Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Blunt Barrett says Sharks are in danger of sinking

Blunt Barrett says Sharks are in danger of sinking GREG PRICHARD
March 1, 2010
Cronulla captain Trent Barrett didn't try to hide his frustration with his team's poor performance in its final trial before a first-round NRL showdown with Melbourne.

The veteran five-eighth played the first half against Wests Tigers at Gosford on Saturday night and watched the second half from the grandstand - and it didn't look good from either angle in the 36-12 loss.

''We dropped too much ball in the first half and we didn't control the ruck,'' Barrett said. ''[Tigers hooker] Robbie Farah cut us to pieces. It was a carbon copy of last year, when they towelled us up at Cronulla [56-10 in round 23]. I'm very disappointed with that. I know it's only a trial, but there's not many positives to take out of it, for us.

''A few players did some good things, but we're going to have to work really hard between now and the start of the competition. We're going to have to put our heads down and really rip in, because we play Melbourne, who are the premiers.

''There were bits and pieces in the second half that we could be happy with, but you can't lose control of the ruck like that. It was there for everyone to see.''

Earlier in the week, Barrett talked up Cronulla's chances of making the finals, after finishing 15th last season. He pointed to the forward pack and the potential of the young players as team strengths, and added the rise of the Bulldogs from wooden spooners in 2008 to second going into last year's finals proved it was possible.

But it was evident that even though Sharks coach Ricky Stuart trialled a lot of players against the Tigers and the team was without its inspirational lock Paul Gallen, they need a lot of improvement if they are to rise at all.

It remains to be seen who Stuart will pick as starting halfback for the first round, with Scott Porter and new signing Albert Kelly getting time against the Tigers. ''Albert did some good things,'' Barrett said. ''And then 'Ports' came on with his good kicking game. We've got some good young players coming through, and there's 'Gal' to come back for the first round, which will obviously give us a lift. But we need to control the footy - you can't turn over that much of it and hope to win.''

The Tigers were way too good for the Sharks despite being without chief playmaker Benji Marshall, who was rested because of an ankle injury but will be fit for the first-round game against Manly at the SFS on March 15. Marshall's absence gave rookie Robert Lui, who played four first-grade games towards the end of last season, the chance to shine, and he took it.

The club has been looking for the right halfback since Scott Prince left at the end of 2007, and Lui could be the answer. ''It was a good opportunity for Robert to take a bit more control, and I thought he was great,'' Farah said.

Sydney Roosters beat Parramatta 40-14 in the late game of the double-header at Gosford, with new Roosters recruit Todd Carney continuing to impress in his switch to fullback.

''I'm pleased with the way things are going,'' Carney said. ''But I'm the harshest judge of my own game, so I'm looking at the negatives I need to work on. If I fix the negatives, hopefully the positives will keep coming.''

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...s-are-in-danger-of-sinking-20100228-pb62.html

I came away from the trial thinking what have they been working on in the off season?

Seriously it was terrible.

Albert Kelly is probably a season or two from being a First Grader.
He has very little instincts for playing in the halves and needs to work on his defence. His passing is very sloppy and care free I might add. Fullback would be the only position I would give him a go at if Stapleton gets injured.

Pom and cov were terrible again.
Covell has got even slower and Pom has got nothing.
He couldn't punch his way out of a wet paper bag.

Tautai and Gordon looked good out wide and if Ricky is fair dinkum they should get a crack at first grade sooner rather than later.

Ferguson was our main spark out wide and made one long break but failed to set up his support properly for a certain try. He was trying to go himself and when he realised he couldn't he pushed out a difficult ball for his support to catch and he duly fumbled it. He may have to defend on the wing though if he plays centre as his defence is a big worry.

Actually a lack of team work in everything we did was very noticeable. Out of the four sides out there that night we were the less cohesive and had the worst support play.

Ruck defence was woeful and Farah had a field day.

Handling was school boy like.

Yes it doesn't make for good reading but I'm telling as it is.

Very little positives.

Areas of Sharks supporters in the stands were like they were attending a funeral.

This Tigers side was minus Marshall, Tuiaki and Tuquiri.

For those who say it is only a trial well good luck to you.

But I can tell you the body language wasn't good amonst the players.
Their not stupid they know we are going to struggle with the squad we've got let alone when injuries come around.

It's up to you Ricky.

Pick the same team as last year and get the same results as last year or punt on some new blood to freshen things up and give us some optimism of change.

I am very concerned.
Will wait to see the first team that does get named.
If I see John Morris in 7, I will cancel my foxtel.
If I see Pommeroy playing left centre, I will lose all faith in the coach.

But I live in hope these things won't happen.
I do think we have a formidable pack, hopefully Melbourne will be jet lagged.

I'm a bit worried but not from the trial result. I'd hate the footy season to be over early for us Sharks fans.

DJShaksta

I am very concerned.
Will wait to see the first team that does get named.
If I see John Morris in 7, I will cancel my foxtel.
If I see Pommeroy playing left centre, I will lose all faith in the coach.

He couldn't do it Anrgy, could he??? Morris has been a distaster at 7 for the Magpies, and the ONLY way Pomm should play is if he suddenly gets a 3rd party endorsement from Tarzans grip!

Ricky Stuart is the reason. Worst most overrated coach since Michael Hagan.

That and a lack of money and quality juniors.

And as much as some people here despised noddy.

I tell ya we are missing his directing of play.

We are an unorganised rabble since he left.

azzah72

Everyone knows this about Ricky bar the few on here.

When he was doing well it was Gould in the Backround, as soon as they had a falling out, Boom he's a DUD! Has been since the day he got here.

We need a coach who can coach attacking football and team cohesion, Stick barely coaches one and basically doesn't coach the other! Well he probably coaches both but very poorly.

That and a lack of money and quality juniors.

And as much as some people here despised noddy.

I tell ya we are missing his directing of play.

We are an unorganised rabble since he left.

Agree. My younger brother played A grade in the Parra, Canterbury and Cronulla comps and rated the Cronulla one the worst.

fizman

I understand the concern, especially for those who have been to the trials. I wouldn't judge until we are half way through the season.

However, this is the first year that Ricky has only had to worry about the NRL team. In years previous he has been involved with the club operations ie sponsorship negotiations and of course had a big role to play in the junior development structure.

Regardless of finances, I believe that the squad we have assembled could certainly push towards a top 8 spot, especially when you compare our squad to others.

I think that some of you guys will be very disappointed with the team selections. I can't see anything other than the usual suspects being selected. I think selections will be circa 2009.

cityshark

I see it ths way.
If we go with our youth we will lose by heaps and have to put up with it for the season , =easybeats. But in 2011 we bloom.
If we go with POM , Moz, Cov we lose by an acceptable amount and get nowhere.
Personaly I would play Kelly for a half every game and give Baz and SFP a rest ( there will be injuries as well) play Staplo, Fergo, Flano,Gardo , Gordo, Vavae,Wrighto 1, Wrighto 2 and TT. I would rather lose every game than see Pomm play in2010. Can he wear golves? Not those satin elbow ones!

I reckon pomm will have a good year in the centres.
I dont expect our squad to do anything of note until the 2nd half of the season. In fact I ill be suprised if we win more than a couple until then.

Bulldogs_4_Life

Just wanted to ask you Shark die-hards.. Why did you "hate" Kimmorley as some have stated? I think he's playing better footy here now than he ever has, BUT, he was fantastic for you guys. And he's such a good bloke, too.

Why the hate for Kimmorley when he was with you? Especially from Stuart.

DJDL

Just wanted to ask you Shark die-hards.. Why did you "hate" Kimmorley as some have stated? I think he's playing better footy here now than he ever has, BUT, he was fantastic for you guys. And he's such a good bloke, too.

Why the hate for Kimmorley when he was with you? Especially from Stuart.

Because Noddy "forced" Preston out of the club