Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Relocation

manly (arthurson) have - had a lot more pull then our mob.

The NRL would never reopen the door to the Sharks, not in a million years.

Trust the bastards as far as you could kickthem.

The answer is stand your ground and fight.

Declared Idiot #88

I dont agree with that quigs. We need to empower ourselves & not be bullied If we keep getting bullied we will dissappear.

Feej

obviously games agaisnt the stains and manly would be 'must host' games for toyota park
On that point, WTF are we doing with a game against the Dragons @ 5.30 on a Saturday????

We might get around 14K IF we're lucky, but play it on a Sunday arvo at 3pm and I reckon we go close to capacity.

Zappia should bitching deluxe to the NRL over that one!

I dont agree with that quigs. We need to empower ourselves & not be bullied If we keep getting bullied we will dissappear.

Ive been saying that since day zot.

Its farkin' time we started rattling the bucket instead of being dominated by every tom dick and harry.

Declared Idiot #88

spider

On that point, WTF are we doing with a game against the Dragons @ 5.30 on a Saturday????

We might get around 14K IF we're lucky, but play it on a Sunday arvo at 3pm and I reckon we go close to capacity.

Zappia should bitching deluxe to the NRL over that one!
reefy is right on why we copped those time slots - its not the NRL

but mind you, if one has a look over the allocated games for us so far this year it is quite depressing - and it's not going to get any better now

Dogs Of War

CC would not embrace the sharks. they would die there in 2 years. only the bears might succeed at CC. otherwise a new team.

Thats a furby, if the Sharks moved there, I have no doubt they would be a success. It just would be at the expense of the Bears. Bears should be getting ready to pounce on the Manly licence anyhow.

Since 73

we are getting hammered in the scheduling.

There has to be one Qld game each friday and it's mostly the Broncos.
get the crowd that are going out on the piss in the city.
What a great start to your nite - go to the footy and then a 10 minute walk into the city.

they are pulling sellouts each week and on live TV as well.

Fortunate scheduling and exposure brings big advantages.

Very few non-fans will make an effort to watch a 5:30pm game.
It goes to 7:30 which means it goes thru dinner time for families.

The worst possible time for a game and we get it often.

Frailty

we are getting hammered in the scheduling.

There has to be one Qld game each friday and it's mostly the Broncos.
get the crowd that are going out on the piss in the city.
What a great start to your nite - go to the footy and then a 10 minute walk into the city.

they are pulling sellouts each week and on live TV as well.

Fortunate scheduling and exposure brings big advantages.

Very few non-fans will make an effort to watch a 5:30pm game.
It goes to 7:30 which means it goes thru dinner time for families.

The worst possible time for a game and we get it often.

But we get that game for a reason...

Since 73

We re-locate..to anywhere, take the money , watch it fail,then by that time the developemet will be up and running and the Sharks go back to cronulla.
Manly did it, they knew exactly what they were doing.

When Manly and Norths merged they got $8mill.

This is difficult to be believe but it is the truth....

It was in the contract that if the merger failed the licence would fall back to Manly.

How the Norths ever signed off on that is the most unbelievable part.

The Sea Eagles - got Ian Thomson (Manly guy thru & thru) in charge of the merger (Northern eagles) and they basically allowed the thing to die a quick and successful death.

The merged club evaporated and the Manly Sea eagles took up the licence to play in the NRL.

The Bears?
Only got themselves to blame.

I'll repeat what I said in the first thread.

The Central Coast will happen. Whichever club takes up this opportunity will never look back.
The ground is there.
The huge fan base is there.
The Leagues club is there.

I follow the club and brand irrespective of it's location.
The jumper and logo have changed 20 bleedin' times since I began following them so i can live with another one.
And whether they play out of Woolooware or Woy Woy I will follow them.

The advantages to reloctaion outweigh the disadvantages - best of all we retain our autonomy.

But whatever - we have picked the worst possible climate to be in the sh*te we are in.
We are going down the s bend and some very didfficult decisions need to be made again.

No Dr Edelstein this time.

Anybody got a few bucks and feel like owning a football club.

Last edited by a moderator:
Sunny Coast here we come, playing out of Suncorp till redevlopment on coast.

Central Coast dont want a transferred team they are the bears.

Sunshine Coast Sharks, no problem with sponsors, as QLD Govt, sponsor teams north of the border, and advantage thet anything happens get squashed

dannyboy

Sunny Coast here we come, playing out of Suncorp till redevlopment on coast.

Central Coast dont want a transferred team they are the bears.

Sunshine Coast Sharks, no problem with sponsors, as QLD Govt, sponsor teams north of the border, and advantage thet anything happens get squashed

Does Qld have the pokie tax woes of NSW? Bring it on - long live the Sharks

Surely

If we had to go I'd prefer the sunny coast, more positives than the CC, and if the lions are anything to go by you can have as many pokies in Qld as you like.

bluey

Grab the cash and set up on theCC as i believe the sharks should stay a nsw team.

The Central Coast is wedged between Newcastle and Manly and has limited growth potential. The Sunshine Coast is booming and offers greater potential with the added advantage of the more relaxed pokies laws. The Sunshine Coast Sharks has a certain ring to it as well.

And, I might be moving up there next year and it would be handy....

The Central Coast is wedged between Newcastle and Manly and has limited growth potential. The Sunshine Coast is booming and offers greater potential with the added advantage of the more relaxed pokies laws. The Sunshine Coast Sharks has a certain ring to it as well.

And, I might be moving up there next year and it would be handy....

Quad Park at Kawana is light years away from hosting one NRL game let alone hosting it's own team, don't get me wrong ES, for me the move to the Sunny Coast would be excellent for me... but admittedly pretty farked for Shire reso's.