Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gameday Warriors v Knights

Meth

I know Pompey isn't playing but I'm wondering if he's the best goalkicking option. Boyd misses a hell of a lot of adjacent ones

As good as Boyd is playing and as much as it isn't an issue that's costing us at the moment, this is an issue, he misses more of the kicks that he absolutely should not miss than anyone I have seen. I think its the pressure of knowing that he should get it.

Big Marn

As good as Boyd is playing and as much as it isn't an issue that's costing us at the moment, this is an issue, he misses more of the kicks that he absolutely should not miss than anyone I have seen. I think its the pressure of knowing that he should get it.
this is an over reaction. his one miss on the weekend hit the post.
he is 14/18 on the season, nathan cleary is 15/18.
he is a 78% kicker when early season numbers mean any miss makes a big difference percentage wise.
He will be an 80% kicker by the end of the season if he keeps his spot as he has a good technique. Metcalf is more inconsistent than him.
He is nailing kicks from the sideline quite often, something Pompey consistently fails to do. Pompey is better in at close range. Pompey's overall kicking percentage is 75% in the NRL.
But wingers are consistently the top try scorers at the end of the season, so i would rather take Boyd any day of the week over Pompey.

Take the Roosters game:
Exhibit A
Conversion: Warriors
Kicked by Tanah Boyd.
Boyd from the sideline... GETS IT!

Exhibit B
Kicked by Tanah Boyd.
Boyd from out near the left sideline... Beautiful strike

Exhibit C
Kicked by Tanah Boyd.
Boyd converts the CNK try superbly from out wide

Also from last year in the NSW cup, news reports noted he maintained an 80% strike rate through the first 18 rounds before finishing the regular season and finals series at just under 80%

So yeah, you keep your Pompey, i will gladly have Boyd.

nswarrior

I'm home from my marathon to Newy. First time ever up there and it's a bit grim on a grey morning. However, the game was superb. For the record I left at 5:00 am and got back at 11:00 pm.

A great day was never in doubt with this team we're supporting this year. For starters, they murder sides up the middle.
What an effort and a true fan!! Looked like great support for the Warriors

Matua

I'm home from my marathon to Newy. First time ever up there and it's a bit grim on a grey morning. However, the game was superb. For the record I left at 5:00 am and got back at 11:00 pm.

A great day was never in doubt with this team we're supporting this year. For starters, they murder sides up the middle.
Wait, why did you go up so early? The game wasn't until 3pm. You must be a morning person. 😃

Evil_Mush

I mean we do have three high flying kickers in the top 10 of the entire NRL percentage wise, all at 100%.

Not shortage of sharpshooters in our squad 😜

Screenshot_20260322_121450_Chrome.jpg

Blair

What an effort and a true fan!! Looked like great support for the Warriors.
There's something happening at the moment and it could be taking us to a place we haven't been since 2011. The only time I felt threatened was early on, when big Jacob Saifiti was on. He has great presence and is a Newcastle boy through and through.

Blair

Wait, why did you go up so early? The game wasn't until 3pm. You must be a morning person. 😃
I'm up that early for work a lot, so I'm used to it, yes. However, on a day off, I just wanted to make sure I saw a little bit of Newcastle (just Beaumont Street in Hamilton suburb) and then get to the ground for the NSW Cup, therefore beating the hordes at the gates too.

Lot's of the Warriors supporters group - Warrior Nation - were already there. So we could have some quiet chit-chats before the '23ers' arrived en masse, and, man, are they there! (I heard a million 'up the Wahs!')

I took the train too, remember. So it's about five hours each way. It was an exhausted but happy trip home to Katoomba.

nswarrior

Just watched the replay - great game and the team played well although some areas for improvement

- almost 5 or 6 of our players were getting cramps with 15 or 20 still to play. I know it was humid but Knights weren’t struggling as much

- the energy and focus wasn’t the same as the 1st 2 games, and we didn’t play as direct as we needed to at times

- Leataua had some troubles in defence but more worryingly doesn’t chase back

Meth

this is an over reaction. his one miss on the weekend hit the post.
he is 14/18 on the season, nathan cleary is 15/18.
he is a 78% kicker when early season numbers mean any miss makes a big difference percentage wise.
He will be an 80% kicker by the end of the season if he keeps his spot as he has a good technique. Metcalf is more inconsistent than him.
He is nailing kicks from the sideline quite often, something Pompey consistently fails to do. Pompey is better in at close range. Pompey's overall kicking percentage is 75% in the NRL.
But wingers are consistently the top try scorers at the end of the season, so i would rather take Boyd any day of the week over Pompey.

Take the Roosters game:
Exhibit A
Kicked by Tanah Boyd.
Boyd from the sideline... GETS IT!

Exhibit B
Kicked by Tanah Boyd.
Boyd from out near the left sideline... Beautiful strike

Exhibit C
Kicked by Tanah Boyd.
Boyd converts the CNK try superbly from out wide

Also from last year in the NSW cup, news reports noted he maintained an 80% strike rate through the first 18 rounds before finishing the regular season and finals series at just under 80%

So yeah, you keep your Pompey, i will gladly have Boyd.

Great that he's kicked a few great ones, but he does miss quite a few that he's more than entitled to nail.

Matua

I'm up that early for work a lot, so I'm used to it, yes. However, on a day off, I just wanted to make sure I saw a little bit of Newcastle (just Beaumont Street in Hamilton suburb) and then get to the ground for the NSW Cup, therefore beating the hordes at the gates too.

Lot's of the Warriors supporters group - Warrior Nation - were already there. So we could have some quiet chit-chats before the '23ers' arrived en masse, and, man, are they there! (I heard a million 'up the Wahs!')

I took the train too, remember. So it's about five hours each way. It was an exhausted but happy trip home to Katoomba.
My mate and I were thinking of taking the train up instead of driving like usual (before he had to work so we canned it), though 5 hours seemed way too long until I saw Katoomba. That would help explain the early start as well.

I would have annoyed my fellow fans by asking why they were supporting the NSW Waratahs so probably better I missed it (and for the fact I've never seen the Warriors win in Newcastle).

I played the tourist in the Blue Mountains over the summer (first time in over a decade I'd been up for more than a day), had a great time, lots of walks, some decent food, was a bit cold for mid summer though. 🤣

5hrs each way, same day trip? That’s a legendary effort bro. Much respect. Glad your commitment was repaid with a good result.

Blair

5hrs each way, same day trip? That’s a legendary effort bro. Much respect. Glad your commitment was repaid with a good result.
Cheers mate. I am making up for my piss-poor efforts last year, where it was just a miserable loss in the wet to Canterbury at Homebush.

Blair

My mate and I were thinking of taking the train up instead of driving like usual (before he had to work so we canned it), though 5 hours seemed way too long until I saw Katoomba. That would help explain the early start as well.

I would have annoyed my fellow fans by asking why they were supporting the NSW Waratahs so probably better I missed it (and for the fact I've never seen the Warriors win in Newcastle).

I played the tourist in the Blue Mountains over the summer (first time in over a decade I'd been up for more than a day), had a great time, lots of walks, some decent food, was a bit cold for mid summer though. 🤣
Yeah we had some cool weather, but in general it's been an unbearably hot and humid summer up here. I went troppo I reckon. No kidding. No energy and a ratty mood.

If you'd worn 'Waratahs' gear I would've said g'day. I both work and live in the middle of town. Not much goes by me. I always say hi to Warriors fans, particularly at work (Aldi).

Matua

Yeah we had some cool weather, but in general it's been an unbearably hot and humid summer up here. I went troppo I reckon. No kidding. No energy and a ratty mood.

If you'd worn 'Waratahs' gear I would've said g'day. I both work and live in the middle of town. Not much goes by me. I always say hi to Warriors fans, particularly at work (Aldi).
It's been a terrible summer down the road here in Sydney. I love the heat. I asked my mate for the heating instructions to his place (in Leura) and he thought I was nuts, but it was actually cold that first night we were there. Had some sunny days but they were pretty cold, actually worked out pretty well for the walks we were doing, until about 3pm when we froze out butts off.

I would never wear Waratahs gear either in Newcastle or Katoomba, I just hate that manufactured saying of Up the Wahs (still to this day, even 3 years later, I can hold a grudge 🤣 ) and get irrationally annoyed when people say it to me when I wear Warriors gear.