Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dugan No Fan Of Furners

Dugan is no fan of Furners
  • By Phil Rothfield and Rebecca Wilson

THE rumours will not go away that the NRL's most exciting young player - Raiders fullback Josh Dugan - has already agreed to play for the Sydney Roosters from 2012 after falling out with Canberra's coach and chief executive.
Dugan recently knocked back an offer from Canberra to extend his contract beyond the end of next season because he doesn't get on with CEO Don Furner or his brother - coach David Furner.
The Canberra fullback is a confident and brash young man, even telling them to their faces that he doesn't like them.
"He just walked up and told them how he felt - straight to their faces," a Raiders source told us.
Dugan is reasonably settled these days, but he had a tough upbringing in Canberra and has made it clear he wants to leave when his current deal expires.
Under NRL rules, it is illegal for the Roosters or any of the Raiders' rivals to have any contract negotiations with Dugan before November.
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/#sidebar-start

But it hasn't stopped speculation that he is almost certain to finish up playing alongside another former Raider, Todd Carney, at the Roosters.
Carney has told Dugan how much he enjoys living in Sydney and playing at the Roosters.
Maybe Dugan would have stayed if he had a better relationship with the Canberra management.
The Raiders have always had leaders with great people skills and close relationships with the players, from veteran administrator John McIntyre to Kevin Neil, the two men who assembled some of the great Green Machine teams

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/dugans-no-furner-fan/story-e6frexnr-1225867197170

legend

Does this really come as a surprise to anyone?

The Furners have run this club into the ground in quick time. We are a joke!

DaSuperHero2

"Moderator"
look at the people who wrote the article
look at lack of any direct quotes
look who the papers from

not to be too worried guys

Raiderman

So you lot thought this footballing 'free thinking', natural, very young player was going to cop the autocratic crap of Don Furner - a dinosaur of League - or the idiot-style coaching of his young brother David Furner?

Let David Furner go! Buy a decent coach.

Heyyy! You lot! Listen up! Got your eyes wide open and ears receptive have you?

OK! Tell me why we lost Matt Elliott and Neil Henry?

'Cos those senior coaches could not tolerate Don Furner's patronising attitude and interference in their coaching methods!

To be honest, I've never heard of anything like this against the Furners. Has any other current/former player said anything against them?

Talanexor

So you lot thought this footballing 'free thinking', natural, very young player was going to cop the autocratic crap of Don Furner - a dinosaur of League - or the idiot-style coaching of his young brother David Furner?

Let David Furner go! Buy a decent coach.

Heyyy! You lot! Listen up! Got your eyes wide open and ears receptive have you?

OK! Tell me why we lost Matt Elliott and Neil Henry?

'Cos those senior coaches could not tolerate Don Furner's patronising attitude and interference in their coaching methods!

To be fair, it's not like any of these coaches have won a premiership since they left. And Henry has to be the most coach most likely to be sacked after Ricky Stuart. We have 8 current or former rep players plus another 2-3 who are rep-quality. And we still can't win a f*cking game, not even close.

Raiderman

Sure - but the key point is they both walked out on The Raiders and were scooped up by NRL clubs - one went on to coach rep sides and the other has built a powerful team (with full management commitment/support) and after a few crook seasons where he mostly rid himself of rubbish is sitting in fourth place this year and looking at a top four finish!

Dazraider

not surprised he doesnt like them, look what players they put in the team that are very woeful. they dont hunt for a halfback and hooker and having a player like Dugan just doesnt fit into our side as he is too good for the rest of teh backs

mongoose

To be honest, I've never heard of anything like this against the Furners. Has any other current/former player said anything against them?

No, no one has ever said anything against the Furner's. Rothfield has always hated the raiders and i'm petty sure Bec wilson is a roosters fan. Rubbish article.

this dugan guy sounds like a complete bogan tool

I'm starting to think along the same lines, as much as I love seeing the kid play for us.....

This whole thing has become a media circus and shows zero respect for his team mates.

Ray Hadley ripped him a new arsehole on 2gb earlier, lol.

Timbo

this dugan guy sounds like a complete bogan tool

I'm starting to think that way too.

Bloke has a MASSIVE ego and sounds to be a bit of a wanker if any of this is true.

If he does walk away, I'd have no qualms with pissing him off to Souths Logan till the end of his contract and giving Milne the #1.

aussies1st

Well at least Milne wants to be here, if he can fix his bomb catching he'll be a more than capable replacement. Hodge looked good when I saw him last season, a bit more size to him and he too will be a capable replacement.

2150_souLJA

If Canberra knew what was good for them, they would get rid of the Furners.

under Furners, you guys havent been relevant for more than a decade so whats so special about them. Dugan is this once in a generation talent and you should do everything you can to keep him.