Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2026 rumoured and confirmed signings

Munky

Its taken Nathan five seasons each with atleast three finals games and four games in 2026 to add another 100 games to his NRL tally since the 2020 GF.

He's not durable at all.

Cam Smith in his first nine seasons beginning the season (from 2023) as starter played 212 club games.

Nathan from 2017 to 2025 played 179 club games. He's averaged under 19 games since the 2020 GF.

Smith was a freak with his longevity.

Sime_11

NRL360 has Nathan off to union......

Not hating on him but the Tago contract is the one we need to lose
Tago, Matt Timoko & Xerri

3 decent centres in the comp who cant get games - not sure why teams like Titans, Warriors or Storm are not doing what they can to get them into their teams via trades etc

Nath & Yeo are the ones we should be giving extra to - they should be 1 club players and as chins said - Grandstands named after them

Iamback

NRL360 has Nathan off to union......

Not hating on him but the Tago contract is the one we need to lose

He said himself, He doesn't know the Union rules enough.

I doubt he goes yet.

When you go through that list, It is easy to clear cash to re-sign who you need.

We have a pretty good record without Kenny in the side, So if he wants too much he goes.

You don't pay backrowers heaps, If Martin wants cash then Wollongong is a nice place and close to family.

Moses at 30 is due to get a pay cut.

Jenkins won't go, He saw how it is elsewhere so a fair offer and he stays.

Papalli and Blaize, came from shit teams so they would be wanting to stay

Kenny
Martin
Leota

Are the 3 casualties if there needs to be some and keeps the side in the premiership window

Add Tago to that list if you get a clean split if not he is the Martin replacement

BxTom

Its taken Nathan five seasons each with atleast three finals games and four games in 2026 to add another 100 games to his NRL tally since the 2020 GF.

He's not durable at all.

Cam Smith in his first nine seasons beginning the season (from 2023) as starter played 212 club games.

Nathan from 2017 to 2025 played 179 club games. He's averaged under 19 games since the 2020 GF.

Smith was a freak with his longevity.
Nathan has had a couple of suspensions for doing what Tedesco does and gets away with.

Aliceinwonderland

Both Nath and Yeo should have stands named after them as part of the next contract negotiations.
I'm not joking either, money can't buy that type of legacy.

Please make it happen.

My TV died last week (saving up for a new one, I do have my laptop and phone loaded with channel 9 and fox, so all is NOT lost)

Big brother has invited me over for pizza and footy tonight, which should be great fun. Personally I'm not super confident about Penrith tonight, as the dogs will throw the kitchen sink at them.

Should be a good night. Hope others have fun plans for tonight too.

Aliceinwonderland

Benny Elias on NRL 360 said he had been told Nathan had been offered GBP1M a season to play in the Super League.

John, I believe we are going to get a barrage of these type of stories. If Nathan and Ivan haven't re signed by Nov 1......(I believe they will sign as a package deal) I might consider it. Also I can't imagine Nathan playing against a team that his dad is coaching. Ivan has already turned down PNG.

So the guessing games have begun.

Aliceinwonderland

Way I see it.

Tago leaves early for a first grade spot. That’s $600-700k freed up. Give it to McLean.

Alamoti & Jenkins will be replaced with a couple kids.

Biz and Kenny extend on similar coin.

Clarke replaces Martin, he will be a beast. Another $500k freed up, give it to Talagi.

Leota moves on or maybe goes one more year on the bench on a sweetheart deal. Yeo moves to starting prop and maybe eventually bench prop so takes a slightly reduced deal. Philips gets some coin and we continue to see Smith/Yeo/Philips offering a more dynamic middle ball playing magazine than we previously utilised.

Papali’i has been our best forward for the last half a season. If we need his coin to upgrade Cleary, it is what it is, Wigmore/Armstrong will also be beasts. If we can we keep him, great.

Edwards is the first of the big 3 to go after 2028, Yeo goes the following year after a few years transitioning into a lesser role. Get those right and we’re a contender until Cleary is 36 if he holds together

2028: Edwards, Edgar, McLean, Patea, To’o, Talagi, Cleary, Yeo, Kenny, Philips, Clarke, Wigmore/Armstrong, Smith, Cogger/Scott/Lussick, Patea/Crosby/Lemoto/Leota, Garner

I think Leota wants to stay. I hope he can. I'm hopeful that Yeo and Cleary along with To'o re sign to Penrith.

Fangs

Still a full season less than Smith in the equivalent time period.

Probably pretty durable for a halfback at least. Have to see how he ends up at the finish to judge overall.

One aspect he easily clears Smith in is goal kicking. Its not really talked about but Cameron Smith struggled in this part of the game on the big stage. 72% conversion rate for Australia and even worse 68% for QLD.

I think Smith's kicking at club level improved as he went on particularly the final years. But by that stage he had retired from rep footy. He was a decent goal kicker but hardly worthy of the tag 'sharpshooter' which gets thrown around for just about any goal kicker.

age.s

He said himself, He doesn't know the Union rules enough.

I doubt he goes yet.

When you go through that list, It is easy to clear cash to re-sign who you need.

We have a pretty good record without Kenny in the side, So if he wants too much he goes.

You don't pay backrowers heaps, If Martin wants cash then Wollongong is a nice place and close to family.

Moses at 30 is due to get a pay cut.

Jenkins won't go, He saw how it is elsewhere so a fair offer and he stays.

Papalli and Blaize, came from shit teams so they would be wanting to stay

Kenny
Martin
Leota

Are the 3 casualties if there needs to be some and keeps the side in the premiership window

Add Tago to that list if you get a clean split if not he is the Martin replacement
Id like to see Tago play even a few minutes of good footy in the backrow before I crown him a long term option there.

IcemanCleary

Nathan is not going to Union. That’s not going to happen mate. Most footy fans couldn’t name a single wallaby player, never mind a waratah player , there is such little interest in the game Outside certain demographic's. What knuckle head on 360 was promoting that non sense?

In respect of Isaac Tago if the club want him gone it would happen. There are plenty of clubs who would snap him up in a heartbeat without us even tipping in if we played hardball. It may still happen , I think it might, because his current salary would be invaluable in terms of other player retention. Maybe he needs a change of environment I don’t know but he has been putting in big time in NSW cup so to his credit he hasn’t turned his toes up.
Harry potters the only wallaby I know

IcemanCleary

Tago, Matt Timoko & Xerri

3 decent centres in the comp who cant get games - not sure why teams like Titans, Warriors or Storm are not doing what they can to get them into their teams via trades etc

Nath & Yeo are the ones we should be giving extra to - they should be 1 club players and as chins said - Grandstands named after them
One thing in common there shit tacklers coincidence i don't think so