Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gould on the Roast

some11

An allegation (also called adduction) is a claim of a fact by a party in a pleading, which the party claims to be able to prove. Allegations remain assertions without proof, until they can be proved.

Nissen had no proof. The only money Talbot gave out was $1m over 10 years to Bennet for his kids.

stormbati

Inglis was signed by the Storm when playing footy in Newcastle, and continued to play for Hunter Sports High and Wests Rosellas (in the Newcastle local comp) until he fell in with the wrong sort of people and the Storm moved him to Brisbane, and linked him up with their feeder club at the time, Norths.

I think I read in an article about Slater a week or two ago that he drove down to Brisbane (from Innisfail) to trial for Norths...and then the rest is history. There may be a little more to this story, but I think it was fortunate for the Storm that Slater showed his potential in the coming years right under their noses.

Edit: I just hit up the wiki page for Slater and I think I was reading it :p and that part in particular is unsourced so it potentially could be a load of rubbish.

Not sure about Cronk and Smith, though I know Smith is from Logan.

The bit on Slater is true. I remember watching an interview where he was talking about it. Amazing how he could go unnoticed! IIRC the only other coach who saw his potential was Nathan Brown (reportedly)

DeeJ

The bit on Slater is true. I remember watching an interview where he was talking about it. Amazing how he could go unnoticed! IIRC the only other coach who saw his potential was Nathan Brown (reportedly)

Billy came down to try out as a half, but he was told he was too small.

Although some of the passes I've seen him throw I would understand if there was another reason he was rejected as a half.

Told he was too small, from a team that had Langer as their halfback for over a decade.

lol.

Smiley

I know that Cam held out signing up for the Storm/Norths because he was hoping that the Broncos would offer a contract but they had no interest in him.

The Business

Did anyone else catch Goulds comments about the Bronco's on the roast this morning ?\

He basically asked how many titles they had won. WHen he was told 6 or 7 he then asked for how many of those titles do you think they were under the salary cap. When nobody said much he then went onto say how the storm not being able to score points this year is a joke.

Does Phil have any evidence of this ? It seems like a pretty big accusation to make on national tv if he has no evidence
Anybody that thinks they weren't under the Cap would also believe in Santa Claus.

Serc

Interesting stuff, thanks for the input guys. And yes I think you guys could do with a hooker at the moment skeepe, just not for this weekend :p

BDH

Sometimes I wish Smith had done the right thing and gone to Souths Logan's parent club. But it passes.

He has never had any link to the Magpies at all. He was a player for the GREAT Logan Brothers JRL and went straight to Norths in QRL.

Nobody of talent gets picked up by Souths Logan :lol:

badav

Anybody that thinks they weren't under the Cap would also believe in Santa Claus.

I tend to believe Brian Waldron when he says every club engages in it to a degree, apart from Canberra and Cronulla because they just can't afford it.

I don't think most fans would want to know their inner workings of their club. I do reckon you'd have to be a fool to believe the Storm and Bulldogs are the only teams to do it this decade, but i also think your a fool if you think the Broncos are the only other team who has as well.

Never the less, until there's proof its nothing but a baseless accusation.

Ulysseus

The Roosters 2000 to 2004 is an interesting one.
Yes, they made 4 grand finals in 5 years, BUT they then had 2005, 2006, 2007 where they were an absolute joke, so you'd have to say it evend itself out.

As for Brisbane, if it happened in the early 90's its too long ago to be relevant, if it happened in the super league war then show me one club that could afford to that wasn't doing it and if it happened within this decade then prove it and punish them.
If it can't be proven, very little point in stewing over it.

cornerposter

It does make you wonder. Surely the lure of staying in SEQ and playing under Uncle Wayne wasn't enough motivation to keep ALL those players together...
It is when alternatives are sh*tholes like Newcastle
I thought it was more interesting when MG was making a point about how the game is treating Victorian fans like leppers due to not showing games until after midnight, Vossy steps in and promptly changes the subject with an "anyway..."

Guess some subjects are taboo on channel 9
Noticed that as well. Betcha MG got a slap on the wrist during the ad break.
if a club can earn $20mill+ it is ridiculous to restrict their spending to $5mill because some clubs struggle to make 10. Talk about dragging your game down to the lowest denominator!
+1000

Frank,

So because another side did it, that makes it ok to cheat ?

Badav,
Would a chairman of your club giving evidence under oath suffice ? Or was he lying during a criminal investigation to take a pot shot at the Broncos :roll:

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au...1-2722,00.html

Brent Read | July 09, 2009
Article from: The Australian

Ex-Broncos chairman Don Nissen told The Australian he had no plans to speak to NRL salary-cap auditor Ian Schubert, who will fly to Brisbane next week to continue his inquiry into allegations players were paid under the table by Talbot.

Talbot was a long-time member of the Thoroughbreds, a group of wealthy businessman who provided support and advice to Brisbane players.

Nissen made the revelations while giving testimony in a Brisbane court earlier this week in the trial of former Beattie government minister Gordon Nuttall. Without evidence from Nissen or Talbot, Schubert could struggle to piece together his investigation.

"I have nothing to say to anyone," Nissen told The Australian last night.

"I'm not even in Brisbane at the moment. I'm away on holidays. I have nothing to say.

"I just answered questions put to me by the prosecutor. I answered them under oath."

Pressed on whether he would speak to Schubert, Nissen said: "I'm not saying anything to anybody."

Nissen gave evidence that Talbot had given money to Brisbane players which was not expected to be repaid. He said in return for the payments, the players visited Talbot's hotels socially and on a formal basis.

Former Queensland and Australian prop Shane Webcke also visited one of Talbot's mines in 2002 and became a member of the advisory board to Talbot's Hotel Group post-retirement.

How short some peoples memories are. Gus is right Brisbane were cheating the cap and everyone knows it (dxcept the Drongo faithful who are in denial)

As if Shooey was going to find anything.

As if he wasn't :sarcasm:

159.jpg

LoganRL1988

I dont understand how because Talbot handed money to players it make the broncos cheats. Talbot had no roll within the broncos, wasn;t a sponsor and wasn't involved with the NRL. All he was is a Rich man who supports the broncos. It might not be right or fair to other clubs but that doesn't become the broncos problems. the fact the broncos players or partners worked for his companys doesn't come in to it. Its no different to you have a job and working partime for some one else.

meltiger

^ I agree.

Unless the arangements were facilitated by someone in an official capacity within the club, where is the issue?

Brisbane may well have known about it and kept the group at enough arms length to ensure they weren't involved, but it's largely not their issue what private businessmen choose to do.

Coaster

I dont understand how because Talbot handed money to players it make the broncos cheats. Talbot had no roll within the broncos, wasn;t a sponsor and wasn't involved with the NRL. All he was is a Rich man who supports the broncos. It might not be right or fair to other clubs but that doesn't become the broncos problems. the fact the broncos players or partners worked for his companys doesn't come in to it. Its no different to you have a job and working partime for some one else.

err what? Thats the whole issue, part of Storms cap scandal was Smith working for Fox, any monies that are received directly or indirectly are under scrutiny.

If someone says here is $100K, but leave it with me and ill turn it into $300K then that is still rorting the cap

Joker's Wild

When he is part of an organisation like the Throughbreds who have very clear and defined links to the club, him paying any current players money certainly comes into question.

Stop kidding yourself champ