Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Daniel Mortimer's sympathy for Melbourne Storm stops when whistle blows

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...en-whistle-blows/story-e6frg7mf-1225873734732

Daniel Mortimer's sympathy for Melbourne Storm stops when whistle blows

* Brent Read
* June 01, 2010 12:00AM

GRAND final rematches are normally acrimonious affairs but Parramatta half Daniel Mortimer has gone the other way in the lead-up to Friday night's game against Melbourne, speaking of his empathy and pride for the Storm players in the wake of the salary cap scandal.

Mortimer, who trialled with Melbourne when he was a teenager, also claimed the Storm deserved to keep the players who carried them to last year's title.

"The thing about the Storm is it's not like they went out and bought all these great players," Mortimer said.

"All these players came through the system. I believe they deserve to keep the players they brought through. It is tough. I really feel for the players.

"They have shown what rugby league is all about the last few weeks - it's not about the money, they're not playing for points, just for pride. That's what rugby league is all about."

Asked whether he believed his teammates felt the same way, Mortimer said: "I believe a lot of the players would feel sorry for the Melbourne Storm players.

"I think they have been subject to a bit of unfair treatment. But what can you do? You can't only punish the board. It's hard but I really do feel for the players.

"As a young kid I went down there for a few camps trialling for the Storm. It's easy to see they're a really close family down there."

While Mortimer was happy to speak about his empathy for the Storm, that doesn't mean he won't be busting a gut to beat them at Parramatta Stadium on Friday.

The Storm may be out of premiership contention but the Eels haven't given up hope of going one better than last year.

Their form this year has been inconsistent yet Mortimer can imagine no better way to kick-start their season than by beating the Storm. Coincidentally, the club's seven-game winning streak last season began with a win over Melbourne at Parramatta Stadium.

"It will be a big one - grand final rematch, first one is always big," he said. "We haven't been too great at home this season. It's a big one for us. Grand final day was a lot different. We had different players but it was more just the adrenalin and coming off such an amazing run.

"This is kind of the opposite - we're coming off two disappointing losses and we really have to bounce back. We're not far off it.

"It was the Storm game last year that started our winning streak. Fingers crossed that might happen again. A side like the Storm will really test us and let us know where we are.

"If we can get up, that will keep us in the eight."

As for the Eels fans, Mortimer expects them to take no prisoners. Melbourne players have been ridiculed in recent weeks by opposition supporters.

"I can't speak for the fans," Mortimer said. "They could cop a little bit but at the end of the day it's another team's home ground."

spartan2153

Mortimer shut the f**k up & play footy. You have played like sh*t all year & youo are the first to want your name in the papers.

If you want to be a journo or tv star then go get a career in that because at the moment you are not playing like a footy player. Just be thankful your still playing first grade with the rubbish you have dished out to us supporters this year

Mortimer shut the f**k up & play footy. You have played like sh*t all year & youo are the first to want your name in the papers.

If you want to be a journo or tv star then go get a career in that because at the moment you are not playing like a footy player. Just be thankful your still playing first grade with the rubbish you have dished out to us supporters this year

what f**ken stupid thing to say, how do you come to the conclusion that he wants his name in the papers, do you think he rang the journo to organise the story??

honestly, to throw a tanty in a forum about a player at your club because he simply answered a question that was asked of him from a journo is pretty moronic...

I don't particularly know nor do I care why he's persistantly our spokes person at the club, but if you have a major issue ring Paul Osborne or Liz Anderson tomorrow to vent your frustrations, they're the ones who probably nominate Morts to be our spokes person..

just on the story, I think it was an epic fail from the journo who obviously wanted a juicy story about a players anguish about being cheated of a premiership ring..lol

another nothing story.

spartan2153

what f**ken stupid thing to say, how do you come to the conclusion that he wants his name in the papers, do you think he rang the journo to organise the story??

honestly, to throw a tanty in a forum about a player at your club because he simply answered a question that was asked of him from a journo is pretty moronic...

I don't particularly know nor do I care why he's persistantly our spokes person at the club, but if you have a major issue ring Paul Osborne or Liz Anderson tomorrow to vent your frustrations, they're the ones who probably nominate Morts to be our spokes person..

stagger no offence because you are on the money with nearly everything you say. But lets be honest. For a guy who is struggling & is lucky to be playing first grade at the moment. YOu have to admit. A simple no comment or i need to concentrate on my football would be fine.

My problem is i dont care how many times they ring him. He should realise himself the more he talks the pressure he puts himself under. He is has a opinion on everything. Just shut your trap say no comment & concentrate on football.

stagger no offence because you are on the money with nearly everything you say. But lets be honest. For a guy who is struggling & is lucky to be playing first grade at the moment. YOu have to admit. A simple no comment or i need to concentrate on my football would be fine.

My problem is i dont care how many times they ring him. He should realise himself the more he talks the pressure he puts himself under. He is has a opinion on everything. Just shut your trap say no comment & concentrate on football.

well have you thought that maybe he's probably obliged and under instructions from Ossie and Liz to talk to them??...you can't just say, thanks but no thanks, don't want to talk..and then get in the sh*t by the club for refusing to talk to them simply because his form is down...

honestly, if you think it's a major issue ring the club tomorrow and let us know how you get on..

spartan2153

Stagger can you private message me contact details for them. I can only email as i wont be abloe to call the office.

Much appreciated if you do

Stagger can you private message me contact details for them. I can only email as i wont be abloe to call the office.

Much appreciated if you do

THE PIRTEK PARRAMATTA EELS
Parramatta National Rugby League Club (PNRL)
Parramatta District Rugby League Club (PDRL)
Street Address: 2 Grose Street, Parramatta NSW 2150
Postal Address: PO Box 2666, North Parramatta
NSW 1750
Ph: +612 8843 0300
Fax: +612 8843 0318
Web: www.parraeels.com.au
Email: [email protected]
Membership Ph No: 1300 BLUE GOLD

Forty20

Be sure to give them a few sympathetic elbows and to work over their faces in the ruck with a bit of empathy then.

If we worry about these cheats instead of ourselves then we have already lost the game.

They don't deserve our respect and they sure as hell don't need our shoulders to cry on.

Given what 2009 means and what it should/could have been for the boys they should be coming out on Friday ready to give those f**king mexicans some fire and brimstone.

I haven't been this fired up for a game since the GF last year and sparking back into form and toweling these merkins would be awesome.

But I digress, if I keep typing in this post I will be dropping more f-bombs than JT did against manly. :D

Maroubra Eel

What about the email from Ozzy asking everyone to be well behaved towards the Storm on Friday. It's just code for us to give the Storm heaps.

Parra Guru

I don't feel like I should have to email the club, but I also find it annoying that Mortimer is a constant go to man for comment.

He needs to zip it and start playing some good footy.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
just on the story, I think it was an epic fail from the journo who obviously wanted a juicy story about a players anguish about being cheated of a premiership ring..lol

another nothing story.
I thought the same thing!! Sucks to be the Journo who thought he was going to get a fire up bitch story to play on all week. (Thanks for giving them what they wanted Pricey)

Im tired of people feeling sorry for Melbourne. Im not, and never will be.
I feel sorry for the players and fans. I am, and always will be.

That's it, matey - fire up! :D

And go Morts! I think he'll have a blinder on Friday, just quietly.

eel4life

Morts word of advice kid, on what you said by this quote

"They have shown what rugby league is all about the last few weeks - it's not about the money, they're not playing for points, just for pride. That's what rugby league is all about."

if this is the case then have a real good look at how you are going at the moment ... you want to be our number 7 work even harder at getting up to scratch on your kicking game, running game passing game and your combination with KK ...

It's about pride on your own performance ...

The game is all about money now, that is why the AFL is paying massive money to isreal and kmh to promote their game ...

I do not feel sorry for the storm, they have been rorting it for ages, i do not feel sorry for their players because if i won knowing it was based on a rort then i would feel like a cheat, but hey that's me, my life is not driven by the dollar if there was no cap then no problem but there is a cap melbourne are the best at cheating ...

They are going to have heaps of security and extra police because the crowd is going to be giving it to the storm, what are we going to be happy knowing that the only reason why they have been such " GREAT TEAM " is only because they were rorting it ...

If our players turn up and play like last week then you know what, they do not have pride in this jersey, for this club, for us the fans this game is massive because it will show if they do care and aslo keep us in the 8 ...

At the moment i think it will be ok, early days but losing to crap teams and not troubling the good ones shows about what pride really is ...

enough talking show it through performance ...

Morts word of advice kid, on what you said by this quote

if this is the case then have a real good look at how you are going at the moment ... you want to be our number 7 work even harder at getting up to scratch on your kicking game, running game passing game and your combination with KK ...

It's about pride on your own performance ...

The game is all about money now, that is why the AFL is paying massive money to isreal and kmh to promote their game ...

I do not feel sorry for the storm, they have been rorting it for ages, i do not feel sorry for their players because if i won knowing it was based on a rort then i would feel like a cheat, but hey that's me, my life is not driven by the dollar if there was no cap then no problem but there is a cap melbourne are the best at cheating ...

They are going to have heaps of security and extra police because the crowd is going to be giving it to the storm, what are we going to be happy knowing that the only reason why they have been such " GREAT TEAM " is only because they were rorting it ...

If our players turn up and play like last week then you know what, they do not have pride in this jersey, for this club, for us the fans this game is massive because it will show if they do care and aslo keep us in the 8 ...

At the moment i think it will be ok, early days but losing to crap teams and not troubling the good ones shows about what pride really is ...

enough talking show it through performance ...

Great post!!

fish eel

I've seen more 'pride' and enthusiasm from a melbourne storm side playing for no points than I have from our mob

Parra Guru

I've seen more 'pride' and enthusiasm from a melbourne storm side playing for no points than I have from our mob

That's exactly what I thought.

Wow aren't Melbourne playing well for a side with not much to play for.... Well shouldn't that be a wake up call for the Eels??