Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Storm fury at Nine

why do 9 show the AFL Footy Show on 9HD @ 9:30pm in Sydney and Brisbane yet fail to show the NRL Footy Show in AFL states on the same channel?

Why do Channel 9 have a AFL show called Footy Classifieds and no NRL version?

This is also shown on 9HD in Sydney and Brisbane on Mondays @ 11pm

did you not sse the bias towards AFL in their 60 Minutes story earlier this year?

you're kidding yourself if you don't think 9 do anything and everything to please the AFL whilst not giving a sh*t about League

That's my point. Why do they?? They've got no interest in promoting AFL at the moment, because all it does is promote AFL on television, which results in promoting AFL broadcasts which are shown on on 7 and 10. They're better off giving extra promotion to rugby league, which would result in extra interest, which would result in higher ratings, and would result in higher advertising revenue.

I can see why 9 want to run the AFL Footy show, but if they cut back the budget slightly and used the money saved to promote rugby league instead, they're going to be the big winners.

That's my point. Why do they?? They've got no interest in promoting AFL at the moment, because all it does is promote AFL on television, which results in promoting AFL broadcasts which are shown on on 7 and 10. They're better off giving extra promotion to rugby league, which would result in extra interest, which would result in higher ratings, and would result in higher advertising revenue.

I can see why 9 want to run the AFL Footy show, but if they cut back the budget slightly and used the money saved to promote rugby league instead, they're going to be the big winners.

9 are geniused and probably do it to maybe help them get the AFL rights next time

here's something interesting about 9 Brutus posted a while back

In another sign that cost cutting is taking a toll at embattled Channel 9, sports bosses have shelved plans for their new Monday night rugby league show. The Melbourne equivalent will proceed but the Sydney version has been axed due to lack of resources. Sports boss Steve Crawley confirmed the decision saying: " We have had a year of excellent coverage and we didn't want to compromise by going to air with anything less than great."

Found this on page 50 of the Sunday Telegraph.

so 9 have resources for AFL, but not NRL :roll:

someone should ask the clowns which code they have the rights to

9 are geniused and probably do it to maybe help them get the AFL rights next time

here's something interesting about 9 Brutus posted a while back

so 9 have resources for AFL, but not NRL :roll:

someone should ask the clowns which code they have the rights to

That's right. I don't think it'll help them get the rights next time though, because i'm pretty sure 10 and 7 have a first and last rights clause, and unless 9 can go enter into a bid with either 7 or 9, which I doubt, they'll lose out again.

Nine should promote league because it's their winter sport, if they can promote it as the NUMBER ONE sport, they'll gain veiwers, if they don't... It'll just look like they're promoting AFL and NRL is second best, and they'll have to play catch up as a network overall.

because i'm pretty sure 10 and 7 have a first and last rights clause

i'm pretty sure the AFL said no to such a thing actually. i'll try find a source

Demetriou was on 2SM not long ago and was speaking about 9 with a fair bit of affection. i think he would've preferred them to have the rights

Ice777

That's right. I don't think it'll help them get the rights next time though, because i'm pretty sure 10 and 7 have a first and last rights clause, and unless 9 can go enter into a bid with either 7 or 9, which I doubt, they'll lose out again.

Yeah i'm not sure if that sort of clause exists this time and nor should it IMO. Channel 7 paid something like a million dollars last time to have last crack at them but i reckon whoever is prepared to pay the highest bid whether it be NRL or AFL should win them.

Exactly, the Northern states get AFL live on foxtel on Friday nights.. Southern states should get NRL live on foxtel.

Obviously the AFL knows how important coverage into those growing states is, but the NRL is clueless.

Since when…is the AFL feeding you southerners the old porky pies….

In Sydney the Friday night AFL is delayed on FOX (starts around 11pm) as is the coverage on Channel 7 (normally around 11.00 to 11.30pm), a few posters from the southern state have these illusions that the AFL is on in prime time in Sydney….stop deluding yourselves because it isn’t, only Swans Saturday night games usually get a live 7.30pm prime time start, if you call Saturday night prime time

Cheers to that El Diablo. Do you know anything about free to air's interest in rugby league was last time the contract was renewed? I'd like to think there was a three, or interest from all 3 networks at least. If all three free to air networks are interested in purchasing the right to rugby league it benefits the selling price at least.

7 were interested

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,15170203-32462,00.html

Seven wants league rights

By Dean Ritchie
May 04, 2005

A PRIVATE 90-minute lunch in Pyrmont yesterday has thrown open the $200 million battle for rugby league's free-to-air television rights.

NRL chief executive David Gallop yesterday held a secret meeting at Channel 7 headquarters in an opening round of high-powered negotiations aimed at stealing the rights that Channel 9 has held since 1992.

Gallop arrived at Seven's Pyrmont premises at 12.50pm for lunch with Seven chief David Leckie in the fourth floor board room.

Conversation between the pair centred on free-to-air television rights, which become available at the end of next season and are worth up to $40 million a season.

Gallop will discuss the contents of yesterday's meeting at an all-day NRL chief executives conference today.

Despite yesterday's meeting at Seven, Nine chief executive David Gyngell last night cast doubts that Seven was legitimately interested in obtaining the NRL rights.

Nine insiders claim Leckie knows the NRL contract intimately and Seven's intervention is purely attempting to push up the Nine price.

Asked was Seven's interest genuine, Gyngell said: "No mate, I don't believe they are genuine.

"Ask David Leckie if he thinks he can get them (the rights) and I don't think he'd say yes.

"But they (Seven) have to have the discussions. They were always going to have a look.

"They have a substantial commitment to the AFL. They are committed to AFL."

However, Seven's director of corporate affairs, Simon Francis, refuted suggestions his station did not harbour a genuine interest in rugby league.

"Seven is keen to be an active participant in the negotiating process. Beyond that we are not willing to comment," Francis said.

Insiders at Seven say the NRL is just as important as the AFL in regards to revenue and audience.

"We'd love to have rugby league back," one Seven source said.

Keen to woo Gallop, Nine sat the NRL boss on Gyngell's official Channel 9 table at this week's Logie Awards in Melbourne, along with AFL chief executive Andrew Demitriou.

The predicted $30 million to $40 million figure is a considerable increase on Nine's current free-to-air deal, worth about $15 million annually.

Gyngell said he and Gallop had not spoken officially about television rights although the pair recently met in Byron Bay and the subject was raised.

"Rugby league is an outstanding product and David (Gallop) is only doing his job by talking to Seven or even Ten. It doesn't surprise me or concern me," Gyngell said.

"He has to do the best for his company and the game. The paper talk is pushing up the price. We haven't sat down with David yet but we have canvassed it internally."

http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2004/08/20/1092972743273.html

Seven seeks chance to bid for NRL rights
By Steve Mascord
August 21, 2004

Channel Seven has called on the NRL to put its television rights to open tender rather than quietly extending and upgrading its contracts with Channel Nine and Fox Sports.

TV rights have become an issue this week in light of the NRL partnership committee's decision on Monday not to expand the competition, as well as growing angst among NSW clubs about a coming increase in poker machine tax.

Fox Sports' deal with the league expires at the end of 2006 and Nine's rights agreement is up in 2007, with Kerry Packer's network having first right of refusal.

But there is increasing speculation that the NRL will not allow either agreement to lapse, preferring to upgrade and extend each within the next 12 months - meaning rival networks won't get the chance to bid.

"The Seven Network would be keen to participate in an open tender process for both the free-to-air and subscription rights for the National Rugby League," Seven's director of corporate development, Simon Francis, said last night. "Such a process would be in the best interests of the NRL and its clubs."

Clubs believe the free-to-air rights are grossly undervalued, with the AFL rights believed to be worth $40 million compared with the NRL's widely quoted figure of $13m.

The Herald also contacted the Nine and Ten networks over the issue. Nine had no comment on its intentions while a Ten sports spokesman said: "It isn't an issue for us. We are quite happy with our current schedule of sport."

NRL chief executive David Gallop responded to Francis's comments by saying all options would be explored.

"We are fully expecting that rugby league will be much sought after as content and we intend to explore all offers we might receive," he said.

Fox Sports has first refusal on rights until 2022, while Nine has a similar privilege for 10 years. Gallop said Nine had not approached him about extending.

Elsewhere, the NRL is in talks with St George Illawarra about whether Oki Jubilee Stadium qualifies to hold a finals match.

The Dragons are reserving the right to play their home final - if they make the top four and qualify for one - in either Sydney or Wollongong.

But the club says the NRL would have to pay for floodlights if the game was to be at Kogarah.

"You can't just play a home final where you like - venues have to be approved by the NRL," said the league's chief operating officer, Graham Annesley. "We are involved in talks with the [Kogarah] council and the WIN Stadium trust."

In Sydney the Friday night AFL is delayed on FOX (starts around 11pm) as is the coverage on Channel 7 (normally around 11.00 to 11.30pm), a few posters from the southern state have these illusions that the AFL is on in prime time in Sydney….stop deluding yourselves because it isn’t, only Swans Saturday night games usually get a live 7.30pm prime time start, if you call Saturday night prime time

it's on Main Event LIVE @ 7:30pm

camsmith

:sarcasm:

As El Diablo said, its on Main Event LIVE. The AFL is doing a good job promoting AFL in those states while the NRL gives Melbourne RL supporters nothing.

Frustrating.

rupertpupkin

That's my point. Why do they?? They've got no interest in promoting AFL at the moment, because all it does is promote AFL on television, which results in promoting AFL broadcasts which are shown on on 7 and 10.

Looking for an honest logical explanation in this matter is likely futile. With the $$$squillions that Homoball throws around on it's high risk grandstanding ventures, why would brown paper bag "investment" not be on the cards?

Ice777

Do they not show AFL live on Sundays up there on FTA as well? You're missing the whole point, regardless of if any time slot is classed as prime time or not it's the fact that AFL is shown live up there while rugby league has to wait until midnight to even get a look in.

Primetime is considered 6pm till 10:30pm in Australia. Sydney gets the saturday night game but only if the Swans are playing, if not then we get a movie instead.

We get live saturday games normally, I'm not completely sure but I think we only get live sunday games on either channel but thats it. No prime time games unless swans are playing.

Do they not show AFL live on Sundays up there on FTA as well? You're missing the whole point, regardless of if any time slot is classed as prime time or not it's the fact that AFL is shown live up there while rugby league has to wait until midnight to even get a look in.

We have had live afternoon coverage for 4 decades, so nothing new there, no different than the 1970’s, we do not get live prime time coverage except on a backwater channel very few even know exists.

Then we have the impression given of a great Western Sydney team…more AFL delusions and propaganda, the Rooty Hill site is nothing more than a training ground, will never be nothing more, it is poorly located with transport and will not have a ground capable of much more than a training facility, actual games will be played 25km East at ANZ stadium. Blacktown council is still to answer the question of how they can waste so much of ratepayers money on their AFL pandering while many local sporting grounds and parks are forgotten dustbowls.

My reply was in relation to an impression some from Victoria seem to have that AFL gets great coverage in Sydney, it doesn't.

Ice777

My reply was in relation to an impression some from Victoria seem to have that AFL gets great coverage in Sydney, it doesn't.

Well what the hell do you call 2 live FTA games a week being broadcast into Sydney? sh*t coverage? :crazy: I'm not too sure what happens with Friday night games but getting two live games into the biggest city in Australia is good coverage in anyone's language.

Not to mention as has already been pointed out live coverage of certain games of Foxtel as well. When you compare those things to having to wait until midnight down here to see a rugby league game i know which code is on the much better wicket when it comes to tv rights.

Digga Hole

No one thinks thats AFL is live on FTA Friday night in Sydney. What Melbourne NRL fans have an issue with is that FOX show the AFL live on Main Event in NSW and Qld on Friday night.

All Melbourne League fans want is the same, its a pity the NRL couldn't give a sh*t!