Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cronulla chairman's future in the balance

BrisVegas

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ans-future-in-the-balance-20100727-10udr.html

Cronulla chairman's future in the balance

BRAD WALTER AND KATE MCCLYMONT

July 28, 2010

AFTER overseeing the departure of chief executive Richard Fisk, the resignation of coach Ricky Stuart and the retirement of captain Trent Barrett, Cronulla chairman Damian Irvine's future at the club is now under threat.

Irvine, who admitted to The Sun-Herald last weekend that he used the pseudonym ''Beeker Shark'' to pen attacks on the club's previous administration in internet chat forums, has upset some directors with his management style since being elected to the board 13 months ago.

There are also concerns over his strident support of newly appointed Cronulla Leagues Club general manager Deborah Feening, who is being investigated over irregularities in the books at the Marconi Club, where she was chief executive until earlier this year. Investigations are also continuing as to why Feening had the proceeds of the first prize in Marconi's Art Union raffle, which she ran, paid directly into her bank account.
Among the other key allegations Irvine has fallen out with directors over are:
  • His failure to consult the board before accepting Stuart's resignation last Monday;
  • An approach to former Dragons coach Nathan Brown to replace Stuart earlier this year;
  • An attempt to sack Barrett as captain after falling out with the NSW Origin skipper over the chairman's presence in the dressing room;
  • Appointing David Peachey as a Sharks ambassador in negotiations to play home games in New Zealand.
  • revelations that he was ''Beeker Shark''.
Sharks directors were also unimpressed to learn that Irvine had negotiated a deal with Stuart's manager, John Fordham, to give the story of the coach's resignation exclusively to a newspaper that had been critical of him.

Irvine said the next day he was disappointed the Cronulla players had learnt of Stuart's departure in the media but the former Test mentor revealed in his Sunday newspaper column how the deal was done. Cronulla directors were also kept in the dark until the following day.

There was speculation last night that Irvine may be asked to stand down at a meeting of the club's football and leagues club boards, a move that would leave Feening on shaky ground.

Marconi management have lodged a complaint about Ms Feening's handling of the Art Union to the Fairfield police. Feening's daughter-in-law, Katie Maher, was the winner of a boat valued at $36,990 when the lottery was drawn in October last year. But the sum of $24,500 was transferred directly from the boat dealer to Feening.

Feening told the Herald that while her daughter-in-law did win first prize, the money was paid directly to her in relation to money she had loaned her son. ''The prize was drawn in front of 2000 people by a high school principal,'' she said.

Irvine told the Herald last week that the allegations against Feening had nothing to do with her role at the Sharks and that she had assured him nothing was amiss. He said Feening had been ''very silly" in the way she handled the Art Union. "I have had a word to her about that," Irvine said.
While some of the complaints against Irvine are a touch juvenile, one could very easily percive the Feening/Prize Money issue in a very negative way.

The Cronulla Sutherland Sharks - they more things change, the more they stay the same.

Last edited by a moderator:

Surely

Hmmmm some of the things i have heard dont paint a pretty picture, i guess we'll have to see what transpires.

roboshark

Ffs. This club

What's the definition of imploding

Has anyone ever dug under our ground to see if we have buult on some cursed burial ground

samshark

Surprise surprise the Sydney Morning Herald.
They dont have it in for us do they? They dont want the sharks to fold.

Omnishark2

Why would Irvine even consider getting involved with Feening while those allegations were around ?

Very poor judgement on his part ... and not for the first time ...

do any quotes exist from N.Brown saying DI approached him about taking over ricky stuarts job?

I have heard all the rumours but have not seen Brown actually say it either in print or any other media.

Irvine has publically denied it though.

as for ricky writing a coloumn bagging someone he used to work with ...well he is good at that.

The Peach thing ...yeah so what? good idea if it is going to make the clhb some money and help it stay alive.

beats the shyte out of playing in front of small crowds while lazy fuggen soap boxers sit on thier arse at home watching fox.

Marconi chick.... sounds bad .
was this public knowledge prior to her job with the Sharks???

Click2000

This Irvine bloke seems erratic. There also seems to be a lot of ego involved......

Where there is smoke there is fire and this bloke is choking on the smoke!

samshark

do any quotes exist from N.Brown saying DI approached him about taking over ricky stuarts job?

I have heard all the rumours but have not seen Brown actually say it either in print or any other media.

as for ricky writing a coloumn bagging someone he used to work with ...well he is good at that.

The Peach thing ...yeah so what? good idea if it is going to make the clhb some money and help it stay alive.

beats the shyte out of playing in front of small crowds while lazy fuggen soap boxers sit on thier arse at home watching fox.

There actually was a quote or something recently which Brown confirmed happened via a third party. Was not direct from Irvine. Cant remember where I read it, think it was Weilders SMH column.

So the answer is no.

Until I see Brown say Irvine approached him on it..I will call bullshyte.

Not forgetting DI stood in front of the entire contingent at the AGM and denied it.

These journo's get this crap form here I swear.

I reckon they even get it emailed to them from people on here.

If my memory serves me correctly, I think Brown said his contact was a former staffer of the club, and no longer at the club.

Could of been a trainer.

Declared Idiot #88

Frailty

Brown has said he was contacted by a third party that said Irvine wasn't happy with Ricky Stuart.

The issue is if he made this decision without going to board. The Chairman is there to present to the board decisions made by the CEO. If Irvine is making decisions on his own - it spells trouble.

I'm not too sure. But either way, he could always stand her down until an investigation takes place. Everything in that article is extremely dodgy.

_snafu_

This is the only quote from Brown in relation to the incident - it is from Danny Weidler (so take with a grain of salt)

FORMER Dragons coach Nathan Brown says he was sounded out to coach the Sharks, despite denials from Cronulla. Brown was approached by a former trainer well known to both Brown and Sharks chairman Damian Irvine. "I was contacted and asked if I was keen to coach the Sharks and was told that Irvine had had enough of Ricky Stuart," Brown said. The coach was surprised by the approach but as a friend of Ricky Stuart he replied: "Please tell Irvine to contact Ricky as I will be talking to him.'' Since Brown made that call to Stuart, the Sharks coach's relationship with Irvine has only gone downhill. Irvine has constantly denied the claim and went to great lengths to distance himself at the recent AGM, where he took a swipe at Nathan Brown about slapping Trent Barrett's face in 2003.

Source: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/gus-backs-stuart-to-save-blues-20100710-104ps.html

Click2000

What's this about him and Barrett falling out? I thought it was Stuart who was pissed off at him about the dressing room saga I guess it was Barrett also??

Ram Dass

You have a man who runs his own business and is giving up 30+ hours a week to run a football club with no pay.

He cleans out the bludgers, he brings in new people.

He is the only one with the balls enough to confront Ricky, and as predicted Ricky doesnt like anybody challenging him.

To me he seems like an asset in the short term at least.

The club needs people like that.