Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sensational stuff Bulldogs.

No, I couldn't give a sh*t about them beating the Warriors without Kimmorley.

But fair dinkum, what a massively impressive effort to get over 40 000 people to a game against the Warriors yesterday.
Highest home and away crowd since 1974.

It doesn't matter how many they let in for free.
What matters is that they have proved that a very driven and motivated marketing campaign can work if done properly.
They would have sold a lot of merchandise yesterday, and may even have convinced another 1000 people to get season tickets next year. There would be so many benefits coming from yesterday.

It was a superb effort by the Bulldogs, and I take my hat off to them.

:clap::clap::clap:

They let any Football Club member in for nix yesterday. I wonder how many paying customers were there ?

In any event it was a fitting tribute to HEM and I hope that Hindy's send off in a few years time can at least match that.

Parra Guru

Yes and the function at the end where people were allowed to surround the stage for Hazem's farewell was extra special

Congrats to Hazem and the dogs on organising such a good day

Nikki

You gotta take your hat off to them. I would have loved to have gone out yesterday, but chose the Manly v Sharkies game to say goodbye to a mate instead. I havent seen any of the footage from the match, but I can only imagine there would have been some heart warming scenes. And yes, I hope we have the same for Hindy and I am praying they resurect the old testimonial dinner. I would love to attend that!

Yep good on them. With Osborne at our helm with an equally positive attitude I can see Parra doing things to ensure great crowds next season.

Jodeci

Hazem merchandise sold out prior to kick out

that alone would of been great revenue for the club as well and also ANZ pay the Dogs an amount of money for every home game.

Congrats to the club, Todd Greenberg is doing a sensational job

The great thing about a crowd of over 20,000 for the Dogs is that they then get Profit sharing with ANZ Stadium for the event. So yeah yesterday would have been a nice little earner. Same with us if we were to get over 20,000 at a Parramatta home game at ANZ.

I wonder if we would have the capacity for an event like that. I was sitting in the Gold members section looking around at the people and if we were to have such a send off for Hindy, would we be able to rig it to play the game at ANZ as one of our games that year?

The scope of having 40,000+ people vs a shandy over 20,000 is something to work with, but indeed requires the better promotions. Your team also has to be going well I guess. Even if Parramatta Stadium were to remove the Billboards and let people stand on the remnants of the Hill, no club game has ever gotten more that 27,000 at Parramatta Stadium, and that records was on the First Day.

Maybe we would have to expect a 20,000. But again the best part and they said it on the coverage was having it on a Sunday, people felt safe going to the game(Having said that I saw two sets of fans ejected from the Game).

Maybe Parramatta fans are too fickle, even Last weeks sell out had fans that obviously bought their tickets but didn't turn up to the Brett Kenny Terrace.

.-) Daneel

I went out to ANZ yesterday. It was a great day, and atmosphere.

Typically, a small portion of Bulldogs supporters did their best to ruin it for everyone. Several fights were broken up by Police and Security. Even when fans were allowed on the field, some fans had to be wrestled to the ground and led away by the Police!

Do these morons not give a stuff about anyone?

Well done Haz on a great career.

The great thing about a crowd of over 20,000 for the Dogs is that they then get Profit sharing with ANZ Stadium for the event. So yeah yesterday would have been a nice little earner. Same with us if we were to get over 20,000 at a Parramatta home game at ANZ.

I wonder if we would have the capacity for an event like that. I was sitting in the Gold members section looking around at the people and if we were to have such a send off for Hindy, would we be able to rig it to play the game at ANZ as one of our games that year?

The scope of having 40,000+ people vs a shandy over 20,000 is something to work with, but indeed requires the better promotions. Your team also has to be going well I guess. Even if Parramatta Stadium were to remove the Billboards and let people stand on the remnants of the Hill, no club game has ever gotten more that 27,000 at Parramatta Stadium, and that records was on the First Day.

First game - Parra vs St GEORGE - 26870
Club game ground record - Parra vs Souths - 27243

Parramatta had 8 crowds over 20 000 that season, although our largest crowd was at Brookvale in the last round, with 27655. They'd never let that many in these days.

Maybe Parramatta fans are too fickle, even Last weeks sell out had fans that obviously bought their tickets but didn't turn up to the Brett Kenny Terrace.

It was a whole empty Bay, so I have my doubts whether it was actually sold out.

EELRAM

Serious question. Is it a fact that these tickets were sold to only Parramatta fans ?

Or could it be a group of Panthers fans who purchased en masse and didn't show.

mickdo

If you give away half the tickets for free, why wouldn't we be able to?

TBH Mick there was a Bucket load of Blue and White there yesterday, and not that much else.

Either way if we gave away tickets for that, I am sure we could make it huge.

Serious question. Is it a fact that these tickets were sold to only Parramatta fans ?

Or could it be a group of Panthers fans who purchased en masse and didn't show.

No it is not a fact,

Maybe I should have said, fans attending a Parramatta Match.

mickdo

TBH Mick there was a Bucket load of Blue and White there yesterday, and not that much else.

Either way if we gave away tickets for that, I am sure we could make it huge.

HJ went, you went, plenty of other non-dogs went. I'm not saying it was 50-50, but for sure a significant proportion were in there for free.

Technically I was there for free. Although I had better seats than all of the free and most of the paid for people had :D

The Gold members was quite full actually, I think they shut down the Middle 2 aisles about 15 minutes before kick-off and there were more platinum members then I have ever seen at a Regular NRL game.

And there's nothing wrong with that for such an event.
Over 40 000 to a Sydney club game involving an out of town team.

If this isn't the best promotion since the League-a-thon in '78, I don't know what is.

Great work by the Doggies and Greenberg, who is a very good operator. A fitting fairwell for one of Leagues good guys.

I went out to ANZ yesterday. It was a great day, and atmosphere.

Typically, a small portion of Bulldogs supporters did their best to ruin it for everyone. Several fights were broken up by Police and Security. Even when fans were allowed on the field, some fans had to be wrestled to the ground and led away by the Police!

Do these morons not give a stuff about anyone?

Well done Haz on a great career.

See this is where the government should have a black van policy. People like this should be bundled into the black van and never seen again. This is the people's no dickhead policy for society.

mickdo

And there's nothing wrong with that for such an event.
Over 40 000 to a Sydney club game involving an out of town team.

If this isn't the best promotion since the League-a-thon in '78, I don't know what is.

Never said there was anything wrong with it. The question was whether we could garner the same turnout for Hindy, and I reckon we could easily if we gave away that many free tickets.