Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NYC players from this season

whidds

anyone know what is happening with all the NYC players too old for next year?
anyone staying with knights, anyone leaving?
cheers

roopy

Despite what all the usual suspects will say about our NYC team from last year, it was fairly obvious that the coaches concentrated on improving individuals rather than winning games early on, and by the end of the season our team was winning regularly and only loseing against the very top sides - and then not by much.

Many of the 20 year olds have a lot of potential - Garbutt, Stig, Wyborn, Fruean, Naiquama, Williams - all guys who would be worth another year if we can find a place for them - not that there will be more than 2 or 3 spots at most.

footy1

Despite what all the usual suspects will say about our NYC team from last year, it was fairly obvious that the coaches concentrated on improving individuals rather than winning games early on, and by the end of the season our team was winning regularly and only loseing against the very top sides - and then not by much.

Many of the 20 year olds have a lot of potential - Garbutt, Stig, Wyborn, Fruean, Naiquama, Williams - all guys who would be worth another year if we can find a place for them - not that there will be more than 2 or 3 spots at most.

Your top juniors IMO that the club should move into the fulltime squad are Peter Mata'utia, Simon Williams, Zane Tetavano and I really do think a bolter in Tyler Sullivan should move into fulltime next year. I've seen enough of him to suggest to me that in a couple years time he will be very handy to have so might as well start developing him now.

roopy

Your top juniors IMO that the club should move into the fulltime squad are Peter Mata'utia, Simon Williams, Zane Tetavano and I really do think a bolter in Tyler Sullivan should move into fulltime next year. I've seen enough of him to suggest to me that in a couple years time he will be very handy to have so might as well start developing him now.
Only Williams will be too old for NYC next season. Sullivan can line up in NYC for 3 more seasons.

stuke

doubtful that Stig will be around next year, not sure where he is headed yet though.

Me too, especially seeing as we have recently signed Adrian Davis, who has played 7 for the Bulldogs Toyota Cup for the past two years.

Knights junior coming home. Great player too.

mean_maori_mean

Me too, especially seeing as we have recently signed Adrian Davis, who has played 7 for the Bulldogs Toyota Cup for the past two years.

Knights junior coming home. Great player too.

7 games or number 7.

I reckon whislt Knights 20's havent gone that well. There is plenty of individual talent.
Tetevano, Aliomai and Mika and to a lesser extend ford & fruean - all polys who have a potential NRL future maybe with knights though.

Aliomai could be another moimoi/lima.

Mika if he trains hard over the offseason could add some x-factor to knights pack a bit of flair and agression.

7 games or number 7.

I reckon whislt Knights 20's havent gone that well. There is plenty of individual talent.
Tetevano, Aliomai and Mika and to a lesser extend ford & fruean - all polys who have a potential NRL future maybe with knights though.

Aliomai could be another moimoi/lima.

Mika if he trains hard over the offseason could add some x-factor to knights pack a bit of flair and agression.

Number 7.

Played nearly the whole 08 season, missed plenty of games this year to injury.

keeney

Is Davis a good player? I've been trying to ask this for months but never get a reply. Is he what we need? Far off FG? Capable of FG? etc.

roopy

Is Davis a good player? I've been trying to ask this for months but never get a reply. Is he what we need? Far off FG? Capable of FG? etc.
I've heard he's a firey little guy who gives away heaps of penalties.

This is true, he's got a temper on him (or did when he left anyway). But he's also got loads of talent and is as determined as any young fella I've ever come across.

He's not capable of FG yet, but he's sure as hell got it in him. If I had to compare him to any current first grader, I'd say he's a little like Sandow (looks like him too, interestingly!).

roopy

Any australian schoolboys or bolters coming thru flegg/ mathews that look the goods guys?
Tyler Sullivan - a 5/8 who was our youngest ever NYC player this year - classy player.

The entire Mata'utia clan, especially Pat, who goes from Mathews to Ball next season and could be better than Pete - certainly bigger and stronger at the same age.

Jermaine Wilson - giant prop who makes Ailoami look small.

Chad Redman - lock in Ball, possibly NYC next season.

Lots of others - Jeremy Maa, Matt Dunn, young Clydesdale, Slavin, hard to remember them all, but I think it's fair to say the new recruitment guy has brought together our best ever Mathews and Ball squads, and the first of them filter through to NYC next year.

roopy

Jermaine Wilson is off to the Storm.
Bloody Wilsons.
Oldest brother Wendel started to look good and went off to Cronulla - and failed.
Second brother Kruize started to look good and went off to the Storm - and failed.
Third brother Winston started to look good and went off to Union - and failed.
Forth brother Jermaine is too big for the modern game anyway - but he does cause havoc in the under 18s.

YADDA

anyone know what is happening with all the NYC players too old for next year?
anyone staying with knights, anyone leaving?
cheers

*Naiquama,Fruen,Mica - signed for 2010 (Full time squad) but realistically will slot back into Real NRL.
*Stig - Qld Cup (Nthn Pride)
*Wyborn (kurri),Lamb (west),Garbutt(west),Ford (Macq) -return to their junior clubs and play Real NRL
*Williams -gone to Kurri (Real NRL)
*McHatten - works up 'The Bay' but may have year off.
*Morseau - scouted by Real NRL but looking for Qld Cup