Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Qlds 18th man....

Iafeta

I actually thought they already did that. The problem is though is the 'residency' clause that can be exploited, so you make your initial selection but you get chances basically to overturn it. As I say, my problem is not just Te'o he's just an extraordinary example of the concept of Origin gone wrong, it's just as much Inglis, Brent Webb, Nathan Fien etc. Yes, I'm a bit of a fossil in that I am old school and that representative honours would be fairly straight forward, and it doesn't become a choice like selecting a card or credit card provider.

Nightward, your comments about Inglis supporting Queensland are frankly, laughable. I grew up in New Zealand, moved to NSW when I was 20, and have been to Queensland maybe 3 times for holidays but I always supported Queensland previously in Origin. If I was a gun league player, would you approve me to choose Queensland on that background? Also, as far as him being an avid supporter, isn't that disputed anyway? Wasn't it a bit of a shock to his family that he was a supporter of Queensland, since they're all from NSW and pretty much supported NSW, and they thought so did Greg?

Greenbits

And how is that different to what NSW was doing year in, year out by deploying teams packed with Queenslanders?

Thats the point :roll:. Those games were played pre-Origin when a player represented the state the resided in. Origin was bough in to change to the rules to the state you grew up in, at the request of QLD I might add. And since that time, QLD have continued to rort the rules which where introduced to help them out.

But then QLDers have always had a tendency to bending the rules. Its not suprising that a club founded by QLDers, whose players are predominantly QLDers was involved in the biggest salary cap rort of all time.

Greg Inglis must be the biggest dead set genius if he genuinely believed he was a QLDer.

BDH

Queensland has a long and illustrious history of bending the selection eligibility rules. Quite ironic really when the whole State Of Origin concept was created to help them.
There is only 1 actual "rort" in Origin history (GI). The sooner you, Greenbits, Iafeta and the rest of the whinging sack of turds on this forum get it through your thick, neanderthal skulls, the better the FACTUAL information on this forum will be.

I acknowledge that the SOO eligibility is not strictly about where you were born

"Strictly where you were born"? It's never been touted/advertised/sold as, where you were born.
and NSW have chosen non-NSW born players in the past - but when NSW has done so a player grew up and was raised in NSW from a young age and played their first football in NSW and are therefore genuine NSWelshmen.

Excellent point, read further, we will use the same rule of thumb.

The same can't always be said for Queensland. How's this for an illustrious list? The ones in bold are dead-set rort selections. The ones not bolded just happened to be born elsewhere and are genuine Queenslanders. But it's really starting to turn into a farce now.

You are an idiot and a bigot. this has been done in another thread but once again I will defend the immigrants.

My question to Bluebags (and the other various whinging NSW), is when it comes to a person, who was born overseas, claiming they are Australian;

Who the f**k are YOU to say they are not?

Karmichael Hunt (NZ)- Moved here when he was 11, played junior RL here from under 12's onwards...how is this not "raised in QLD"??
Brad Thorn (NZ)- Moved here when he was 8, played ALL junior Rugby & RL here....how is this not "raised in QLD"??
Tonie Carroll (NZ)-
Moved here when he was 6, played ALL junior Rugby League here....how is this not "raised in QLD"??
Adrian Lam (PNG)- Moved to QLD at age of 7
Neville Costigan (PNG)- Moved to QLD at age of 4

FFS, Have you got kids mate? If you moved interstate/ emigrated, how would you like your children being told they are NOT from their new country of residence??

You guys don't all head down to Cronulla once a year, and have Southern Cross tattoos and stickers all over yourselves and your utes do you??

BDH

When you lot stop bending the rules to suite your evil means and start playing the game in the spirit it was intended, we'll stop complaining.

It's funny how until GI exploded onto the scene, nobody from the Sydney-centric, ARL chook-raffling, Old Boys Club realised who he was or where he came from.

Maybe Origin should be a tri-series? QLD vs Sydney vs Country NSW. I mean, it seems the NSW Old Boys clubs don't know any kids south of the Gong, north of Newcastle and west of the Blue Mountains.

Greenbits

There is only 1 actual "rort" in Origin history (GI). The sooner you, Greenbits, Iafeta and the rest of the whinging sack of turds on this forum get it through your thick, neanderthal skulls, the better the FACTUAL information on this forum will be.

I'd thank you to leave me out of that. If you go through this thread you will find the only ones I have a problem with are GI, Carroll and now Te'o. Since, then people have clarified that Carroll played for Aus prior to NZ, in which case fair enough, I've got no problem.

Te'o playing for QLD is essentially the same as Benji running out for the Maroons. It is a farce. If you took off your Maroon coloured glasses and looked at it from a fair-minded perspective, you would see it opens up a can of worms that goes against the spirit of Origin. I'm suprised you guys can't see that, given you have the patent on spirit and all.

BDH

I'd thank you to leave me out of that. If you go through this thread you will find the only ones I have a problem with are GI, Carroll and now Te'o. Since, then people have clarified that Carroll played for Aus prior to NZ, in which case fair enough, I've got no problem.

Te'o playing for QLD is essentially the same as Benji running out for the Maroons. It is a farce. If you took off your Maroon coloured glasses and looked at it from a fair-minded perspective, you would see it opens up a can of worms that goes against the spirit of Origin. I'm suprised you guys can't see that, given you have the patent on spirit and all.

Fair enough if you only have a problem with GI and Te'O. I said the same thing in the "QLD's 18th man" thread.

GI; no doubt he was a mistake. I don't know what happened and in fact, there is only about 3 people who would really know what happened.

Te'O; I have no idea why he wouldn't want to play for NZ either. I'm mystified by his decision and more so I'm upset for the international game. NZ have really started to come together as a dominant force in the last few years and the NZRL needs to get a "FOGS" type organisation started to mentor young kiwis.

There's thousands of them kicking in Australian junior Leagues, not to mention junior Union clubs in NZ, if the NZRL got ex-players together and started a culture through development camps (like QLD) for U16, U18 and Open's Bartercard Premiership/TYC/NRL Kiwi eligibles.

The big problem is of course; money. It would be great if the NRL could subsidise this somehow.

Greenbits

Fair enough if you only have a problem with GI and Te'O. I said the same thing in the "QLD's 18th man" thread.

GI; no doubt he was a mistake. I don't know what happened and in fact, there is only about 3 people who would really know what happened.

Te'O; I have no idea why he wouldn't want to play for NZ either. I'm mystified by his decision and more so I'm upset for the international game. NZ have really started to come together as a dominant force in the last few years and the NZRL needs to get a "FOGS" type organisation started to mentor young kiwis.

There's thousands of them kicking in Australian junior Leagues, not to mention junior Union clubs in NZ, if the NZRL got ex-players together and started a culture through development camps (like QLD) for U16, U18 and Open's Bartercard Premiership/TYC/NRL Kiwi eligibles.

The big problem is of course; money. It would be great if the NRL could subsidise this somehow.

Amicable truce my worthy opponent? Until next time :p

Nightward

Nightward, your comments about Inglis supporting Queensland are frankly, laughable. I grew up in New Zealand, moved to NSW when I was 20, and have been to Queensland maybe 3 times for holidays but I always supported Queensland previously in Origin. If I was a gun league player, would you approve me to choose Queensland on that background? Also, as far as him being an avid supporter, isn't that disputed anyway? Wasn't it a bit of a shock to his family that he was a supporter of Queensland, since they're all from NSW and pretty much supported NSW, and they thought so did Greg?

No. but then, that's not what happened in Inglis' case, either.

Good idea. Side effect of increasing players declaring themselves available for minnow nations I expect.

Maybe, maybe not. I don't mean to apply it to everyone outside Australia, just those who are here. The risk it does run is that since Origin duty is seen as such a prize, the carrot/stick approach of "declare now, or miss out forever" could well have the opposite effect.

Either way, no system is or can be perfect. Some are more or less perfect than others, however.

Frank_Grimes

You will notice that you could only come up with 4 non-NSW born players. I came up with 16 in an instant. Actually, I thought of another one - I'll add Antonio Kaufusi (Tonga) to the list, and is another bolded rort selection.

And of the 4 non-NSW born NSW players you mention above, only McManus is a rort selection. All the rest moved to NSW when very young and grew up and played their first football in NSW.

Karmichael Hunt (NZ)
Brad Thorn (NZ)
Ben Te'o (NZ)
Tonie Carroll (NZ)
Petero Civonieciva (Fiji)
Sam Thaiday (NSW)
Greg Inglis (NSW)
Michael Croker (NSW)
Adrian Lam (PNG)
Neville Costigan (PNG)
Graeme Lowe (former coach - NZ)
Billy Moore (born & raised in Tenterfield, NSW)
Willie Tonga (ACT)
Israel Folau (NSW)
Wayne Bartrim (NSW)
Matt Rogers (NSW)
Antonio Kaufusi (Tonga)

And this list is just off the top of my head...

1. Karmichael Hunt moved to QLD when he was 11.
2. Timana Tahu moved to NSW when he was 12.

Your point is idiotic.