Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Misi Taulapapa - the biggest grub of them all

from that pic you could nearly say that it looks as though tongue has the ball...

Exactly, and thats why misi went in to help, like it happens every week in every game. Only this time Misi made a poor judgment and hit Tongue instead of the whole ruck. Penalty, and (for the umpteenth time) thats all it deserved and thats all he got. If he had of hit Tongue from another angle where the point of movement was there would have been no penalty whether he was injured or not.

Tongue btw has dickie ribs in the first place.

muznik

Cant believe he didnt get atleast a week or two.

When compared to other incidents that have resulted in suspension this was worse.
(Think Moi Moi v Kimmorley)

skeepe said:
What Taulapapa did was a blatant assault. He had no intention other than to go in there and hurt Alan Tongue
Fair dinkum.

His intention was clearly to help his team mate who was being pushed backwards - happens in every game.

His execution was poor.

Blantant assault . Please.

Syren

It was a dirty play, I think he deserves some punishment but NOTHING like more than a couple of weeks surely. No surprised that he isnt charged at all.

hrundi99

What's the difference between Alan Tongue and Skeepe?

That says more about Tongue's civility than it does the "tackle".

How can Misi have been trying to push his player when he doesn't even come in contact with him. Ridiculous...

squiddy

Hey Skeepe , watch this weekends round and tell em how many times you see something similar ina driving tackle , the attacking team will quite often come in and stop momentum or the player from going out , going over the tryline what ever , happens in every single game at all levels. It was unfortunate that Tongue got hurt , didnt affect the game , get over it mate. BTW Tongue is one of my favorite players , gutsy little bastard he is !!:eek:

nqboy

Can't believe he got away with it. Just so sadly typical of the MRC, Refs, Judiciary...NRL!!!

skeepe

Hey Skeepe , watch this weekends round and tell em how many times you see something similar ina driving tackle ,

I can tell you right now. Zero. That's how many times an attacking player without the ball will tackle a tackler.

the attacking team will quite often come in and stop momentum or the player from going out , going over the tryline what ever , happens in every single game at all levels.

Sure. But when they do that, they come into contact with their own player, not a defender.

It was unfortunate that Tongue got hurt , didnt affect the game , get over it mate. BTW Tongue is one of my favorite players , gutsy little bastard he is !!:eek:

Didn't affect the game? He had to go off and didn't come back! He's an 80 minute player and makes a thousand tackles. How didn't it effect the game? Add to that the fact that we were within 6 points at the time it happened. Didn't affect the game, what a dimwitted thing to say. It was a major turning point!

bileduct

It's funny that Raiders fans are blowing up over this.

It was only just a few years ago that the tactic of attacking players without the ball running in to knock defenders out of tackles was deliberately executed by the Raiders. Clinton Schifcofske and Adam Mogg were specialists at it.

I can't remember which year, but it went on for a few weeks before the NRL stepped in and declared that attacking players without the ball could only push or support the ball carrier and not interfere with defenders.

Bigfella

It's funny that Raiders fans are blowing up over this.

It was only just a few years ago that the tactic of attacking players without the ball running in to knock defenders out of tackles was deliberately executed by the Raiders. Clinton Schifcofske and Adam Mogg were specialists at it.

I can't remember which year, but it went on for a few weeks before the NRL stepped in and declared that attacking players without the ball could only push or support the ball carrier and not interfere with defenders.

I don't particularly remember Raiders practising this more than other teams; but I certainly think the practice of defensive players "lending a hand" to the ball carrier has increased this year.

I think it should be outlawed as well. Surely it's a form of a shepherd - where the attacking players are deliberately impeding the defenders from effecting the type of tackle they want to make?

Exactly, and thats why misi went in to help, like it happens every week in every game. Only this time Misi made a poor judgment and hit Tongue instead of the whole ruck. Penalty, and (for the umpteenth time) thats all it deserved and thats all he got. If he had of hit Tongue from another angle where the point of movement was there would have been no penalty whether he was injured or not.

Tongue btw has dickie ribs in the first place.

tongue's ribs were fine you fool
and tongue was effecting the tackle, how on earth does that look like tongue has the footy? It looks like Alan Tongue had wrapped the ball carrier and the footy up in a good tackle and is attempting to drive him backwards... If misi wanted to avoid this he should have done what hundreds of players do a week and thats get behind the ball carrier and push forward. Not charge in bull at a gate and slam his shoulder into the exposed ribs of a man with his back turned and not in posession of the footy

it was a dog act and he should have been punished further for it. The fact he didnt reflects poorly on the MRC

bileduct

I don't particularly remember Raiders practising this more than other teams; but I certainly think the practice of defensive players "lending a hand" to the ball carrier has increased this year.

I think it should be outlawed as well. Surely it's a form of a shepherd - where the attacking players are deliberately impeding the defenders from effecting the type of tackle they want to make?
I'm a Raiders fan myself. I guess I can only say that I noticed that we suddenly started using it and I remember thinking at the time that we were really pushing our luck. I wasn't surprised to see us penalised after about three games of it and the NRL made an announcement about the tactic being used.

I have this vivid memory of Adam Mogg flying into a tackle and hitting a defender in the back, who reacted like he'd just been f**ked in the arse. Just can't remember what game it was or who it was against (might have been the Bulldogs).