Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV deal discussion 2028 -

Iamback

They can afford it

As of November they lost $480m. Globally Paramount plus is $6b in debt.

So yes I agree they should want to improve, They should see NRL as a way to improve.

Whether the board and those making the decision think adding $150m a year NRL rights is a smart decision is a different story

BuffaloRules

As of November they lost $480m. Globally Paramount plus is $6b in debt.

So yes I agree they should want to improve, They should see NRL as a way to improve.

Whether the board and those making the decision think adding $150m a year NRL rights is a smart decision is a different story

The only way I can see the NRL getting anywhere near the figures in that article is to have someone pushing the incumbents on both FTA and Streaming .., we know 7 are not going to bid , maybe Monday nights only ..: so either that figure is unobtainable BS or Paramount wants the rights ? I’m not pretending I know the answer … but I don’t see how it works otherwise … if no one is pushing the incumbents they will be lucky to get $600m ( which I think is still where it lands )

nko11

He will still get a good deal but not doing it last year when it should’ve been done has been a huge blunder

Trying to sort out super league first could cost our game big time

Secure the heartland first before trying to worry about the other side of the world

The more I think about this, the less I feel it will have an effect on the TV deal. The jersey sponsorships will have an effect on the clubs directly. But it just puts preasure on them to find other sponsors, which they really should have been moving towards that anyway. Diversification is important and clubs should be moving more towards 30% from Broadcast revenue, 40% from Football operations & 30% from investment activity. And in turn with this, diversifying away from gambling from all of these streams if revenue. Panthers Leagues Club has been slowly doing this over the years.

The limit of 3 ads per hour on face value would decrease the value of the TV deal. Going from say 8 ads an hour to 3. However you would imagine getting one of these three slots will now become extremely extremely valuable. The value for these will likely double. You then have 5 other slots now available for non-gambling advertising. It may still be a slight drop in revenue, but not as big as you would imagine.

The other thing relevant to our deal, is it takes away the uncertainty. I think everyone could see that legislation was coming through at some point. Now that its been locked in as not a total ban - this will bring confidence to the broadcasters. Uncertainty would have been worse than what was released.

This also creates an interesting change in the potential value of timeslots. Perhaps post 8:30pm broadcasts now become more valuable, as that is the time there is no constraint on the amount of ads you can put in. Do we get a few 8:30pm (east coast time) kickoffs out of Perth?

The more I think about this, the less I feel it will have an effect on the TV deal. The jersey sponsorships will have an effect on the clubs directly. But it just puts preasure on them to find other sponsors, which they really should have been moving towards that anyway. Diversification is important and clubs should be moving more towards 30% from Broadcast revenue, 40% from Football operations & 30% from investment activity. And in turn with this, diversifying away from gambling from all of these streams if revenue. Panthers Leagues Club has been slowly doing this over the years.

The limit of 3 ads per hour on face value would decrease the value of the TV deal. Going from say 8 ads an hour to 3. However you would imagine getting one of these three slots will now become extremely extremely valuable. The value for these will likely double. You then have 5 other slots now available for non-gambling advertising. It may still be a slight drop in revenue, but not as big as you would imagine.

The other thing relevant to our deal, is it takes away the uncertainty. I think everyone could see that legislation was coming through at some point. Now that its been locked in as not a total ban - this will bring confidence to the broadcasters. Uncertainty would have been worse than what was released.

This also creates an interesting change in the potential value of timeslots. Perhaps post 8:30pm broadcasts now become more valuable, as that is the time there is no constraint on the amount of ads you can put in. Do we get a few 8:30pm (east coast time) kickoffs out of Perth?
If wanted to add value to fta they could def do a few sat night 9pm ko games from perth. Obviously not all 11 home games but could add in 4 or 5 in the season maybe.

insert.pause

I don’t think it matters what time the game is broadcast, they won’t be able to advertise gambling during live sports broadcasts. Kicking off a game after the 8.30pm cut off time won’t make any difference.

Colk

I don’t think it matters what time the game is broadcast, they won’t be able to advertise gambling during live sports broadcasts. Kicking off a game after the 8.30pm cut off time won’t make any difference.

Hopefully they remember to put their tips in

nko11

Found the Press release from the PM -

"Restricting gambling advertising on broadcast television to no more than three ads each hour between 6am and 8.30pm, with a complete ban during live sport broadcasts within those hours".

So it will actually have a bit of decent effect within those hours, as it is a total ban - different to what I thought. But will make post 8:30pm ad broadcasts even more lucrative.

I could see even starting next year - a few games being played in slightly later timeslots - hopefully only Perth games, but could be others as well. I reckon you'll also see 3 back-to-back ads leading into each sports broadcast and possibly they'll find a loophole so that the sports broadcast officially starts 2 minutes past the hour. Not sure if the pregame would count as a live sports broadcast.

Iamback

"Restricting gambling advertising on broadcast television to no more than three ads each hour between 6am and 8.30pm, with a complete ban during live sport broadcasts within those hours".

So it will actually have a bit of decent effect within those hours, as it is a total ban - different to what I thought. But will make post 8:30pm ad broadcasts even more lucrative.

I could see even starting next year - a few games being played in slightly later timeslots - hopefully only Perth games, but could be others as well. I reckon you'll also see 3 back-to-back ads leading into each sports broadcast and possibly they'll find a loophole so that the sports broadcast officially starts 2 minutes past the hour. Not sure if the pregame would count as a live sports broadcast.

Can Fox do that though? They run the same ads nationally. So it is in the banned time going West

insert.pause

Other reports have it as a complete ban for sports broadcasts, despite the time, so who knows.

If wanted to add value to fta they could def do a few sat night 9pm ko games from perth. Obviously not all 11 home games but could add in 4 or 5 in the season maybe.
lol clueless.

Something like 90% of viewership is east coast. NRL is marketing itself as a family friendly game.
Why on earth would you start a game so late and finish even later while keeping in mind this game would finish close to 1:30am in NZ which has a far greater viewership than WA. Lol

730pm start in west Aussie, is 930pm start in Sydney, is 1130pm start in NZ. Finishing game around 915pm on West Aussie, is finishing 11:15pm Sydney, is finishing 1:15am in NZ.
You are literally diminishing the strong markets to get the tiniest uplift locally in west Aussie but that local WA uplift isn’t even a fraction of the potential decreased numbers lost from the dominant markets due to times slot you are advocating for.

perthwrongs, ding dong

Red&BlackBear

No, it doesn’t add value. You are decreasing potential viewership due to how late the game is commencing - the second halves especially.

The metric is based on how many eye balls (viewership numbers) actually tune in to the games and in turn the advertisements get to reach. There is a reason prime time is called prime time.

These late kick off’s that you’re proposing also pose some issues to the general game day TV programming structure - this structure is locked in well advanced of the draw. The numbers are known via previous year’s data and collated to forecast. What are they benefiting out of it that greatly out weighs the negatives? A few extra ads during broadcasting means little if there’s fewer eyes watching the game (due to times?)

If NRL were planning to open this late time slot they would have trialled it already. Albeit the only ones that they have trialled is 6/615pm Sunday night and 1:30pm Saturday arvo. One is catered for future WA time slot, the other is catered for another NZ time slot.

Bears were advised last year that the 6pm (Sunday night) game time slot is pretty much theirs most weeks. That’s 4pm local time. Things can obviously change between now and 2027 draw reveal later this year but for now that’s the intent.

Wb1234

No, it doesn’t add value. You are decreasing potential viewership due to how late the game is commencing - the second halves especially.

The metric is based on how many eye balls (viewership numbers) actually tune in to the games and in turn the advertisements get to reach. There is a reason prime time is called prime time.

These late kick off’s that you’re proposing also pose some issues to the general game day TV programming structure - this structure is locked in well advanced of the draw. The numbers are known via previous year’s data and collated to forecast. What are they benefiting out of it that greatly out weighs the negatives? A few extra ads during broadcasting means little if there’s fewer eyes watching the game (due to times?)

If NRL were planning to open this late time slot they would have trialled it already. Albeit the only ones that they have trialled is 6/615pm Sunday night and 1:30pm Saturday arvo. One is catered for future WA time slot, the other is catered for another NZ time slot.

Bears were advised last year that the 6pm (Sunday night) game time slot is pretty much theirs most weeks. That’s 4pm local time. Things can obviously change between now and 2027 draw reveal later this year but for now that’s the intent.
Not a bad choice for most of their games

But extending super Saturday by an extra game wasn’t a bad idea either

Colk

Another quality game to look forward to lol

Red&BlackBear

Not a bad choice for most of their games

But extending super Saturday by an extra game wasn’t a bad idea either
If it’s extended - in the short term future at least - it’ll be front ended.

Trialling TV time slots is the greatest indicator of what broadcasters are looking at. For now those aforementioned time slots of EST 6:15pm Sunday evening (4:15pm WA) and 1:30pm Saturday arvo (3:30pm NZ) are the only 2 time slots outside the traditional slots which have been trialled - on multiple occasions now and in the case of 6:15pm Sunday for a number of consecutive years. Although 1:30pm Saturday has been for exclusively off season games. Still, it’s been trialled for a reason.

There’s also an equal reason the 9:30pm Saturday night has not been trialled and it’s not like games haven’t been hosted in WA. I mean there’s a double header on next weekend and another single game in August and neither have this time slot or any other previously hosted game has had that time slot for that matter.

Wb1234

If it’s extended - in the short term future at least - it’ll be front ended.

Trialling TV time slots is the greatest indicator of what broadcasters are looking at. For now those aforementioned time slots of EST 6:15pm Sunday evening (4:15pm WA) and 1:30pm Saturday arvo (3:30pm NZ) are the only 2 time slots outside the traditional slots which have been trialled - on multiple occasions now and in the case of 6:15pm Sunday for a number of consecutive years. Although 1:30pm Saturday has been for exclusively off season games. Still, it’s been trialled for a reason.

There’s also an equal reason the 9:30pm Saturday night has not been trialled and it’s not like games haven’t been hosted in WA. I mean there’s a double header on next weekend and another single game in August and neither have this time slot or any other previously hosted game has had that time slot for that matter.
I hope Monday night footy comes back

Players are babies complaining about short turn arounds