Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Are the "Super League" war drums sounding?

griff

Hmmm, pretty easy.

Sydney, 4.2 Million people, 9 clubs.

Brisbane, 1.8 Million people, 1 club.

Melbourne, 3.8 Million people, 1 club.

Adelaide , 1,1 Million, 0 clubs.

Perth , 1.5 Million , 0 clubs.

Damm, I wonder which city has too much saturation.

Do the math, report back.

Sydney/Illawarra: 4.6 million, 9 clubs = 510,000 people per club
Canberra/Queanbeyan region: 400,000, 1 club = 400,000 per club
entire North and outback Qld: 500,000, 1 club = 500,000 per club
Adelaide: 1.1 million people, number of people that care about RL = 20,000 max

It doesn't make any sense to cut Sydney clubs, especially considering all the supporters of traditional clubs in regional NSW and elsewhere. That's without even mentioning the huge leg up that will give to our competitors in Sydney.

SaveTheChildren

Sydney/Illawarra: 4.6 million, 9 clubs = 510,000 people per club
Canberra/Queanbeyan region: 400,000, 1 club = 400,000 per club
entire North and outback Qld: 500,000, 1 club = 500,000 per club
Adelaide: 1.1 million people, number of people that care about RL = 20,000 max

It doesn't make any sense to cut Sydney clubs, especially considering all the supporters of traditional clubs in regional NSW and elsewhere. That's without even mentioning the huge leg up that will give to our competitors in Sydney.

griff, that is 20000 fly by night supporters in Adelaide.

KalgoorlieRed

All this year the press has been putting out all those... RL must change or die... players aren't getting what they are worth etc etc stories..

Players are leaving, even the word "strike" was briefly thrown out a few months back ...

Hysteria is consuming some..

Where will all this lead?

What's gonna happen?

I use the words "super league" in the thread title not because an exact copy of the SL war will erupt ... but because it is a symbol of massive upheaval in the Oz rugby league scene..

Is there a massive upheaval coming?

Super League part 2 could be around the corner, only this time, as News are in joint ownership they can do what they please. Expect there to be less Sydney clubs.

griff

News Ltd has an insurance policy for a reverse super league war erupting, in that they own two of the most successful clubs, Melbourne and Brisbane. The clubs and ARL can't split off and start their own comp without those two.

KalgoorlieRed

That's the biggest load of f**kING SH!T I've heard since Ribot gave us his vision. No wonder you're in f**king Melbourne.

Rubbish! What a
wanker.gif
!

OVP

Super League part 2 could be around the corner, only this time, as News are in joint ownership they can do what they please. Expect there to be less Sydney clubs.

You and your genius mate Perth Red are singlehandedly turning me against your pissant state. I used to support the idea of a Perth team, but you can go to hell you sycophantic News Ltd genius. I will do everything possible to stop you twats from getting a team in OUR comp. Go to Hell.

spacemanspiff

The issue is that Rugby League wants to hang onto traditional local club rivalries, and the world class athletes it produces as a result. The small club situation severly restricts the earning potential and market growth of the sport, but not the calibre of athletes it produces. As a result they lose these players to higher paying markets. Loyality and club spirit are what is holding Rugby League together - something that the fans love, and rightly so. As soon as this begins to erode (As is the case with Money Bill Williams) League starts to come undone at the seams.

Clubs arent idiots - they recognise this - It's why most of the clubs a few years back tried to dissasociate themselves with their local areas - The Bulldogs, Sharks...possibly the Roosters. They've sinced realised the value of tradition and returned the suburbs to their names.

Its a classic Catch-22 that Super League tried to break with money. I dont think it was the right way to go about it - but something needed to happen. In the end the NRL was a weak compromise and its expansion prospects probably became weaker when Souths were re-admitted. (Though again, this move played to the strength of Rugby League - tribalism and tradition)

The Answer: Stuffed if I know. But there needs to be expansion to widen the market for league. Whether that comes at the expense of Sydney clubs, I'd say yes. But it shouldnt completely devalue the traditional strength of the game.

Personally I think the World Club Challenge is worth another look in some new format. It exposes Australian players to life outside the "Sydney fishbowl" and exposes the NRL to the cash-cow that is the billions of sets of eyes on televisions in the UK. (Thus allowing further expansion locally)

Make of it what you will. It's just my 2 cents.

KalgoorlieRed

You and your genius mate Perth Red are singlehandedly turning me against your pissant state. I used to support the idea of a Perth team, but you can go to hell you sycophantic News Ltd genius. I will do everything possible to stop you twats from getting a team in OUR comp. Go to Hell.

I'm aint going to hell, I know where I'm going. Do you? I think you need to stop playing with yourself mate.
wanker.gif

KalgoorlieRed

I fully agree with you Rastus.

Melbourne, 3.8 Million people, 1 club, 14 supporters.
Adelaide, 1.1 Million, 0 clubs, 8 supporters.
Perth 1.5 Million, 9 supporters.

We implement your plan -> over run AFL and we will boost that support
to at least a 100.

Sydney, 4.1 million -> should drop nicely to about 100, 000 supporters.
brisbane -> who cares.

Say bye bye to a handful of Sydney clubs who have had 100 years to prove themselves and failed miserably. Gasnier and SBW are proof!

Say hello to new clubs in WA, SA, Old, NZ and NT.

KalgoorlieRed

I see im wasting my time, you havent even reached the age of 5 yet.

Says the boy who thinks he can condemn somebody to somewhere he knows nothing about.

Get real. The NRL is a laughing stock in this country! Come to WA and see what people really think how RL is run pathetically! We put up with this sh!t all the time from AFL and onion, you lot know nothing! You have got it good in the 'heartlands'.

SaveTheChildren

Say bye bye to a handful of Sydney clubs who have had 100 years to prove themselves and failed miserably. Gasnier and SBW are proof!

Say hello to new clubs in WA, SA, Old, NZ and NT.

I really do wish someone would get on and have another go at the super league model. It will kill league off back to a suburban game. We can go back to watching it on the ABC on a Saturday arvo when it goes back to a NSW comp.

We can watch the footy at Leichardt, Kogarah, Brooky.

Can't happen soon enough.

newman

Thanks Spaceman Spiff for some rational, reasonable thought.
I think your idea about the World Club Challenge has alot of merit.

I also think its disappointing that whenever 'expansion', 'growth' or 'consolidation' is mentioned people start to dredge up the nightmare that is SuperLeague. When it happened, it hurt, but if you dont let it go the game will never move forward.

SaveTheChildren

Thanks Spaceman Spiff for some rational, reasonable thought.
I think your idea about the World Club Challenge has alot of merit.

I also think its disappointing that whenever 'expansion', 'growth' or 'consolidation' is mentioned people start to dredge up the nightmare that is SuperLeague. When it happened, it hurt, but if you dont let it go the game will never move forward.

Pi@#ss off back to Geelong Sammy.

This Year?

I have heard quite the opposite! So far I have heard plenty of ARL folk talk about reducing Sydney teams and Gallop consistently state that the answer is not in culling teams. How do you get News are after culling teams or is it just paranoia against News as usual?

I'm talking about 1997 when they wanted teams to merge or die. Let's wait and see what happens in 2011 (I think that's when the contracts finish for the merged teams).

This Year?

He's right cause the game has to be rationalised in Sydney.

Sydney is nothing but a drain on Rugby League, a hairy wart on it's arse. It needs to be cut off. 7000 fans last night and 10000 at the Parra game doesn't cut it. Sydney teams are dying and they are taking league with them.

Fans are tired of hearing how Sydney clubs are doing it hard. If a dog is suffering, you blow the mother away, it's the only humane thing to do.

If a team has the whole of one city to call upon to pay it's players it will be able to retain them though higher payments, not this slave labour the NRL is running which is causing guys like Williams to leave.

If that means 12 teams and less professional players but all of them staying in league, so be it. A lot of professionals shouldn't even be dragging the rest down anyway.

I know you're p1ssed cause the Dragons haven't won sh1t in years, but look at the up side. You probably won't be around in 10 years to extend that winless streak anyway.

So you think it's good for the game to get rid of the clubs that built it to what it's become today? If the other states were contributing so much to the game why didn't they make their own competition instead of joining a competition with NSW clubs?