position, that’s probably a part of it, but I reckon there’s more.

And the hunt/Lomax friendship, well thats a thread in narcissists unlimited.

The captain of the club running it down publicly was unforgivable. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.

Seems like Gus’s dna sessions went over his head. @Gareth67 and I were coming to blows over it. We were probably both right and both wrong.

The real problem was fester, whereby we both found a compromise. Unhappy as it were…Misery loves company!

sammymills

He became impatient.

Certainly the winds of change were sweeping across the club and there was a r&r recovery session happening for a couple of years.

Not that the eels were promising too much, but remember that Brad Arthur was in command not Rylesy.

Not much has been said, but I think that Flanno and Lomax didn’t hit it off.

There was obviously no meeting of minds between them. Flanno simply just got rid of him. You don’t get rid of people you can work with.

The exact nature of the kerfuffle, said to be the change of position, that’s probably a part of it, but I reckon there’s more.

And the hunt/Lomax friendship, well thats a thread in narcissists unlimited.

The captain of the club running it down publicly was unforgivable. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.

Seems like Gus’s dna sessions went over his head. @Gareth67 and I were coming to blows over it. We were probably both right and both wrong.

The real problem was fester, whereby we both found a compromise. Unhappy as it were…Misery loves company!
what did you mean by ‘The captain of the club running it down publicly was unforgivable. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.’

And it would assist us greatly if you could take Bula off our hands.

He’s at pre-Lomaxian stages of entitlement, but not as good a player.

I still think Vlandys has a case to answer for his public support of Zac in the ongoing bitter legal dispute.

Lets not forget that under Vlandys Racing NSW has employed Daniel Hadley following his drug charges and exit from NSW Police.

I’m not taking a swipe at Daniel or Ray, but Racing NSW for not attending to public perceptions in an industry that says it is openly integrity focused.

It has to be to survive.

I find Daniels appointment astonishing. I’m sure he could find able employment elsewhere and hopefully recover from his wrongdoing. Which was stupid more than evil, but we can’t have coppers involved in drugs.

getsmarty

In a sensational twist in the NSW Supreme Court on Tuesday, Eels barrister Arthur Moses told the court that the Eels and Lomax had settled the at-times bitter legal fight.

Under the agreement, Lomax is still bound by the terms of his release that he cannot sign with another club without the Eels’ consent.

The Eels have agreed to shave one year off that agreement – meaning he can return to the NRL without their consent for the 2028 season.

It also effectively means that Lomax’s hopes of joining the Melbourne Storm are dead.

As part of the deal, the Storm must pay Lomax’s legal fees as well as $250,000 to the Eels for their legal costs.

The Sydney Morning Herald reported an agreement between the Eels and Storm to resolve the Lomax dispute fell over after out of favour star Ryan Matterson rjected an agreement to immediately move to Melbourne.

The Storm had agreed to also sign Matterson in a bid to end the stand-off, before later offering to pay out the remainder of Matterson’s 2026 contract worth $416,000 as well as another $300,000 in cash. but the player blocked the move.

P.S Well done Parra.... A contract is a Contract.