Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season 2026

Shredder

I know we have players that can take the number, but its not the same.

No real detail. Doesn't say when he got it. From memory (League players seem to get these a lot) its about a month in total?

I know we have players that can take the number, but its not the same.

No real detail. Doesn't say when he got it. From memory (League players seem to get these a lot) its about a month in total?
Agree, it is a pain, but my point was, that we will have to play without certain players at times and we just have to overcome the loss, in previous years, this was not always possible. This year, I believe we can.

Shredder

Yeah lets hope so.
I saw some statistics years ago that the teams that go deep into the finals are the ones who use the least number of different players over the years. Makes sense. Keep your top players playing, your more chance of doing well.

If he is out for any length of time it will test Marshall's ability to juggle the interchange effectively. No one in the club (and very few in the league) can provide the minutes he does at a high quality.

Use of the interchange was Marshall's big weakness last year. I think we can all agree on that. Hopefully him and his staff have done a lot of work on this over the off-season.

Nutz

It's a good point nutz. The NRL has about a million different stats for every team (and player) in their game summary each week but nothing about play the ball speed.

I'd love to see what our own averages out to each week vs what we allowed the opposition. If you win that battle most weeks, without giving away too many penalties and 6 agains, I'd guess you'd be guaranteed the 8, and would go a long way to playing in the GF. I'd be interested if the club has those stats. I bet the top teams do.
Did you see the Storm totally dominate the slimies in play the ball speed last night?

Nutz

yep. sure did. I'd love to get a look at those stats. Surely someone keeps them.
Well mate I did find an NRL.com 2018 stat/article that if you have an hour to spare and remain sane, have a read. We finished 9th that year.

The summary was this..........

However you cut it, the end result is that, using the 2018 NRL season as a sample size, there is very little actual correlation between successfully earning fast/slow PTBs and finishing higher up the ladder.

1000105552.jpg
1000105551.jpg

My take on it is do both, play the ball quickly and slow theirs down, like the Storm did.

Nutz

Well mate I did find an NRL.com 2018 stat/article that if you have an hour to spare and remain sane, have a read. We finished 9th that year.

The summary was this..........

However you cut it, the end result is that, using the 2018 NRL season as a sample size, there is very little actual correlation between successfully earning fast/slow PTBs and finishing higher up the ladder.

View attachment 110257
View attachment 110258

My take on it is do both, play the ball quickly and slow theirs down, like the Storm did.

Also, interestingly, with about 6 rounds left, the Tigers were sitting around 6th place and only one win outside the top four.
They had built that position with strong wins earlier in the year under coach Ivan Cleary so quick play the ball is important because have a look at what Penrith did in the gf wins, they dominated the ruck speed.

We need Hunt and Afoa to play big minutes with high intensity. Afoa can, Hunt?

I don't think this is possible and I don't think we are going to get it. Hass can do that. I don't think any other prop can.

We have May who is a workhorse and great defensively and skillful and he can gain meters. We have Hunt and Afoa who hopefully can give us some short bash and barge.

Then we are rounded out with Pole and Sione Fainu who give us some footwork and punch.

Then we have Twal and Seyfarth who should be able to work and give us decent meters as well.

I reckon our middle forward rotation are looking pretty good. Then we have some depth in the likes of Ethan Roberts and Charlie Murray.

I think our middle forwards are looking pretty good. I'm not stating we have the best pack in the comp but we have a decent set of middle forwards who should give the spine plenty to play off.

I don't think this is possible and I don't think we are going to get it. Hass can do that. I don't think any other prop can.

We have May who is a workhorse and great defensively and skillful and he can gain meters. We have Hunt and Afoa who hopefully can give us some short bash and barge.

Then we are rounded out with Pole and Sione Fainu who give us some footwork and punch.

Then we have Twal and Seyfarth who should be able to work and give us decent meters as well.

I reckon our middle forward rotation are looking pretty good. Then we have some depth in the likes of Ethan Roberts and Charlie Murray.

I think our middle forwards are looking pretty good. I'm not stating we have the best pack in the comp but we have a decent set of middle forwards who should give the spine plenty to play off.
We have what we have, I think they'll handle themselves OK.
No one is irreplaceable, but TeMay will always be missed.
I hope they manage him with less minutes than last season.
Someone will have to step up if required though.

Nutz

May is above them. If he's not avail I think the only middle who can play decent minutes in the middle is Afoa. He's done it in the trials and he's done it heaps of times with Samoa. He justs needs to reinvent himself. He's capable of 20-30 mins of high energy but Hunt is a mystery. I don't know what he's able to do this year.

At full pelt, playing his huge minutes, Tez is probably worth 1.3 players.

I’ll work it out and give the panel my results.

But If this is correct, it makes him just about the most valuable player in the NRL per pound and minutes.

He can’t be replaced.

It was a rare error by the roosters to offend him unnecessarily. They continue to pay a hefty price for their grandstanding over him.

Probably works for other players, but they misread him pretty badly.

If he’s not available, he has to be.
I think our depth is pretty good.

This is the way I see it. I reckon he is awesome as well but we have a squad that looks pretty good and if he is injured we have to be able to make do.

I think he is easier to replace than other players even though I think he is awesome. You need 3 - 6 middle forwards and May needs to a rest at times as well.

The reason I think he is awesome is that he always gets meters, his defense is really good and he has some skill in relation to ball playing. He is a great player. He just doesn't have the impact of middle forwards like Hass or Fonua-Blake.

Bunty last played 80 mins in 1975.

Royce, fingers crossed he can manage his dramatic weight loss.

He keeps going and he’ll end up at fullback.

Terrell punches well above his weight and I don’t even think he’s peaked.

He’s a once in a generation player, and all things being equal, he’s simply irreplaceable.