Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Wizardman

The tigers should hire about 6 models to play for the WNRL team. Then, hire the best single men available and and use the WNRL team as a sales pitch for them to earn some extra money on the side. .

No doubt the dogs will be using Xerri as leverage to sign Bula
And his toxic manager (Bula's) running footy teams at will.

Our FB stocks are a bit low, I hope if this is the case, then they keep him here for this year, surely Benji wouldn't think Mason and Turuva didn't impress me that he could handle it FT?
I'm not sure when Attard can move into the top squad? He has played NSW Cup already.

AKA Das Hassler

BUT Then cheer him on every try ,and every game he helps win to get us into the finals.
I hear you , the guys is a flog but im way past the days of trying to compete with other teams that couldn't care less about character but are more concerned about winning nrl games . I had my doubts about JL but love the bloke now.

I dont want him bringing his outside influences to the club...we've got enough " no crap" talent to get the job done. Also his eyes are too close together!

Benji Marshall has shut down reports linking the Wests Tigers to agitated Canterbury Bulldogs star centre Bronson Xerri.

Since it was revealed that Xerri was reportedly unhappy at the Bulldogs and subsequently dropped to the NSW Cup, he has been linked with multiple teams, including the Eels and Storm.

Another team that also found itself linked to Xerri was the Tigers.

“You guys mentioned some clubs earlier (Eels, Storm, Dragons, Sea Eagles) and the Tigers are also monitoring the situation,” Code Sports’ Dave Riccio revealed on NRL360.

However, this was shut down by coach Benji Marshall when the topic came up at a press conference on Thursday - as well as a possible move for Cowboys fullback star Scott Drinkwater.

“I didn’t really want to get into it and I don’t talk about recruitment publicly,” Marshall said on Thursday.

“I like Bronson and he’s a really good kid, really good footy player but we’re not looking at him.

“I like Drinkwater, really good player but we’ve got a fullback and we’re not looking at Drinkwater either.

“What baffles me is we get thrown into these things and become a part of the story that’s not our story, so let’s just stop it there.”

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/benji-marshall-denies-tigers-interest-in-xerri-and-drinkwater-rejects-teams-last-resort-reputation/news-story/a21fc0811c870db49a8b526ec708c99a

Benji Marshall has ruled out making a play for disgruntled Canterbury centre Bronson Xerri.

Despite his admiration for Xerri, Marshall was adamant the Tigers are not interested in signing the Bulldogs star.

“I like Bronson, he’s a really good kid, really good footy player, but we’re not looking at Bronson,” Marshall said.

Marshall also put a halt to talks that Cowboys fullback Scott Drinkwater would be joining the Tigers, with the May deadline to take up Jahream Bula’s club option looming in the near future.

The club is trying to extend Bula, but at a worst case, would retain the fullback for at least the next year.

“We got a fullback,” Marshall said

“I like Drinkwater, really good player.

“We’re not looking at Drinkwater either.”

Marshall’s days of having the Tigers be a last resort for players is over, with the speculation baffling him to why every disgruntled player gets linked to the club.

This weekend, despite Marshall naming him on the wing, Sunia Turuva will replace May in the centres.

Marshall named Turuva on the wing so he can keep his same jersey number through the year.

The combination of Turuva and Jeral Skelton will take on the lethal left edge of Latrell Mitchell and David Fifita, with defence a huge emphasis for the club this weekend.

“For us it’s just trying to do a job on them,” Turuva said.

“After what we just done on the weekend with our right edge-I think we’re pretty confident we can do the job.”

I just posted an article which is pretty similar but it goes into retaining Bula as well. I like what Benji is stating there. If Bula doesn't sign a longer term deal we'll just take up the option.

That to me is the smart option. I just hope it's true.

f**k, I hope we don't chase Drinky. He is on the downhill slide now. We should not be chasing that type of player.

His top tier plays are unreal. The problem is that he has a lot of poor plays as well. As you state not the type of player we need.

WA Tiger

“But at worst case would retain the fullback for at least the next year” Have you noticed how these commentators that arnt watching things closely (same with the Galvin saga) jump to conclusions.. with Galvin they all got it wrong
and Yes we do “have a fullback” for this year and I’m sure we will have one for next year ( not necessarily bulla)… again everything close to his chest (Benji)

Nutz

f**k, I hope we don't chase Drinky. He is on the downhill slide now. We should not be chasing that type of player.
Only reason he's slipped mate is because the whole team isn't aiming up. He'd be a great replacement but Benji's not interested because of $ imo.

Nutz

“But at worst case would retain the fullback for at least the next year” Have you noticed how these commentators that arnt watching things closely (same with the Galvin saga) jump to conclusions.. with Galvin they all got it wrong
and Yes we do “have a fullback” for this year and I’m sure we will have one for next year ( not necessarily bulla)… again everything close to his chest (Benji)
His roster, his head Just because he's signed long term, now that he's assembling a good roster, if he misses the 8 for the next two years he's gotta go. For now we have to support him fully but we certainly can't entertain holding onto a Brookes scenario for 10 years simply for the romance.
The quote of the year was when one of us said that emotions shouldn't come into selections and recruitment, or words to that effect.